PDA

View Full Version : HELP - New Build ASUS 7970 DC2T - display driver stopped responding & receovered



DougOtt
05-11-2012, 02:57 AM
Hi again. :)

Here is a description of the problem (actually 3 problems):

I have built my new PC and am encountering repeated messages where the screen goes blank and then a message pops up saying "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered, Display driver AMD driver has stopped responding and has successfully recovered." (Yes, it says it twice with different wording). Sometimes it happens only once and then I can go on to use the PC for awhile. At other times, it keeps happening in quick succession with very little time between occurrences (e.g., less than 60 seconds).

I am also having issues with Windows 7 Updates. I did a new install of Windows 7 and it said there were 91 updates available. I tried to install them all, but only 77 were successful. 12 of the 14 that failed were said to be "important". Over a few additional update attempts, 4 of the 12 were subsequently installed successfully. 8 have never been attempted since the first attempt and thus those 8 appear to be "not installed". Perhaps they have been addressed by subsequent updates that have different serial numbers. I don't know about that though. I have noticed that Windows Updates keep indicating that 2 updates are required, yet those two updates have already been installed. I think the Windows update process is screwed up. :)

Third problem is Winamp. It downloads, installs and gets the data off an NAS. However, it will not let me click on "audio" and create a "query" to create a "Smart View". It will also not let me select any of the individual sound files under audio and sometime will do strange things that I have not selected.

So, those are the 3 problems at this time. I am describing them all here so that you have a complete picture of the problems.

My system is as follows:

Corsair Obsidian Series 800D, Intel Core i7 3930K, Corsair H100 CPU Cooler, ASUS Rampage IV Extreme MOBO, G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 8 stick set X 4gb = 32GB RAM, OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD, WD Caviar Black 2TB HDD, ASUS HD7970 DirectCu II TOP (DC2T), ASUS 12X Blu-ray drive, ASUS DVD-Writer 24X, CORSAIR AX1200 PSU, Corsair K90 Keyboard, Logitech G9x Mouse, 1Dell Ultrabright U2410 Monitor.

AllGamer
05-11-2012, 09:42 PM
perhaps a fault card?

have you tried getting your new rig stable with any old video card?

if your entire rig runs fine, then it's possible it's just a faulty 7970 which i'm not surprised.

another thing you can do, is try your 7970 on another known stable machine.

you have enough power on your PSU 1200W

this card is definitely power hungry, to run 2 of these 7970 on crossfire i had to upgrade from 1000w (corsair) to 1250w (OCZ) else it would crash or do funky messages like yours

DougOtt
05-12-2012, 02:45 AM
Thanks Allgamer for the options and comments. No I have not tried those things as I do not have another G-card to use. But I did, for a few moments consider buying another G-card, perhaps the new Nvidia GTX 680 (but I want 3 identical connectors for my monitors).

However, before doing that I decided to read a few of the other threads to see if there were other options I could use. I decided to uninstall the AMD drivers. The current installed driver was 8.961.0.0. I uninstalled it and shut down. On reboot GPU Tweak did not start and said it "failed to load DLLs. Please install VGA." Upon clicking to close that window, the PC automatically went out and installed ASUS drivers version 8.921.5.0. I launched Firefox and no troubles occurred. I launched Winamp and it started up fine. I clicked on the genre smart view and it worked! Zowie! No more messages about "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered." The thrill is back, not gone! (thanks BB KING).


perhaps a fault card?

have you tried getting your new rig stable with any old video card?

if your entire rig runs fine, then it's possible it's just a faulty 7970 which i'm not surprised.

another thing you can do, is try your 7970 on another known stable machine.

you have enough power on your PSU 1200W

this card is definitely power hungry, to run 2 of these 7970 on crossfire i had to upgrade from 1000w (corsair) to 1250w (OCZ) else it would crash or do funky messages like yours