cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems with Radeon HD 7950

Lugh_Azreak
Level 7
Hello, nobody knows me around here yet but the name's Josh. I'm trying to stabilize a new system I call Zeus. I built Zeus 2 days ago with no assistance, and it is my first build. If you haven't seen my post on the new member page, I'll introduce Zeus in the next paragraph. I have some issues that I believe are related to the Radeon Series Graphic Cards forum, many that aren't so I hope someone who knows better than me can move this thread to the proper place. Here's a quick view of the issues I can think of: Shader Model 5 not recognized... sound card not recognized... HDMI not working properly... issues with multiple screens... COM port error with bluetooth module... microphone error... Wifi not working and videos look like they went through a blender. Okay maybe not that bad, they just aren't as impressive as you'd expect from AMD's second best graphics card.

So here's Zeus: 64 Bit Windows 7 Ultimate, Rampage IV Extreme motherboard, 32GBs of G. Skill Ripjaws Z series 19200 PC3 RAM (that's 2400MHz by the way), 2 Western Digital 2TB 6GB/s HDD, Intel I7 Extreme 3930K Step C2 Processor (from the UK), Noctua NH-D14 Cooling unit, Silverstone Strider 1500W PSU, and the AMD Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 Graphics Card... not the oc edition.

Here's a list of the errors, I'm going 100% off my memory because Zeus is busy undergoing some language pack updates for Arabic, French, Chinese and Italian... If you want specifics on any case I will be able to duplicate the error and give more details.

1) I've tried installing the Unreal Development Kit (UDK December 2011 version)... Failed because it says the graphics card must support at least Shader Model 3, and I have the 12.1 Driver for the graphics card, which makes my Shader model 5.0. I even checked, system says DirectX 11.