Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Asus N55sf Wifi Upgrade

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Asus N55sf Wifi Upgrade

    The Atheros card in the N55sf is terrible. I want to switch it out for a better one. Does anyone have a step-by-step on this process?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    878

    Hi there

    Link to a picture to locate where the WiFi Card is. (just confirm for me that this is the same notebook :P )

    As I can see the WiFi Card is located next to the RAM. So you have to pop up the black and white antennas that are connected on the card, unscrew the 2 screws and then carefully push it out.

    When you insert the new card, the same procedure, insert the 2 screws and remember which hole the white/black antennas where connected on as the last card.

    I hope this helps
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    It looks familiar

    That looks like it! Please continue on getting the wires correct. What should I use as my frame of reference?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    878

    As I can see in the picture the black antenna is attached to the "port" that is furthest away and the white antenna is the closest (from where the antennas comes
    They should pop easy on, if they pop off, then you haven't atteched them good enough :P

    Btw which wifi card are you installing on your notebook?
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Which WIFI card?

    My initial thought is to get the Intel 6230. I was considering a three antenna system, but have some reservations:
    1) I don't know if the third antenna is already in the system or, if I get one, which of the three it will need to connect to.
    2) I've been hearing a lot about the three-band wifi cards that are due out this year. If I'm going to need to get a card that connects to the 60Ghz stream as well, there's no reason to spend a lot of money on this upgrade when I will need to upgrade again shortly.

    Thoughts?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    878

    Sorry for late reply.

    The Intel Centrino 6230 is a good choice, I got it my self and haven't had any troubles with that, and the notebook is "acting different" or what to say :P The Atheros stock wifi card is crap, shouldn't even been on the notebooks in the first place.

    About the first question I can not answer since that is something I don't know..... What I know is that the 6230 car has 2 antennas and doesn't need a third one since it doesn't have that.

    And about the second question I'm not sure there either.... so perhaps others from this forum could step in and give you more thoughts about it
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I guess you're right. After a recommended upgrade I lost my home connection. Still I don't know if the problem is faulty BIOS or the WiFi card.
    I decided to install OSX in the 2nd partition and it connects over WiFi wihout problems...
    Check the post: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...update-of-BIOS

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Upgraded to Intel 6230

    I'm not certain that I'm happy with the upgrade, but I don't think that is the fault of the new chip. I'm running wireless off of a dual band Linksys top-of-the-line router from one room away and I'm not getting the connection that I want. I don't know. Anyway, the computer is fantastic otherwise and I've added a 2nd screen (the Asus 22 inch ultraslim) and love the heck out of it. I'm definitely stuck on Asus for any Windows machines in the near future.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    What 6230 card works in the n55sf? I got an ANHMW of ebay which give an error "cannot be started (10)" in Windows 7. Will the ANHMWWB work?
    Last edited by dikkiedirk; 07-25-2012 at 02:22 PM.

  10. #10
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Victoria, Aus
    Reputation
    254
    Posts
    5,158

    3 Antenna on a wifi card or a router/modem does not mean 3 bands use. i'm not entirely sure why there is 3, might be signal booster or something, or help with the receive/transmission of the signal...ANWAYS, roprisko...have you gone through your router settings to ensure it and your wifi card are matching in wireless band? if not, you will need to do so...at least make sure just in case. if they match, go on the Intel website and update the drivers to the latest if you haven't already.
    MotherboardRampage IV Formula CPU3820 RAMCorsair XMS3 8GB 1600 VGAASUS 7970 Ref card SSD/OSCorsair Neutron 128GB HDD/DataSeagate 2TB CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha

    ROG Overclocking Education Center ||| ROG RealBench Tweaks & Tips

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •