+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: ASMedia USB3.0 Controller Firmware / XHCI Controller Driver Update

  1. #1

    ASMedia USB3.0 Controller Firmware / XHCI Controller Driver Update

    I have been having issues with my USB3.0 and XHCI controller... quirky crap like disappearing drives, etc. Anyway, I found the below site (Station-Drivers) and they had updates that were newer than what was available on the Asus site.

    Just figured I would share if anyone else needs / wants to update their firmware or drivers.

    It seems to have solved the issues that I was having:

    http://www.station-drivers.com/page/asmedia.htm

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt DangerClose +10 DangerClose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    NJ - USA
    Posts
    107

    Awesome! Forgive my question, but exactly which ones do we need?

    *Asus Rampage IV Extreme - 3930K - 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 - 2x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSDs - WD VelociRaptor 600GB Steam drive - 3x 7970 Tri-Fire !! - Corsair AX1200 PSU - Thermaltake Level 10 GT case - H100 Cooler - Win7 x64 Ultimate


  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt mdzcpa +20
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    395

    Any need for Asus to qualifiy these first before use??
    3960X @ 5Ghz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme 1005
    32GB (8 x 4) Gskill Ripjaw Z @2133
    Asus HD 7970 x 2 Crossfire
    OS & Apps: Crucial M4 256GB
    Games: Crucial M4 512GB
    Storage: WD Black 1TB
    Corsair AX1200
    Corsair 800D
    CPU/Video/Mobo Koolance Water Cooled

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Any need for Asus to qualifiy these first before use??
    They are working fine for me. You would think that ASUS would have the drivers already posted since, if I read correctly, AsMedia is a subsidiary of theirs.
    My System:
    - Dell 30" LCD Monitor
    - ASUS Rampage IV Extreme BF3 Edition
    - 32GB G.Skill RipJaws RAM
    - Intel Core i7-3960X Extreme Edition
    - Phanteks PH-TC14PE_BL Dual Heat Pipe CPU Cooler
    - EVGA Classified 580 Ultra Video Card
    - Samsung 512GB SSD SATA III (system drive)
    - BigFoot Networks Killer 2100 NIC
    - XFX ProSeries 1250w PSU


  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt DangerClose +10 DangerClose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    NJ - USA
    Posts
    107

    I installed the 106x driver package, that's all we need right?

    *Asus Rampage IV Extreme - 3930K - 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 - 2x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSDs - WD VelociRaptor 600GB Steam drive - 3x 7970 Tri-Fire !! - Corsair AX1200 PSU - Thermaltake Level 10 GT case - H100 Cooler - Win7 x64 Ultimate


  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Necrosan +30
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    655

    You can install the USB 3 chipset driver and the SATA chipset driver.
    Both revisions on station-drivers are newer than what ASUS offers via their download section for the board.

    Edit: Tested the XHCI firmware update, too. It works as expected.

    In U3Firmware directory run "firmware.exe" and it will inform you if you need the update or not. (Mine did)
    (For what it's worth the firmware update v110914 is the latest, and is sourced from ASUS. Not sure which board it came with but I've confirmed they are exact same chipset.)
    Last edited by Necrosan; 02-15-2012 at 04:33 PM.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Core i7 4930K (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2

  8. #8
    New ROGer rgd1126 +10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by DigitalCop View Post
    I have been having issues with my USB3.0 and XHCI controller... quirky crap like disappearing drives, etc. Anyway, I found the below site (Station-Drivers) and they had updates that were newer than what was available on the Asus site.

    Just figured I would share if anyone else needs / wants to update their firmware or drivers.

    It seems to have solved the issues that I was having:

    http://www.station-drivers.com/page/asmedia.htm
    Hi,
    I seem to be having the same problem as you had with my Maximus V mobo. Downloaded the files from Station Drivers, could you guide me on the steps, ie did you install the driver or firmware.

    Thanks

    Newbie.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Red Jhon +10 Red Jhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    199

    But what happens flash the firmware? flash the chip? Or fw is incluse in bios?
    Asus VG236H 1920x1080 120Herz / Dell 3008WFP 2560x1600 60Herz
    Silverstone ST1500
    Corsair H100i
    Rampage IV Extreme - Bios 4804
    Intel i7 4960x @ 4.6Ghz
    Corsair Dominator GT 1866 32Gb
    3 Asus GTX780 SLi - GEN3
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256Gb Raid 0
    2 VelociRaptor 500Gb Raid 0
    2 VelociRaptor 150Gb (Asmedia Controller)
    Asus Xonar Phoebus

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Necrosan +30
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    655

    I believe it updates the firmware on the actual chip on the board and not the BIOS.
    Running firmware.exe will inform you whether you are up to date or not and whether the flash is applicable for your particular chipset.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Core i7 4930K (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts