Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: using the Recovery Partition

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    using the Recovery Partition

    hi,
    i used the Recovery Partition by pressing F9 and i choosed "Recover Windows to entire HD with two partitions", the problem is i lost all my files. is there any way to get my files back? Please help me out i lost everything. thanks.
    asus notebook
    model:a42j
    mb ver:k42jc

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array tWiCeAsfLyOhMy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Depends on what it is exactly you did. If you did a full format then yes you have lost all your files. Remember to save any files you want to keep on a thumb drive prior to reformatting your HD. It completely wipes the hard drive and brings it to it's factory state.

    The web is a powerful place and so are these forums. It's best to ask questions before you act rather than the opposite. Good luck
    ASUS g74SX-XT1

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Quote Originally Posted by ukase View Post
    hi,
    i used the Recovery Partition by pressing F9 and i choosed "Recover Windows to entire HD with two partitions", the problem is i lost all my files. is there any way to get my files back? Please help me out i lost everything. thanks.
    asus notebook
    model:a42j
    mb ver:k42jc
    Unfortunately, I'm afraid they are permanently lost. I'm very sorry that happened.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi,
    First , there were three partition options:
    1- Recover Windows to first partition only.
    2- Recover Windows to entire HD.
    3- Recover Windows to entire HD with two partitions.

    i selected the third option.
    please tell me i didnt lose everything.

    Second, which one of the above i should have chosen without losing anything ? (i dont want to use CD backup)
    thanks.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    878

    Quote Originally Posted by BrodyBoy View Post
    Unfortunately, I'm afraid they are permanently lost. I'm very sorry that happened.
    As @BrodyBoy says, I'm also sorry for that this happend.

    You choosed to do a factory restore on the whole system, and then when it's finished everything is overwritten with the new "out of box" setup.

    So for the next time when you want to recover your notebook to factory settings, be sure to take backup of your important files, so this will not happend in the future

    Quote Originally Posted by ukase View Post
    Second, which one of the above i should have chosen without losing anything ? (i dont want to use CD backup)
    thanks.
    I'm not sure, every time I have done a facotry restore I have choosed the wrong option :P
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    my bad,, thank you so much..

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    USA
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    If your HDD has an OS and a Data.partitition, backup any important files to the Data partition and choose option 1. This will only overwrite the OS partition.

    Option 3 overwrites the entire disk, creating a new OS and Data partition. No files on that disk are saved.

    Option 2 also overwrites the entire disk, but creates a single large OS partition that spans the entie disk. No files are saved on that disk.
    Last edited by dstrakele; 03-24-2012 at 01:29 PM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Quote Originally Posted by fuzon1337 View Post
    You choosed to do a factory restore on the whole system, and then when it's finished everything is overwritten with the new "out of box" setup.
    Just a note of clarification.....it doesn't restore the whole system, but the whole OS disk (as Drew described). In two drive systems, the second HDD is never touched by a factory restore, so that part of the out-of-box setup is not replicated.

    A tiny point, but since the discussion was to clarify what each of the restore options does, it seemed pertinent.

    Quote Originally Posted by ukase View Post
    Hi,
    First , there were three partition options:
    1- Recover Windows to first partition only.
    2- Recover Windows to entire HD.
    3- Recover Windows to entire HD with two partitions.

    i selected the third option.
    please tell me i didnt lose everything.

    Second, which one of the above i should have chosen without losing anything ? (i dont want to use CD backup)
    thanks.
    There is no factory restore option that is not destructive to at least some data on the existing drive. The first option will limit the restore to the existing OS partition only.....but it WILL overwrite it and you WILL lose whatever is on that partition. So any programs you have installed there (and that's where all programs install by default), any APPDATA & setup files, user files and custom settings, etc....those will be lost. All data and files on your other partitions will be untouched IF you use option #1.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •