cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

best settings for gaming

firekiller44
Level 7
Hi guys,

I just installed my phoebus and was checking out the setting, I'm a bit of a noob.

I do a lot of gaming on modern warfare 3 and was wondering if you guys can help me out: what are the settings to use for gaming ? dolby home theater v4 with the game tab?

should I enable dx button?

what does soundradar do?

Is there a tutorial that explains all the new stuff?

I had a xonar dx before and found that the best sound was with only dolby headphone enabled. My headphones are sennheiser pc350's.

Thanks!!
51 REPLIES 51

Raja
Level 13
Hi,

GX enables EAX features, use with games that support it. Sound Radar works with GX to enhance front speaker effects. EAX isn't used much now so most titles won't see any change from either of these functions.

If you want to experiment with Dolby HT then use the Game preset with headphones, it adds a bit of depth.

-Raja

Raja@ASUS wrote:
Hi,

GX enables EAX features, use with games that support it. Sound Radar works with GX to enhance front speaker effects. EAX isn't used much now so most titles won't see any change from either of these functions.

If you want to experiment with Dolby HT then use the Game preset with headphones, it adds a bit of depth.

-Raja

I can attest to the Dolby HT Game preset. It rocks in my opinion. I can hear exactly where everything is and it's approximate distance relative to other sounds. Heck, I have been accused of hacking on BF3 a little more often now since I can here around what corners people are shooting from.
Intel Core 3930K at 4.25GHz
Asus Rampage IV Extreme BIOS 1404
Crucial M4 SSD 256GB
EVGA GTX 570 SC 2-Way SLI @ 822/2000/1.038V 24/7 Drivers: WHQL 301.42
2 Caviar Black 1TB HDD
Asus XONAR Phoebus
Corsair H100 (p/p)
Corsair Vengance RAM 16GB @1600MHz
Enermax 1350W PSU
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit