PDA

View Full Version : ARES



Brian@ASUS
07-16-2010, 09:22 AM
The case it comes in...
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs203.snc4/38511_1523278525474_1339929353_1355034_5000546_n.j pg

DUN DUN DUN! ARES!!
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs203.snc4/38511_1523278485473_1339929353_1355033_4002230_n.j pg

Boofus
07-16-2010, 12:00 PM
Nice, notice that one doesn't have a broken fan blade. i want the case badge at the top left.

Swiss Invaders
11-18-2010, 07:09 AM
Hello

my first post int he forum is on this monster, im just about to order one these excellent cards, i was wondering what size PSU is best for it at minimum.

current is cosiar 850w and my setup is
AMD955X2 phenom
8gb gskill ram
5xsata hdd
1x dvd burner driver
only 3 things plugged in on USB.
currently running 2x5770
and H50 water cpu cooler

any info would be great and how much do i need if i want 2 of them.

CHeers

Danny

Brian@ASUS
11-18-2010, 11:43 PM
you can find it on amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Radeon-Graphics-ARES-2DIS-4GD5/dp/B003VP0BAA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1290123651&sr=8-1

for a single card it is recommended for a 850 watt, for dual we recommend 1000 watt. keep in mind the psu needs to support 2 8pin and 1 6pin per card!

Swiss Invaders
11-19-2010, 08:57 AM
Thanks for the info Brian :) your a star and keep up the good work with the video's, and i wish i had a job as cool as yours

i live in Switzerland so ive ordered it this morning per your info and i will be a really lucky owner of one of these.

did you run any 3D MARKS score in crossfire while in eyefinity by any chance ? would be interested to know the results as im running 3x24inch samsungs syncmasters at the moment on a pair of 5770 cards and its not so good, plays alien v predators ok and mafia 2 F1 2010 but all on low settings :(

Brian@ASUS
11-19-2010, 07:27 PM
thanks swiss. Does amazon ship international? did you buy 1 card or 2?

we can try to make a video to show some results. i haven't personally tried eyefinity yet for benching because need an active display port, i only have passive. i have tried a single ares in eye finity and runs dirt2 just fine during quakecon.

Swiss Invaders
11-20-2010, 05:58 PM
hello Brian

i have 3 monitors and not one has a display port on them and i have eyefinity running sweet as, and i will be getting the R.O.G extreme mobo and i will this month get 1 and next get another gfx card

Swiss Invaders
12-23-2010, 08:30 AM
yeah baby my store has got them back in stock and reduced the price for xmas :D

im off to collect it tomorrow on my day off :P

GAME TIME !!!!!!!!!

ottoyu34
12-23-2010, 03:43 PM
Great news, post up some pics.

Swiss Invaders
12-23-2010, 07:24 PM
Will do no sweat, i got a new phone aswell to try out the overclocking from a phone.

my girlfriend is just the best i knew it was why i was going to marry her this year :D

Darktooth
12-24-2010, 09:11 PM
Just got my ares home. Running fine except the fan surges whn system idle. Smardoc shows a surge from 900 to 1050 rpm. Any ideas? I tried using the other fan configs but manual is not an option i want to use and smart cooling doesn't run less than 2300rpm. System is fresh, windows 7 64.

asus rampage formula III
i7 950 (stock clock and cooler )
6gb corsair dom.
wd 1tb black
asus ares 5870x2
thermaltake toughpower 850
all in a coolermaster 932 haf. room temp 71f

ottoyu34
12-24-2010, 11:06 PM
do you mean the fan speed dips for a moment?

Darktooth
12-29-2010, 03:20 AM
no. the fan runs around the 900rpm mark but will go up to 1050-1100rpm range for a second, then back down to the 900's for a second or two, then up for a sec, then down... and so on. I don't have any other issues. All programs run fine and report video card working fine. It's just kind of annoying. I'm wondering if it might be my airflow in my case. coolermaster haf 932.

Also, has anybody had problems with the weight of the card pulling or bending the motherboard pci slot? I've seen a couple of people saying u absolutely have to have extra support for the ares. Mines on an Asus rampage formula III.

Swiss Invaders
12-29-2010, 07:36 AM
i was reading about that with the card being heavy, when i collect it in a few hours i will try making something to prop the card up straight, just ordered a 2nd card aswell as my store dropped the price here by ove 300 swiss francs which is about 300 dollors or 200 GBP's :D

happy days on that score so i got a 1500w PSU with the money saved :P

Swiss Invaders
12-30-2010, 03:03 PM
ITS HERE :D and my new PSU ready for the 2nd card :D

cables need a good sorting out in the tower but its got more stuff to go in next month so im not doing it till them.

http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/z430/Swiss_Invaders/NEW1500WPSUANDGFXCARD.jpgin-win 1500w
http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/z430/Swiss_Invaders/DSC_0009.jpg
http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/z430/Swiss_Invaders/HIS5770VS5870X2ASUSARES.jpg HIS 5770 size difference is insane
http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/z430/Swiss_Invaders/BEFORE.jpgbefore
http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/z430/Swiss_Invaders/AFTER.jpgafter

Swiss Invaders
12-30-2010, 03:04 PM
btw yes thats the soon to be wife who got me the card on my tower and no in the last pic it isnt my shoe before anybody asks :P

celticguy75
12-30-2010, 03:34 PM
Very pretty, Any plans for a similar Nvidia based card? :)

Swiss Invaders
12-30-2010, 06:13 PM
oh and on 1 last note for this bundle

the mouse is FRICKIN AWESOME the fact i can just chang ethe DPI on the mouse and up or down to suit my needs means i dont need to sort the mouse sensitivity in game anymore and the 4 settings are pretty much right on :D

tell you something though i running 3x 24inch samsung fll HD monitors screen res is 3600x1920 for gaming in eyefinity and with all the setting up to max in AvP and Mafia 2 im getting between 85 and 110 FPS, well happy.

ottoyu34
01-01-2011, 08:52 PM
Glad you're happy with it. Thanks for the pics.

Swiss Invaders
01-02-2011, 03:59 PM
oh im happy with it when its all going right dont you worry its this things could re-shape like in the galaxy and my new PSU could power a rocket to pluto.

i posted about my problem sin another post if you could take a look and put any info the might be helpfull i would be greatfull :)