PDA

View Full Version : HELP PLEASE: "This program can only be executed on the Asus computer" =K53E



xerky07
01-15-2012, 09:56 AM
I have just reformatted my ASUS K53E Notebook and now i am installing its drivers back, but the problem is that some of the drivers shows error "This program can only be executed on the Asus computer".
After i reformatted, it seems that drivers and softwares does not recognize my notebook as an ASUS COMPUTER anymore, what should i do now?

my Netbook is definitely an ASUS but why do i encounter problem like that?
Please help me.. :(

fuzon1337
01-15-2012, 10:21 AM
Which programs/drivers are you getting this message from?

xerky07
01-15-2012, 11:25 AM
Which programs/drivers are you getting this message from?
These are the list of programs that shows the error:
*Asus Live Update
*SmartLogon Manager (face recognition software for ASUS)
*WebCam Driver Update (installation wont start it shows error)

I downloaded all my K53E Asus drivers here (http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=K53E&p=3&s=252)
I think it has something to do with the problem that those software does not recognize my PC as an ASUS Computer.. :(
Has anyone encountered same error before? how'd you fixed it? Please help me.. :(
I've been in front of my unit for almost 5 hours, trying to figure out what seems to be the problem.
Hopefully i figure it out later, and if luckily i figured it out, ill share it here for the benefit of others in case anyone out there encounters the same problem.

fuzon1337
01-15-2012, 11:37 AM
Okey, take a look at this site (http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus/380681-asus-utility-bloatware-guide.html) about bloatware that you don't need.

Didn't you get a driver CD when you bought your notebook? Perhaps you could try to install the drivers from that :)

xerky07
01-15-2012, 12:08 PM
Okey, take a look at this site (http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus/380681-asus-utility-bloatware-guide.html) about bloatware that you don't need.

Didn't you get a driver CD when you bought your notebook? Perhaps you could try to install the drivers from that :)

There was 4 CD's which came with this notebook, the cover of the CD "Your Personal Geek Squad Disc"
Its my first time to own an ASUS Notebook, there were 4 disc(disc1-4)
The first disc contains these files;
-BOOT (folder)
-EPI (folder)
-SOURCES (folder)
-ASUSRDVD.img = 3.7Gig
-BOOTMGR
etc.

Does this Disc contain those drivers i might need?

fuzon1337
01-15-2012, 12:15 PM
I don't think you need it, then some other members have to step in and help.

But since you got 4 CD's with your new notebook, look for the one named "Driver Utilities" or something like that :)

EDIT: But I don't recommend to use Asus Live Update, since it is a unstable program.

You do know what the Smart Log on utility is? If yes, you don't need that either, since it work only sometimes when it tries to recognize your face....

Since you're saying that you have done a facotry restore/clean install of your notebook, how is it with latest drivers for your hardware?

xerky07
01-15-2012, 12:49 PM
I don't think you need it, then some other members have to step in and help.

But since you got 4 CD's with your new notebook, look for the one named "Driver Utilities" or something like that :)

EDIT: But I don't recommend to use Asus Live Update, since it is a unstable program.

You do know what the Smart Log on utility is? If yes, you don't need that either, since it work only sometimes when it tries to recognize your face....

Since you're saying that you have done a facotry restore/clean install of your notebook, how is it with latest drivers for your hardware?

Latest drivers works fine. Sir, do you know of any touch-pad disabler? its annoying hitting my touchpad while i play.

Anyways, live update and Smartlog works now and the error was not showing anymore, i may not have noticed exactly but after i installed ATK, my problems with error was solved, its now showing anymore..
Thanks for your time sir.. :)

fuzon1337
01-15-2012, 12:53 PM
Latest driver aka Chipset, graphic driver, WiFi card?

I don't have my notebook atm, but if I'm not wrong hit FN + F9 turn on/off touchpad :)

chrsplmr
01-15-2012, 02:38 PM
whew...glad thats over...well done all...

OP...curious....what made U reformat in the first place???

xerky07
01-15-2012, 02:39 PM
Latest driver aka Chipset, graphic driver, WiFi card?

I don't have my notebook atm, but if I'm not wrong hit FN + F9 turn on/off touchpad :)

Nice, i can see in F9 small icon for touchpad. thanks.. but its not working, maybe i need to update my driver for touchpad.
Thanks for the info sir.. :D

fuzon1337
01-15-2012, 02:45 PM
Hmm.... Is there any other FN + .... Keys that doesn't work? If yes, you should uninstall the ATK package, reboot, install either the new ATK package from Asus Support site or the ATK package from the Driver utility CD then reboot and see if it gets fixed.

Optional: when you have done the installation you could go into BIOS (f2 during bootup/when you see asus splash screen) and then go to the section "exit" then "Optimized to default" or something like that then save and exit :)

xerky07
01-16-2012, 10:06 AM
whew...glad thats over...well done all...

OP...curious....what made U reformat in the first place???

My main reason is that i changed my os from "Win7 Home Premium" to "Win7 Ultimate".
and for some minor reasons. :p

Anyways, is there a way to reformat / upgrade your OS without formatting your disk so that drivers would still be there after you did upgrade your OS?

xerky07
01-16-2012, 01:37 PM
Hmm.... Is there any other FN + .... Keys that doesn't work? If yes, you should uninstall the ATK package, reboot, install either the new ATK package from Asus Support site or the ATK package from the Driver utility CD then reboot and see if it gets fixed.

I have downloaded latest touchpad driver, its fully working now, thank you sir.. :)

chrsplmr
01-16-2012, 02:44 PM
you can download to a flashDrive.... but thats not the way to go..u did it right...
fresh format..fresh copy of W7U....latest drivers on a flash...at least the nic..hehe..

A new touchpad driver??? does brodyboy+ know about this??? hehehe..... cudos...now go ROG something.c.

fuzon1337
01-16-2012, 09:04 PM
I have downloaded latest touchpad driver, its fully working now, thank you sir.. :)

I'm glad that I could help :) Just ask in the forum if you get more issues that you can't solve by your self ;)

ps3nes
08-22-2012, 02:21 AM
i also had this problem while trying to install the windows bios flash tool and the Power4Gear application.
Installing the Asus Tool Kit worked to resolve this problem.
side note,
maybe it's just me, but I loathe touchpads. You can disable it in the bios so that it doesn't work, period.
Yes, I carry a usb mouse with me when I take it anywhere.

Slayer69
11-01-2012, 04:35 AM
i also had this problem while trying to install the windows bios flash tool and the Power4Gear application.
Installing the Asus Tool Kit worked to resolve this problem.
side note,
maybe it's just me, but I loathe touchpads. You can disable it in the bios so that it doesn't work, period.
Yes, I carry a usb mouse with me when I take it anywhere.


Hmmm I did some searching for the Asus Tool Kit and am unable to locate them. Even using google. Would someone be able to point me in the correct location?

EDIT!!!!! lol I found them.....