Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: CPU VCSSA Voltage

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    CPU VCSSA Voltage

    I have been having some issues with stability while gaming. I am running trifire 7970's 3x1 eyefinity and only way I can seem to get the system stable is to run VCSSA at 1.256-1.26V. Using a single 7970 card system is fine with a lot lower VCSSA voltage. Also the system only seems unstable when using eyefinity in crossfire/trifire. Single screen crossfire/trifire is fine.

    When the system becomes unstable the image will freeze on the screen and I get a sound loop. Sometimes the sound loop does not happen.

    Is this voltage safe and if so why is the extra VCSSA volatge needed with 3 cards in eyefinity mode?
    Last edited by HK-47; 08-25-2012 at 08:21 PM.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,218

    Do you have the extra power connected for the PCIe lanes? I have not had any issues when I have the additional power connected in.

    What you could also do is run a full series of memtest86 and make 100% certain your ram is stable.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Detroit
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    412

    I have been running VCCSA at 1.25v since November without any ill effects. In my opinion that voltage is safe. Increasing VCCSA proves beneficial under a number of scenarios including overclocking the ram, running 32 or 64 GB of ram, compensating for a weaker IMC in the CPU, or overclocking the CPU itself to higher levels.

    HiVizMan is going the better route here to see if the instability might be related to memory or power plane issues. It is good advise.

    Barring any root cause identification, if you need to run your VCCSA at 1.25v to be stable, it's no big deal to do just that.
    5960X @ 4.5Ghz
    Asus Rampage V Extreme 0706
    32GB (4 x 8) Gskill Ripjaws4 @ 2666 15-15-15-35 1.2v
    2 X EVGA Titan Black Hydro Copper SLI
    OS & Apps: Plextor M6e PX-G512M6e M.2 2280 512GB
    Games: Crucial M550 512GB
    Storage: WD Black 1TB
    Corsair AX1200i
    Lian Li Open Air Bench
    CPU & GPUs water cooled with Koolance 800w Chiller

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    I have the extra cable plugged in and memtest86 no issues. A little after writing my post I did get a blue screen. It is the first one I have got! Normally the system locks up how I described in my original post. This time the game paused for a sec. Sound continued playing normal then screen went black followed by a blue screen stating a CPU core did not respond. How can I upload my minidump file?

    This was after about 4 hrs of gaming prior to the tweaks I did to the system it would hard lock in about 5-15 min. So this is a improvement.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,218

    What you have just described sounds like a possible driver issue. You can see the error in the Microsoft Event Viewer by the way.

    And when you did the memtest86+ was your ram clocked to 2133MHz at the time?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    145

    I'm running mine on VCCSA 1.25v too (it was the Auto choice of the board, so I just adopted it). Did some testing lowering the VCCSA voltage but it hurts the stability, so I left it on 1.25v. Haven't noticed any temp issues (same average temp regardless).

    FYI I'm running my rig on 4.7G 24/7 with 32G RAM and all PCIe slots busy and some heavy duty cards in there, in addition to a bunch of HDDs so probably that's why the board raised the VCCSA to 1.25v (on run-time it's swinging between 1.225-1.275v). I think you'll be Ok.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    Here is what I got from event viewer:

    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x00000101 (0x0000000000000011, 0x0000000000000000, 0xfffff88005fd7180, 0x0000000000000003). A dump was saved in: C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP. Report Id: 082512-14476-01.


    And this from BlueScreenView:


    ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+d5efa fffff800`03250000 fffff800`03838000 0x005e8000 0x4fa390f3 5/4/2012 1:18:59 AM Microsoft® Windows® Operating System NT Kernel & System 6.1.7601.17835 (win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030) Microsoft Corporation C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe


    I am not sure if this is any help.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array 8 Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    U.K
    Reputation
    63
    Posts
    916

    101 means your Vcore is too low for the load your giving the CPU at a given frequency. Raise you Vcore slightly and retest.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,218

    Yeah Vcore is what that BSOD mostly indicates. Increase one notch or two and see if that resolves.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    I am using offset mode at + .050.
    CPU load Line calibration- Regular
    4.8ghz
    Vcore is 1.38 under load and 1.4v unloaded prior to it down clocking when idle. Idle it is 1.2ghz @ .88v does this sound ok?

    Vcore prior to this was 1.38v and 1.36 under load.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •