Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 99

Thread: Upgrading the G75VW

  1. #1
    Helium Chilled Array MarshallR@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ASUS HQ Taiwan
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    5,278

    Upgrading the G75VW

    http://rog.asus.com/98832012/g-serie...ing-the-g75vw/

    Upgrading the G75VW is relatively simple: you just need a Philips screw driver. It’s just one screw keeping you out of the main hatch which covers the two 2.5″ hard drive spaces, two SO-DIMM clips and one of the fan filters, as you can see below.

    Flip over the notebooks and unscrew the first hatch near the front:



    By removing two screws on each, the hard drives can be popped out using the pull tags. Then unscrew the old drive if there is one via its side-screws and add the new drive into the housing, before reversing the process to put it back in.



    Unscrew two screws and just give it a tug to the side before lifting it out.



    The housing will take SSDs, hybrid drives (like the Seagate Momentus XT) and SSDs in any mix and match configuration you desire. If you want to enable RAID0 or RAID1 for two HDD or SSD, it is available via the BIOS.



    Our G75VW has two 750GB Western Digital Black HDDs fitted
    From here, the left-hand fan filter is accessible for cleaning, while the right fan filter requires removing another Philips screw and accessing a smaller hatch. Just to be clear: removing these two screws does not void your warranty. Also, as you’d expect, the battery requires just flicking the clip on the base to swap it out. No screw removal required.









    However for the sake of transparency to our customers, please be aware of upgrade limitations. While the G75VW has four SO-DIMM slots in total; two of which are situated underneath the keyboard and accessing them requires chassis dismantling that voids your warranty so please plan your needs carefully before you buy.



    These two above will be populated first, at the factory, meaning if you buy an G75VW with 8GB DDR3 but later want 12GB or 16GB, dropping in one or two extra 4GB SO-DIMMs is a perfectly warranty-safe upgrade as this requires simply opening the base as described above. However, if you require upgrading all four SO-DIMM slots, this can only be done by unscrewing all visible screws on the base, removing the battery and optical drive, then gently separating the the motherboard tray from the keyboard. Evidently this process is not designed to be user upgradable, but if you feel you are technically adept and accept that you will not be able to return the notebook at a later date, it can be done.


    Innovate. Never Imitate.
    When I get reeeally sad about missing someone far away, I just take a deep cleansing breath, then switch to the rifle with a scope.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Thx1138's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Thanks for the tutorial.

    With this computer, is it easy to apply new thermal grease to the GPU/CPU, or would someone need to disassemble the entire thing?
    Last edited by Thx1138; 05-11-2012 at 08:30 PM.
    G72GX__ GeForce GTX 260M__ 6GB RAM__ Intel Core 2 Dou CPU p8700 @2.52GHz

  3. #3
    Helium Chilled Array MarshallR@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ASUS HQ Taiwan
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    5,278

    Quote Originally Posted by Thx1138 View Post
    Thanks for the tutorial.

    With this computer, is it easy to apply new thermal grease to the GPU/CPU, or would someone need to disassemble the entire thing?
    You would need to take apart the entire chassis, so not easy. You shouldn't need to do it in within its warranty lifetime.


    Innovate. Never Imitate.
    When I get reeeally sad about missing someone far away, I just take a deep cleansing breath, then switch to the rifle with a scope.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Bad

    When i took of my charger battery my game went lag , very lag ? why ? and my asus g75 is new , !!! please answer me and help me !

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    How to replace original drive with SSD and then use original drive as secondary?

    reposted in a new thread
    Last edited by ericewalton; 05-18-2012 at 05:13 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sandefjord, Norway
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    43

    RE: fresh install with ssd

    Quote Originally Posted by ericewalton View Post
    reposted in a new thread
    If you download win 7 home premium from one of theese sites:

    64 bit:
    http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent..../X15-65733.iso

    32 bit
    http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent..../X15-65732.iso

    You need to download and make a copy of your system drivers as well on a usb/dvd.

    Open hdd cover. you need to take out original hdd. replase it with your ssd. (it need to be put into slot1)
    (do not put in original drive before you have finished installing windows or you will get a error upon win install.)
    After install you are free to replace original hdd (put it in secondery slot)
    Install all you intel, vga driver etc

    Voila!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tejas
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    317

    Quote Originally Posted by mazewolf View Post
    When i took of my charger battery my game went lag , very lag ? why ? and my asus g75 is new , !!! please answer me and help me !
    As with all laptops the g75 cannot withdraw the same amount of power froma battery that it can from the charger. Rest assured there is nothing wrong.
    G75vw DS71
    3610QM I7
    16GB Ram 1600mhz
    750GB+120GB(patriot pyro)
    Nvidia gtx 660m
    Purple Keyboard mod
    Proud Owner of a GTX 660ti DC-II

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Upgrading RAM

    I just got a G75VW from Bestbuy that came with 8Gb of RAM, when I asked in the store about getting 16Gb instead of the 8 Gb; they told me to go buy to 8GB DIMMS and change the memory myself.

    Last night I followed the steps in this guide and found out that the 8GB that have been setup are the ones that avoid the warranty if you try to change then, and also saw that there are two free DIMM slots available to be used.

    Can I place my 2 new 8 GB DIMMS there or will it be a problem? I tried and got a black screen so not sure how to reset the BIOS to read the new memory.

    Any advice would be very welcome!

    Thanks

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Does the G75 fully support Sata3 Drives?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    In the Orion arm of a spiral galaxy in the Local Group...
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,755

    Yes. Even the older G53/G74 systems (Sandy Bridge) do.

Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •