PDA

View Full Version : Screen flickers when scrolling in a web browser up/down



MaXimus711
07-29-2012, 04:59 PM
happening in all browsers (Chrome, Firefox, IE), when I scroll down or up if it is on a light background, the screen flickers so much it is very noticeable

Happens on both the 296.97 & 304.48 drivers

anyone faced this? any suggestion on how to fix it?

Thanks

MaXimus711
07-29-2012, 05:11 PM
hmm, it only happens on this page (http://www.station-drivers.com/page/intel%20chipset.htm) and all other pages are fine even if they have a white background...

Strange

Destroyer99
07-29-2012, 05:16 PM
I think its a common problem. I had a similar issue when screen would flicker with dark backgrounds.

its a easy fix this is what i did and it worked fine after.

Open the nvidia control panel, then adjust desktop size and position and hit full screen

Then go to change resolution -> Customize -> Create Custom resolution -> Type 67 in refresh rate

and select it on the list after, then right click desktop > Screen Resolution > Advanced Settings > Monitor Tab > Screen Refresh Rate > put in 67hz

try that and see if it works.

c_man
07-29-2012, 06:50 PM
I had this problem but I think is went away on it's own after first day of usage with G75. I don't see any flickr now.

Zygomorphic
07-29-2012, 06:59 PM
It was/is probably a video driver issue, not a hardware problem. If the LCD controller was having issues (unlikely), everything would be flickering...and you would get a headache ;)

c_man
07-29-2012, 07:11 PM
I have spoken too soon. LOL. It was not on the forum anymore, but I just saw it again in a game. I did the 67 fix above and it's gone. Thank you! Rep.

Zygomorphic
07-29-2012, 08:39 PM
I have spoken too soon. LOL. It was not on the forum anymore, but I just saw it again in a game. I did the 67 fix above and it's gone. Thank you! Rep.

Great work @Destroyer! Good idea to up the refresh rate. Still, I don't know why 60->67 Hz would make that much of a difference. :confused: 60->75,85 Hz definitely would though.

MaXimus711
07-29-2012, 08:57 PM
I think its a common problem. I had a similar issue when screen would flicker with dark backgrounds.

its a easy fix this is what i did and it worked fine after.

Open the nvidia control panel, then adjust desktop size and position and hit full screen

Then go to change resolution -> Customize -> Create Custom resolution -> Type 67 in refresh rate

and select it on the list after, then right click desktop > Screen Resolution > Advanced Settings > Monitor Tab > Screen Refresh Rate > put in 67hz

try that and see if it works.

I did that and it didn't change a thing

Someone please try going to this site then scrolling up and down quickly: http://www.station-drivers.com/page/intel%20chipset.htm

Also, does increasing the refresh rate to 67 hurt the Screen?

Zygomorphic
07-30-2012, 12:42 AM
It shouldn't, because the refresh rate that nVidia sets is what is reported to Windows! The card still runs at a 60 Hz internal time-base for the update. It simply fakes a higher frequency for parity with faking out certain impossible resolutions. It is helpful for testing, but nothing more.

Definitely flickers! :( It is because of the white+grey striping. It has to do with frequencies interfering. Let me explain:
1) Everything that oscillates has an effective frequency. In this case, the frequency is the rate at which the white bands change to grey on a particular row of pixels.
2) Screens have a frequency at which they update...in this case 60 Hz
3) Frequencies can interfere...sometimes with disastrous results.
4) When the frequency of oscillation of the color of a row of pixels approximately matches (+/- 5 Hz) that of the screen update rate, then the pattern of updating the pixels will cause what looks to be flickering.
5) The shorter the height of the bands (fewer rows of pixels), the higher the frequency of oscillation for a given scrolling speed. Thus, it is easy to hit ~60 Hz when spinning the mouse wheel.

Hope this helps! Nothing is wrong with your computer...something is wrong with the website design. :cool:

MaXimus711
07-30-2012, 01:05 AM
It shouldn't, because the refresh rate that nVidia sets is what is reported to Windows! The card still runs at a 60 Hz internal time-base for the update. It simply fakes a higher frequency for parity with faking out certain impossible resolutions. It is helpful for testing, but nothing more.

Definitely flickers! :( It is because of the white+grey striping. It has to do with frequencies interfering. Let me explain:
1) Everything that oscillates has an effective frequency. In this case, the frequency is the rate at which the white bands change to grey on a particular row of pixels.
2) Screens have a frequency at which they update...in this case 60 Hz
3) Frequencies can interfere...sometimes with disastrous results.
4) When the frequency of oscillation of the color of a row of pixels approximately matches (+/- 5 Hz) that of the screen update rate, then the pattern of updating the pixels will cause what looks to be flickering.
5) The shorter the height of the bands (fewer rows of pixels), the higher the frequency of oscillation for a given scrolling speed. Thus, it is easy to hit ~60 Hz when spinning the mouse wheel.

Hope this helps! Nothing is wrong with your computer...something is wrong with the website design. :cool:

Wow!! What an educated explanation! Thanks bro!

I am glad it isn't my screen that was broke at least you confirmed that!

Cheers man! Its only that site that has this problem anyway so it's not a big deal :)

mrwolf
07-30-2012, 01:38 AM
lol, indeed that was a clear and concise explanation to what seems to be complex. Good to know thanks

You could try putting you refresh rate to 120 (and turn v-sync+tripple buffering off for 3d apps to prevent screen tear) it gives good performance boost too :) not that you need to do anything since its just the website..

Zygomorphic
07-30-2012, 01:49 AM
Wow!! What an educated explanation! Thanks bro!

I am glad it isn't my screen that was broke at least you confirmed that!

Cheers man! Its only that site that has this problem anyway so it's not a big deal :)

Thanks! Glad to hear that it cleared up the issue! If it bothers you, I would contact their webmaster and see what can be done. Flickering can give some people headaches.

Sounds complex, but not really :D...same principle as to why car wheels can appear to spin backwards depending on the size of the tire and the speed of the car...really wierd-looking, but fun to watch! :)

MaXimus711
07-30-2012, 02:01 AM
lol, indeed that was a clear and concise explanation to what seems to be complex. Good to know thanks

You could try putting you refresh rate to 120 (and turn v-sync+tripple buffering off for 3d apps to prevent screen tear) it gives good performance boost too :) not that you need to do anything since its just the website..

Wouldn't setting the refresh rate to 120 harm my screen?

mrwolf
07-30-2012, 02:37 AM
Hmm i dont think so since we have a 3D monitor on the asus g75's and it is designed to be run at 120hz refresh rate for 3d usage. Just as 60hz is for normal non 3d monitors.
I did a bit of research on it and couldn't find out anything that suggests that it could be harmful. Many 3D TV's are native to 120hz on 100% setting.

Check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CML9GaMSdg He explains it very well towards the end while playing battlefield 3

c_man
07-30-2012, 08:44 AM
But do we all have a 3D panel? I'm not so sure about this.

Maybe my problem was different. The last night game was SpecOps The Line. When I pause the game let's say it dims the screen. There I could see the flickr. I had the same problem when UAC got active in W7 for example. I could see it. Last night after I did this 67Hz and it was gone. I'll let you know if it happens again. 60Hz is a common value used, most likely the panels can go even above 67Hz. It is not that uncommon to see in desk ones rates of 85 or more on non 3D panels.

Now that site has another problem, that has nothing to do with flickring as I saw it. Thus the fix did not work for it and nothing will. It's a poor desing.

MaXimus711
07-30-2012, 10:19 AM
Hmm i dont think so since we have a 3D monitor on the asus g75's and it is designed to be run at 120hz refresh rate for 3d usage. Just as 60hz is for normal non 3d monitors.
I did a bit of research on it and couldn't find out anything that suggests that it could be harmful. Many 3D TV's are native to 120hz on 100% setting.

Check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CML9GaMSdg He explains it very well towards the end while playing battlefield 3

I was told by people on this forum that my particular Notebook model is not the one equipped with a 3Dscreen but rather the crappy anti-glare screen

Zygomorphic
07-30-2012, 10:27 AM
Not everyone has 3D panels...the Bestbuy model doesn't have it. The 3D panels are more common on the higher-end G75, but the cheap models are ordinary 60 Hz panels. @c_man, you might want to contact ASUS about an RMA, it sounds like you have a hardware problem...probably in the LCD circuitry.

c_man
07-30-2012, 11:57 AM
This was the best I could find. I cannot try laptops 'till I find a flawless one. It's not my first. Others had bigger problems. The fix seems to be working. For now. I'll keep an eye on it. At least I have good temps (670M OC to ~675M performance with a minimum temp rise, CPU is very cool under full load for an Ivy one), no throttling, decent battery time, no hangs, no lags, no strange sounds. Subwoofer is off, so that problem is "gone". I wish I had a performance settings in BIOS so I could level out numbers with different RAM modules since 2 of them are hidden and cannot be replaced by user.

mrwolf
07-30-2012, 01:29 PM
Ah my bad.. I thought we all G75's came with the same screen :/..

@c_man: I do agree with you that they have done a great job with these laptops. And you said '670M OC to ~675M performance with a minimum temp rise' What is the performance of the 675M? i checked online and it said that the GTX 675M has a core clock of 620mhz and 1500memory.. Thats the same as mine on stock :s.. when i OC my 670M i get closer to 680 performance with 700mhz~1650memory

I get a score of like 980 on heaven benchmark lol :) on the rog asus website they say the G75vw gets a score of 800+ n mine blows it out of the water :p

c_man
07-30-2012, 02:56 PM
Let's go here http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?19580-Overclocking-670m&country=&status= since this is a different topic.

c_man
07-30-2012, 06:17 PM
Seems like this flickr thing is really gone with the 67 fix.

Zygomorphic
07-31-2012, 12:48 AM
Seems like this flickr thing is really gone with the 67 fix.

Good! glad to hear that your problems are resolved! That OC is sweet! :) ... OC the core,shaders,memory, and LCD clock :cool:

c_man
07-31-2012, 07:30 AM
Hahahaha. If only I had that Performance option in BIOS to OC the RAM as well like in G55.

Anyway, everything works well, temps are great, ~70C with room at 32C for CPU/GPU, silent, just a little warm on touch. Not bad at all. And games fly on beautiful settings. Who said the 670M is an old crap GPU and Ivy is hot as hell?