Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: EZ Plug connectors (6-pin EZ_PLUG_1; 4-pin EZ_PLUG_2)

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    EZ Plug connectors (6-pin EZ_PLUG_1; 4-pin EZ_PLUG_2)

    Hi.

    Would like to know EZ Plug connectors (6-pin EZ_PLUG_1; 4-pin EZ_PLUG_2) what is that for? Do we need to plug it in? Thank you.

  2. #2
    Elite Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Fu*k no!
    MotherboardGA X99-SOC Champion / Rampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X @ stock day-to-day / 4.4GHz/4.4GHz cache Gaming / 4.9GHz/4.6GHz cache OC
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q16GRR @3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #3Not yet...
    Graphics Card #4At these prices?...Not likely :-(
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorDell U2711
    Storage #12x OCZ VERTEX 3 / Vector 150
    Storage #22x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop EK WaterBlocks
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Mickey
    Headset On neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories? I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the gutter but looking at the stars
    Reputation
    335
    Posts
    9,241

    6 pin is more PCIe power if you are running 4 GPUs. The 4 pin is RAM power if you have all slots filled with high frequency RAM etc. so normally you wont need it. The board will draw as much power as it needs so even plugging them in without need will do no harm I guess.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    6 pin is more PCIe power if you are running 4 GPUs. The 4 pin is RAM power if you have all slots filled with high frequency RAM etc. so normally you wont need it. The board will draw as much power as it needs so even plugging them in without need will do no harm I guess.
    Thanks. Was wondering if it related to http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
    Reputation
    163
    Posts
    7,967

    Well, you could plug in those EZ connectors and see if it's still unstable...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    Quote Originally Posted by lenehan View Post
    Thanks. Was wondering if it related to http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=
    Thanks. Will try it out,

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Sorry to bring up an old post, but does this work with for the 6-pin on the motherboard? I think EZ_PLUG_1.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-to-6-PIN-A...-/221075993559

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array WhitePaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    184
    Posts
    5,988

    if you have the cpu llc at around extreme 160-180%, and doing some serious oc, i think it wise to have the 4 pin cpu plugged in..

    I plugged in mine, when going above 5,1 ghz

    The gpu 6 pin plug cant be used with 1/2/3/4 gpus,,
    Last edited by WhitePaw; 10-26-2012 at 07:09 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •