Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to disable Intel internal graphics?

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    How to disable Intel internal graphics?

    I was using the intel graphics, but I just installed the Asus 660ti card.

    Should I or do I need to disable the onboard graphics, and how do I do it?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array WhitePaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    184
    Posts
    5,893

    I dont know, but my guess is in bios, some cpu settings?

  3. #3
    ROG Court Jester Array Nackers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Rainbow Beach QLD Australia
    Reputation
    282
    Posts
    858

    I don't think it matters mate,, have you got your display connected to your New Graphics Card... I don't know how to disable it but see if you using your new card have a look here, If your bios is UEFI you could try, Advanced Mode-Advanced-System Agent Configuration-Graphics Config-Primary display ( just select auto), And if you wont to run Virtu MVP for a extra boost to your graphics you have to enable it under Graphic Config-iGPU Multi Monitor BEFORE you install yirtu mvp
    Last edited by Nackers; 08-24-2012 at 01:34 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
    Reputation
    163
    Posts
    7,970

    Yes, as Nackers said - just instead of auto, set to "PCIe" (in case you want to use the gtx660 permanently). Then obviously connect your monitor to the gtx660... Then install the driver for the gtx660...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    213

    Device Manager / Display Adapters / Intel HD Graphics xxxx - Right Click / Disable ...
    - M4EZ - 1: 3510 - 2: 1004 / i7-2600K / Redline 2133 16GB / Win7 Pro x64
    - v.3510 / 8.0.0.1351 - v.8.1.0.1263 / 10.8.0.1303 - v.11.2.0.1006
    - RevoDrive3x2 240GB - OS / Vector 256GB x2 RAID0 - OS / Vertex3 MI 120GB - OS / P'9230 3.0 2TB - B/U
    - 9260-8i BBU - CacheCade Pro Vertex3 120GBx2 RAID0 SSD Caching - Const ES SAS RAID10 GHS - Data
    - GTX580 3GB HC2 / Xonar Essence STX / ST1200G / TJ10B-W / ZR30w / SP 2500 2.1
    - Water: Swiftech/Koolance/Tygon/EVGA/MIPS - Wind: SST/Noctua/Cougar

  6. #6
    ROG Court Jester Array Nackers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Rainbow Beach QLD Australia
    Reputation
    282
    Posts
    858

    Cool, that's good to know for the future. Thanks heaps
    Ps, I did have internal graphic running when I was using one card with virtu mvp, I un-installed virtu when I set up a crossfire and disabled multi monitor in bios but not in device manager, just had a look and no intel hd 4000 under display adapters just my 2 cards, so it might auto disable once you do it in bios.. Good to know where to look though,, Thanks again..
    Last edited by Nackers; 08-24-2012 at 12:31 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array apocalypzez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    122

    Yup, this is the method!! Disable multi monitor support and the internal card gets disabled!!!


    Quote Originally Posted by Nackers View Post
    Cool, that's good to know for the future. Thanks heaps
    Ps, I did have internal graphic running when I was using one card with virtu mvp, I un-installed virtu when I set up a crossfire and disabled multi monitor in bios but not in device manager, just had a look and no intel hd 4000 under display adapters just my 2 cards, so it might auto disable once you do it in bios.. Good to know where to look though,, Thanks again..
    ASUS Maximus V Extreme || Core i7 3770K (4.6GHz Turbo) w/ (1.320) || Corsair H100i push/pull Exhaust || EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC with ACX Cooling & Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti Windforce 3x in SLI || G.Skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX (2Kits) 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 @ 10-12-12-31-2N || Samsung 840 PRO 512GB x2 (RAID0) || WD Caviar Black 1.5TB Docs & Storage || Corsair AX1200i || Corsair Obsidian 750D || Dell U3011 || Windows 8 Pro Media Center Edition x64 || Logitech Z2300 THX Certified 2.1 Speaker || Roccat Kave

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thanks, my computer feels faster already.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •