Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Reboot and select proper boot device? Help!

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Reboot and select proper boot device? Help!

    Hey guys, I own an Asus G55. I was browsing my files and not really doing much until the laptop restarted on me. Afterwards it keeps saying Reboot and select proper boot device and it isn't loading the OS. How can I fix this without losing anything?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    USA
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    Is your HDD in the boot device list?

    Try this - Open the back, remove and reseat the connection to your HDD.

    If that fails, insert a Windows install DVD or USB flash drive (you can make 'em if you don't have one) and attempt to repair your Windows installation.
    Last edited by dstrakele; 09-23-2012 at 03:22 AM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    I just tried what you said, but it's still giving the same problem..
    Last edited by Epialos; 09-23-2012 at 03:08 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    USA
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    I added a recommendation to my previous post.

    If repairing Windows fails, see if you can access the HDD from a USB drive enclosure attached to another computer. I used a utility called "TestDisk" to recover files from a badly damaged HDD accessed from a drive enclosure.

    You may also want to contact your retailer to see if you can exchange your defective laptop for a new one.
    Last edited by dstrakele; 09-23-2012 at 03:43 AM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida...USA
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    901

    Quote Originally Posted by Epialos View Post
    I just tried what you said, but it's still giving the same problem..
    restart your laptop, and once you see the "asus logo" hit the F2 button and enter BIOS.
    Go to "Boot Tab", and make sure your OS drive is enabled to the first position.
    then hit F10 and select save, and exit.

    If that didn't work you can try a "Repair action" from a Win7 install disk.
    this action should most likely work.

    Good luck, and enjoy!

    Last edited by GottiBoi55; 09-23-2012 at 03:35 AM.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    I don't have a windows 7 install dvd. My internet is rather slow and downloading the ISO takes about 5 hours :/

    I tried the BIOS but the only option I had was the DVDRAM one.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida...USA
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    901

    Quote Originally Posted by Epialos View Post
    I don't have a windows 7 install dvd. My internet is rather slow and downloading the ISO takes about 5 hours :/

    I tried the BIOS but the only option I had was the DVDRAM one.

    Okay, start your laptop and enter BIOS again, in the last tab select "Load optimize defaults"
    then select "save, and exit"
    I hope that works for you.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    USA
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    You got any friends with a computer and high speed Internet access? Who knows. - they may have a Windows 7 DVD to lend ya!
    Last edited by dstrakele; 09-23-2012 at 03:48 AM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by GottiBoi55 View Post
    Okay, start your laptop and enter BIOS again, in the last tab select "Load optimize defaults"
    then select "save, and exit"
    I hope that works for you.
    My last tab in bios is "save and exit". I don't see the option load optimize defaults but I do have a restore defaults which I have already tried..

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by dstrakele View Post
    You got any friends with a computer and high speed Internet access?
    Sadly I have to head back to my dorm at college tomorrow and their internet isn't really spectacular..

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •