PDA

View Full Version : Maximus VI hero Q-Code and fan header amps.



alexwe3
07-31-2013, 03:59 PM
I recently build my first rig with the maximus vi hero. When the computer is running, the debug LED always show the Q-code A0. In the manual this is referred to as "IDE initialization starting", but I have not connected any IDE devices. Under device manager, the only IDE controller listed is the onboard Asmedia 106x SATA controller. Is this normal and is there any way to fix this issue so the LED is off?

My second question is what is the max amp output of the CPU header, I would like to use a fan splitter but keep the same max RPM output for my two rad fans.

Shamino
07-31-2013, 04:48 PM
max amp 1A

Abula
07-31-2013, 06:23 PM
I recently build my first rig with the maximus vi hero. When the computer is running, the debug LED always show the Q-code A0. In the manual this is referred to as "IDE initialization starting", but I have not connected any IDE devices. Under device manager, the only IDE controller listed is the onboard Asmedia 106x SATA controller. Is this normal and is there any way to fix this issue so the LED is off? Mine M6G also has A0, and i have the asmedia off in the bios, so maybe thats the way it ends up for all.


My second question is what is the max amp output of the CPU header, I would like to use a fan splitter but keep the same max RPM output for my two rad fans. I personally dont like to overload more than 1 fan per motherboard header, even if its rated for more. There are lots of options out there, but this is what i would do,

1) If you fans are 4pin PWM fans
Get a splitter like Akasa Flexa FP5 PWM 5-Way Splitter - Smart Fan Cable (AK-CBFA03-45) (http://www.frozencpu.com/products/13548/cab-464/Akasa_Flexa_FP5_PWM_5-Way_Splitter_-_Smart_Fan_Cable_AK-CBFA03-45.html) or Swiftech 8-Way PWM Cable Splitter (8W-PWM-SPL) (http://www.frozencpu.com/products/19692/ele-1189/Swiftech_8-Way_PWM_Cable_Splitter_8W-PWM-SPL.html). They are safe to use as they draw power from the 4pin PSU MOLEX, and just use the 4pin mobo header for the PWM signal and rpm reporting. All fans will behave the same (as long as they are the same fans), only 1 will report rpm and pwm signal, but all will mirror the same rpms.

2) If you are using 3pin fans
I would go with Sunbeamtech PL-RS-6 Rheosmart 6 Fan Controller (http://www.amazon.com/Sunbeamtech-PL-RS-6-Rheosmart-Fan-Controller/dp/B004LKZESI/), its an intersting smart fan controller, that can control 3pin fans with 4pin pwm signal (or manual if you push the button), this way you can control let say Scythe gentle typhoons dinamically like if they were PWM fans controlled by the motherboard pwm singal, you also have the flexability of disabling this, and just use them manually like any other fan controller. This also gets the power from 4pin PSU Molex so you wont overload the motherboard 4pin header.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzOeQJBJmdE


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zss43iUpsoo

alexwe3
07-31-2013, 09:38 PM
Thank you for all the options abula.

Right now I have 2 sp120 performance on my rad and a af140 quiet edition exhaust that both use 4 pin PWM connectors.

I have a 230 mm and 200 mm front and side intake respectively with 3 pin. I really like the AI suite III fan expert 2, but i have 3 chassis fan headers controllable, and one CPU_OPT header that runs 100% all the time, no bios setting to slow it down. I was looking for a solution that could control all my fans using fan expert 2, running both sp120's at the same rpm.

Would running both sp120 performance off the cpu header using the Akasa Flexa FP5 PWM 5-Way Splitter - Smart Fan Cable (AK-CBFA03-45) and molex connector for power work?

Thank you for the help

Abula
07-31-2013, 11:55 PM
I have a 230 mm and 200 mm front and side intake respectively with 3 pin. I really like the AI suite III fan expert 2, but i have 3 chassis fan headers controllable, and one CPU_OPT header that runs 100% all the time, no bios setting to slow it down. Yea i really love FanXpert2 also, even when the gains of haswell were really small, just fanXpert2 had me decided on the upgrade, its amazing how it controls 3pin fans like in my case, AP181 180mm frontal fan is incredible loud, but with fanXpert2, i cant hear it at all on idle, made my pc time so much enjoyable, really appreciate what asus have done with it. My only wish list for the future revisions, is that they make it a stand alone, like ASUS ROG RAMDISK, i feel so many people will use it more if its not as heavy as AI Suite with a lot of stuff that most don't use.




and one CPU_OPT header that runs 100% all the time, no bios setting to slow it down. CPU_OPT is just a mirror of the CPU_FAN header, its not controllable, but it should behave the same as the other, if the cpu fan is ramp up so will the opt, its just a mirror. Here a pic of my fanxpert2 you can see on the bottom where CPU_FAN and CPU_OPT have very similar RPM values, both are Noiseblocker 120mm PWM PL-PS, both move at the same rates depending on the conditions,

24253


Would running both sp120 performance off the cpu header using the Akasa Flexa FP5 PWM 5-Way Splitter - Smart Fan Cable (AK-CBFA03-45) and molex connector for power work? It should be fine as you say, but to me if its only 2 fans, i would use the CPU_opt, and it should mirror both the same, as i posted in the above pic.

alexwe3
08-01-2013, 06:01 PM
Thanks a lot man for the help. I had a 140mm and a 120mm plugged into the CPU_Fan and CPU_OPT making me think the 140 could not be controlled, I plugged both sp120's into the CPU_FAN and CPU_OPT and they both run at the same rpm. No splitter needed now