+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Crossfire question

  1. #1
    New ROGer LAs3R +10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Crossfire question

    Hi,
    i would like to know if it's possible to run a crossfire using the top PCI express port and the bottom one, i plan to buy a sound card which uses the PCI port (Xonar essence ST), so in that case the PCI express port just above cannot be used.

    Thank you !
    Last edited by LAs3R; 04-20-2012 at 10:58 AM.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    25,164

    Could you tell me what motherboard you are using please?

  3. #3
    New ROGer LAs3R +10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Ah sorry, it's the sabertooth 990fx.

    Thank you !

  4. #4
    Super Moderator HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    25,164

    OK you will be able to do so, however I have a question.

    Why are you not using slot 1 the top grey one and the next black one down? That gives you enough space for the PCI sound card.

  5. #5
    New ROGer LAs3R +10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Thank you for your reply !

    Actually if i use the second PCI-X 16 (the black one), it will block the PCI-X that is below, and i also need it for my RAID card

    Have a nice afternoon.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    25,164

    LOL ah the did not know about the RAID card. Um that configuration I have not tested. But I do not expect there to be problems.

    Enjoy and thank you.

  7. #7
    New ROGer LAs3R +10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Hello,
    sorry to bother you again, but do you know where i can find a (very) long crossfire bridge ? I have a 9cm one but it seems to be a bit short to connect the cards.

    Thank you !

  8. #8
    Super Moderator HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    25,164

    Yeah that is a problem as far as I know 10cm is the longest. Or at least that is the longest I have seen.

    You might have to re-arrange some of the other cards, maybe move the top card down and put the raid and sound card at the top?

  9. #9
    New ROGer LAs3R +10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Gonna be difficult,
    i think i will just go for the Xonar STX sound card in that case, will be easier for me since it's a PCI-X card.

    Thank you for you fast answers

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts