+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: EZ Plug connectors (6-pin EZ_PLUG_1; 4-pin EZ_PLUG_2)

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt lenehan +20 lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    544

    EZ Plug connectors (6-pin EZ_PLUG_1; 4-pin EZ_PLUG_2)

    Hi.

    Would like to know EZ Plug connectors (6-pin EZ_PLUG_1; 4-pin EZ_PLUG_2) what is that for? Do we need to plug it in? Thank you.

  2. #2
    ROG Bodhi: Orion's Belt Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the gutter but looking at the stars
    Posts
    7,317

    6 pin is more PCIe power if you are running 4 GPUs. The 4 pin is RAM power if you have all slots filled with high frequency RAM etc. so normally you wont need it. The board will draw as much power as it needs so even plugging them in without need will do no harm I guess.

    Phobya Bench Table / Rampage IV Black Edition / i7-4930K / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 CMD16GX3M4A2133C9
    ASUS GTX Titan Black or ASUS Matrix Platinum R9 290X / ASUS Xonar Essence STX
    1x OCZ Vector 150 240GB, 2x OCZ Vertex 3 240GB, 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB
    Custom loop: EK Supreme HF Full EN /EK-FC BLOCK for TI/TITAN / 2x EK Coolstream XTX 360
    Dual D5 Varios with EK D5 X-Tops / EK- RES X3 400
    Dell U2711












  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt lenehan +20 lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    544

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    6 pin is more PCIe power if you are running 4 GPUs. The 4 pin is RAM power if you have all slots filled with high frequency RAM etc. so normally you wont need it. The board will draw as much power as it needs so even plugging them in without need will do no harm I guess.
    Thanks. Was wondering if it related to http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Zka17 +150 Zka17 +150 Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
    Posts
    7,946

    Well, you could plug in those EZ connectors and see if it's still unstable...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt lenehan +20 lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    544

    Quote Originally Posted by lenehan View Post
    Thanks. Was wondering if it related to http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=
    Thanks. Will try it out,

  6. #6
    Sorry to bring up an old post, but does this work with for the 6-pin on the motherboard? I think EZ_PLUG_1.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-to-6-PIN-A...-/221075993559

  7. #7
    Not Fully Qualified WhitePaw +150 WhitePaw +150 WhitePaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Between a contrast
    Posts
    5,329

    if you have the cpu llc at around extreme 160-180%, and doing some serious oc, i think it wise to have the 4 pin cpu plugged in..

    I plugged in mine, when going above 5,1 ghz

    The gpu 6 pin plug cant be used with 1/2/3/4 gpus,,
    Last edited by WhitePaw; 10-26-2012 at 07:09 AM.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts