Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Asus G60VX RAM Upgrade Support...

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array DarkStalker980x's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Asus G60VX RAM Upgrade Support...

    Just got very cheap!, an ASUS G60VX Notebook before Kepler arrives and its memory supports DDR3 1066Mhz ... would higher frequency DIMMs such as DDR3 1333Mhz or even 1600Mhz work?

    Motherboard is Intel PM45 Chipset and CPU was upgraded from an Intel T9400 to an Intel X9100, unsure if this would make a difference in the matter ...

    It states maximum supported sized of RAM is 4GB but the Intel PM45 chipset supports up to 8GB, you think it should be supported in the Notebook? I'm usually a high end Desktop builder but when it comes to Notebook modding, I'v gone blank lol

    Thanks
    CoolerMaster HAF-X
    Intel i7 980x OC
    Corsair H100 CPU Liquid Cooler

    Gigabyte G1 Assassin
    Enermax MaxRevo 1500w PSU
    Corsair Dominator GT 3x2GB 1866Mhz
    Corsair Vertex 3 MAX IOPS 2X240GB Raid0 SSD
    POV/TGT GTX590 Ultra Charged QUAD SLI
    Creative Sound Blaster X-FI 20K2
    Bluray Drive
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
    Acer G24 1920x1200
    Razer Keyboard & Mouse
    Logitech Z-5500

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array DarkStalker980x's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Bump......
    CoolerMaster HAF-X
    Intel i7 980x OC
    Corsair H100 CPU Liquid Cooler

    Gigabyte G1 Assassin
    Enermax MaxRevo 1500w PSU
    Corsair Dominator GT 3x2GB 1866Mhz
    Corsair Vertex 3 MAX IOPS 2X240GB Raid0 SSD
    POV/TGT GTX590 Ultra Charged QUAD SLI
    Creative Sound Blaster X-FI 20K2
    Bluray Drive
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
    Acer G24 1920x1200
    Razer Keyboard & Mouse
    Logitech Z-5500

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkStalker980x View Post
    Just got very cheap!, an ASUS G60VX Notebook before Kepler arrives and its memory supports DDR3 1066Mhz ... would higher frequency DIMMs such as DDR3 1333Mhz or even 1600Mhz work?

    Motherboard is Intel PM45 Chipset and CPU was upgraded from an Intel T9400 to an Intel X9100, unsure if this would make a difference in the matter ...

    It states maximum supported sized of RAM is 4GB but the Intel PM45 chipset supports up to 8GB, you think it should be supported in the Notebook? I'm usually a high end Desktop builder but when it comes to Notebook modding, I'v gone blank lol

    Thanks
    I would think that the 1333MHz DIMMs or even the 1600's would work, but they'd be clocked by the BIOS at 1066MHz automatically, unless you manually change the FSB speed in the BIOS (i.e. overclock it). I don't know how the PM45 northbridge would react, but my guess is it'll probably handle a 1333MHz overclock, but not 1600.

    As for the memory max, I would say yes, if you can find 2x4GB DIMMs that would fit your slots (I assume there are only 2?), it'll probably work. But I am not the most familiar with your model, so I would do some more research online for others with that model who may have gotten more than 4GB to work.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array DarkStalker980x's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Thanks for the reply

    Yes does sound like it should work .. I'll give it a try!

    One more small question .. Its fitted with an Intel X9100 Dual Core at the moment and was wondering if an Intel QX9300 Quad Core would fit it? The sockets are both the same which is Socket PGA478 ... the QX9300 in benchmarks 50%+ faster than the X9100 at the same 3GHZ speed (QX9300 OC) ... This coupled with the 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM should be a nice improvement (old low specs I know lol but laptop price makes up for it!)

    Thanks!!
    CoolerMaster HAF-X
    Intel i7 980x OC
    Corsair H100 CPU Liquid Cooler

    Gigabyte G1 Assassin
    Enermax MaxRevo 1500w PSU
    Corsair Dominator GT 3x2GB 1866Mhz
    Corsair Vertex 3 MAX IOPS 2X240GB Raid0 SSD
    POV/TGT GTX590 Ultra Charged QUAD SLI
    Creative Sound Blaster X-FI 20K2
    Bluray Drive
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
    Acer G24 1920x1200
    Razer Keyboard & Mouse
    Logitech Z-5500

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    My understanding is that as long as the socket is the same you can drop in any CPU you want (of course), but what will determine whether said new cpu will be recognized is the BIOS. How old is your BIOS version? If you don't have the latest you should check its release date and maybe get it. If the latest BIOS release date is older than the quad core chip you're eyeing, theres probably a significant chance it won't work. If however its newer than the chip, then the manufacturer may have upgraded it to work with those chips (check that with the manufacturer) and it should work.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  6. #6
    Helium Chilled Array MarshallR@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ASUS HQ Taiwan
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    5,254

    CPU upgrade: You should be fine. TDP and voltages are pretty much the same, which means there's no technical reason why not, except for specific BIOS support, but they are within the same family so it should be fine.

    Memory speed is controlled by the P45M chipset - you won't be able to run faster than 1066MHz unfortunately, even with a faster CPU. You can put faster memory in and it will be compatible, but it will default to the slower speed, so don't waste your money.


    Innovate. Never Imitate.
    When I get reeeally sad about missing someone far away, I just take a deep cleansing breath, then switch to the rifle with a scope.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi Dark, when you upgrade your cpu on g60vx the multipliers were unlocked in bios?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •