+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: G74sx Skyrim performance

  1. #1
    ROG Member Basilo +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    15

    G74sx Skyrim performance

    So, I have a three month old G74 i ordered through powernotebooks.com with all the bells and whistles, like 16 gigs of ram and the i7-2860M CPU, but I think the graphics card may be defective. Basically, with skyrim on high settings, i get an average of around 20 fps, even though when I press the default settings button, it goes to ultra. Is this an average performance, or is something messed up with my laptop? I do have all the drivers updated, and have taken to using the beta drivers, and my WEI gives me a 7.2, so i feel i should be getting better performance. Thnx! Oh, and ive been monitoring my CPU, memory and graphics card, and only the graphics card maxes out when playing games, but it almost always immediately peaks.
    Last edited by Basilo; 04-04-2012 at 12:49 AM. Reason: Forgot some details

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt zsld0423 +10 zsld0423's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    168

    Have you tried using the Throttlestop program? There's a known issue that when the CPU and GPU start to max, it throttles the computer Or something along those lines. Here's the thread detailing about the issue and what to do. Personally, I'm running Skyrim just fine on my G74 on all ultra, no lag or anything

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=
    Sager NP9370
    256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 750GB 7200RPM Secondary HDD
    nVidia GeForce GTX 680M 4GB VRAM
    Intel Core i7-3630QM 2.40GHz
    16GB RAM
    Mouse: MadCatz R.A.T. 7
    Keyboard: Razer Lycosa Mirror
    Additional Monitors: 24" 1080p Insignia LED/LCD TV and 21" Acer LCD Monitor
    Windows 7 Ultimate

  3. #3
    ROG Member Basilo +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    15

    Honestly, I hate my G74, and my F50sf works better than this computer does in the graphics department. I will happily sell this computer to anyone who ask.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt MrRuckus +20
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    164

    Im not sure how a GT220M is going to run better then a GTX560M. Have you checked that thread the previous poster replied to you with? That will most likely solve your problem by running ThrottleStop.
    NEW: ASUS G750JH DB71
    RETIRED:Asus G74Sx DH72 || i7 2670QM @ 2.2-3.0Ghz|| 24GB DDR3 || Samsung 830 256GB SSD, Seagate 7200RPM 750GB || 3.0GB GTX 560m || 6X BD || WD 2TB in USB 3.0 Enclosure ||

  5. #5
    ROG Member Basilo +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    15

    It doesn't make any sense to me either, all I know is that I am playing games at the exact same settings on this computer as i was on my f50, and getting almost the exact same framerate, but on this one the graphics card is the bottleneck, and the CPU was the bottleneck on my old one. Ok, I got throttle stop working and fraps says im getting 40 fps, but the screen looks like 20-25 fps, and i can clearly see lag when walking as things near the border of the screen form a double image for a very small, yet noticeable, period.
    Last edited by Basilo; 04-04-2012 at 07:40 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt MrRuckus +20
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    164

    Quote Originally Posted by Basilo View Post
    It doesn't make any sense to me either, all I know is that I am playing games at the exact same settings on this computer as i was on my f50, and getting almost the exact same framerate, but on this one the graphics card is the bottleneck, and the CPU was the bottleneck on my old one. Ok, I got throttle stop working and fraps says im getting 40 fps, but the screen looks like 20-25 fps, and i can clearly see lag when walking as things near the border of the screen form a double image for a very small, yet noticeable, period.
    Do you have the newest drivers from Nvidia? Almost sounds like somekind of driver issue. Or possibly a refresh rate issue?
    I may try and hook it up to an external display via HDMI if you can to see if the same thing occurs.
    NEW: ASUS G750JH DB71
    RETIRED:Asus G74Sx DH72 || i7 2670QM @ 2.2-3.0Ghz|| 24GB DDR3 || Samsung 830 256GB SSD, Seagate 7200RPM 750GB || 3.0GB GTX 560m || 6X BD || WD 2TB in USB 3.0 Enclosure ||

  7. #7
    ROG Member Basilo +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    15

    I have the Nvidia beta drivers, but i have yet another question. What kind of framerate do you get in crysis and crysis 2, because for both on their second highest settings i am only getting about 25 fps, even when i overclocked to 917/1834/1450. Might I mention that that is about the exact same framerate i get in crysis on my old laptop on medium settings.... im very disappointed with this computer.
    Last edited by Basilo; 04-04-2012 at 08:21 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member smellons +10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    23

    In addition to checking the nvidia drivers, also make sure you have Skyrim at the latest version, there have been many improvements in performance. And double-check you're on High Performance Mode.

    Did you uninstall any of the bloatware/ clean install?

    Also, the f50 was only 1366 x 768 with a ddr2/ddr3 gpu while the G74 is 1920 x 1080 with a ddr5 gpu.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by smellons View Post
    And double-check you're on High Performance Mode.
    Seconding this, since nothing else seems to have an obvious effect; it's also the main reason I ever have lag/framedrop issues with games -- though I should point out the caveat that I haven't tried playing Skyrim on this unit.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Tech_Rat +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    37

    I had no problem with lag or FPS issues while playing skyrim on the G74SX-BBK8. Had High res texture packs on everything, all settings maxed out. I am using the 296.10 drivers. Check the throttle stop if you haven't. Make sure the power mode[the battery thing in the bottom right corner on your task bar] is set to high performance, and not battery saver. I don't normally use the beta drivers. Make sure Steam and Skyrim are both updated. I know skyrim has an official parch for the 4GB+ RAM users.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts