cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Yet another overheating g73sw

darroaxebender
Level 7
Hey there. Im now using my g73 (sandybridge) since 2010 march. I didnt use any softwares to test the temperatures of my GPU or CPU for a long time, because i was away from the computer world for a couple years until i got this laptop. As a newbie, i didnt check my temperatures for a couple months, which was quite a mistake (to trust computer manufacturers, lol).

Anyways im checking the temps for a while now and cleaning the dust out by removing the bottom part of the laptop almost monthly. My cpu temps are pretty okay, but my GPU temps are 40+ when idling and upto 86 when on load. That seems reasonable anyway though.

I'm now studying on 3d modeling so i needed a second monitor. I have plugged in my good old crt and now i'm idling on about 55-58. Which kinda seems worrying to me, and urges me to disable the second monitor when not in use.

Another worrying part is right handside of my cumpter (the part where big enter key is and area around it) is quite hot when this is happening (idling). I am used to it getting hot when it is on load but being hot at 55 celcius and while idling? Im not sure if its healthy or not.

I have been using throttlestop to measure the temps and i dont keep throttling disabled all the time to let things run cooler when i dont need it. I have asked about this in Throttlestop forums but could not get a reply yet: do TS just disable throttling when you only run it on "monitoring only mode"? I even have BD PROCHOT got a tick next to it.

Thanks for any help.
1 REPLY 1

unclewebb
Level 10