cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BlackBeauty to be born

Zka17
Level 16
Hi everyone, I am starting this thread to document the build of my new system. I am not a pro, however I do have some experience in putting together some pc hardware. Also, I am not afraid to use some tools for cutting, drilling, etc. to obtain what I dreamed about. I do have a life, family and professional – so building this system may take a while... In mean time, any comment, suggestion, idea is welcome!

The basic plan is to build the strongest computer I can with decent external look and do it in a way to keep it as silent as possible. By “strongest” I mean the best I can afford. I do have some parts already and I am ready to upgrade some of them as well as I am prepared to spend more – but all in a resonable limit. “Decent external look” for me is simple as possible. A simple black (possible matte) exterior with as few lights as possible – the essence will be inside! “Silent” is quiet. Intending to make a balance between performance and quietness, sometimes even going more for quiet.

Let’s see what I am starting with. I have an Asus Rampage III extreme motherboard and an Intel Core i7-980X processor. Regarding the graphics, I am definetely going for an SLI system, not sure yet about the cards... Right now I do have 3 EVGA GTX 480 Superclocked ones, but will see. As for the memory, I have a 12GB Corsair Dominator and a 24GB Kingstone HyperX kit, both of them at 1600 MHz. The storage will be a combination of SSD(s) and HDD(s), right now having 2 120GB Corsair Force GTs and 2 2TB Western Digital Caviar Blacks. I have two strong power supplies, a Corsair AX1200 and a Silverstone ST1500, will use them based on needs (depending more on what graphic cards will use at final assembly).

All my build is going to be based on a Corsair Obsidian 800d, hundred percent sure that will be modded. More on this later.