Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: USB ports stops working randomly.

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    USB ports stops working randomly.

    Hi, here how it goes:

    I had mouse and keyboard connected to two highest placed ports on back of my mobo. Randomly when I'm starting windows both ports are not working, mouse and keyboard are off. Can U tell me what is the problem ? I've had before asus motherboard as well and I was experiencing the same problem. Ended up seling mobo. I have nothing else connected to any of USB ports. Aha and the other thing, sometimes when I switch on computer, after a while it goes of and goes back on itself continuing starting OS. Is that normal ?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array houndazs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    233

    What power supply do you have, and how many Watts? What motherboard do you have?

    -ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    -Intel i7-3930k @4.42GHz
    -16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT 2133MHz
    -Corsair Force Series GT SSD 240GB
    - 2x 3TB WD Caviar Black (RAID 1)
    - XFX ProSeries 1250W PSU
    -3x ASUS VE248Q 24" Monitor
    - 2x XFX 7970R
    - Xigmatek Elysium Black Case
    - CORSAIR H100 CPU Cooler
    - Logitech G500 Mouse

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    ahade cessUnd

    Corsair TX950W and Maximus 4 Extreme.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array houndazs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    233

    do any of the other USB ports work? Are all your drivers installed? Are you Overclocking? Have you installed the Latest BIOS? Have you tried clearing the BIOS/CMOS?

    -ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    -Intel i7-3930k @4.42GHz
    -16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT 2133MHz
    -Corsair Force Series GT SSD 240GB
    - 2x 3TB WD Caviar Black (RAID 1)
    - XFX ProSeries 1250W PSU
    -3x ASUS VE248Q 24" Monitor
    - 2x XFX 7970R
    - Xigmatek Elysium Black Case
    - CORSAIR H100 CPU Cooler
    - Logitech G500 Mouse

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    The answer for all your questions is YES.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array houndazs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    233

    Try bring the system back to default clocks, and see if that solves the issue. if it does it sounds like a power problem. Also, try using the additional 4-PIN power connector on the Motherboard just above the PCIe x16 slots.

    -ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    -Intel i7-3930k @4.42GHz
    -16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT 2133MHz
    -Corsair Force Series GT SSD 240GB
    - 2x 3TB WD Caviar Black (RAID 1)
    - XFX ProSeries 1250W PSU
    -3x ASUS VE248Q 24" Monitor
    - 2x XFX 7970R
    - Xigmatek Elysium Black Case
    - CORSAIR H100 CPU Cooler
    - Logitech G500 Mouse

  7. #7
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    MontherboardASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z
    ProcessorIntel 2600K
    Memory (part number)8GB G.Skill Trident
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX670
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Patriot PyroSE SSD
    CPU CoolerCustom WC loop
    CaseAntec Mini P180
    Power SupplyAntec Signature 650
    Keyboard Corsair K60
    Mouse Maurus X
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    5,203

    Do you have the latest BIOS 2105? If not put it on a FAT32 flash drive and update from the BIOS easy flash utility.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Guys, look I now U R trying to help but please dont treat me like I am retarded or something. For U the fact that I bought MOBO for ~400$ sould be enough prove to clear this that instaling new bios, drivers etc. is first thing I am doing when getting new hardware. Till now I was on EVGA P55 FTW and never had similar issues there. I will try to conect extra power to mobo and will see how it goes. The strange thing is that it is second asus mobo where I'm experiencing the same problem. Any other Ideas ?

  9. #9
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    MontherboardASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z
    ProcessorIntel 2600K
    Memory (part number)8GB G.Skill Trident
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX670
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Patriot PyroSE SSD
    CPU CoolerCustom WC loop
    CaseAntec Mini P180
    Power SupplyAntec Signature 650
    Keyboard Corsair K60
    Mouse Maurus X
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    5,203

    Quote Originally Posted by effendi360 View Post
    Guys, look I now U R trying to help but please dont treat me like I am retarded or something. For U the fact that I bought MOBO for ~400$ sould be enough prove to clear this that instaling new bios, drivers etc. is first thing I am doing when getting new hardware.
    You may think it's obvious but plenty of people don't have an updated BIOS for a variety of reasons and I'm guessing that very few of them are actually retarded So don't take it as an insult since that means you're actually smarter than average.

    Anyway, next try changing your USB configuration to NEC in the BIOS. That has worked for some people.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,208

    My friend from Poland it is often the most basic and obvious thing that trips us up in life. We look for complex solutions and complex answers when we should look for the obvious and simple. History has shown us that time and time again how elegant simple solutions work best. The most famous example is of course that of using a pencil or wax crayon to write in weightless conditions, cost of R&D zero. But some space agency did spend millions trying to develop a ink pen that would work in space. So do not think we are demeaning you by suggesting the core practices. I have had experienced people asking why systems do not even power up, only to find out that they have neglected to put the 12v PSU connector into the board. It happens, and it happens to all of us. I should know, I am that person who spent an hour trying to find out why my board was not booting.

    Now to your problem.

    Do you have another mouse or keyboard to test. I wonder if compatibility might be the issue. I say this because you mentioned that your mouse and keyboard worked just fine with the FTW55 board but has been problematic with two ASUS boards.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •