Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unable to Load ICMP.DLL Popup Error

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Unable to Load ICMP.DLL Popup Error

    Any Crosshair V Foulula-Z MB owner run into a popup where the box label says reads "AsFTP" and inside it is the error message "Unable to load ICMP.DLL"? It keeps popping up during various applications. How can I tell what this links to and how to fix it? Thanks for any help.


    CPU: AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz
    MB: ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z
    Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 32GB DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900)
    Hard Drives: Seagate 7200 RPM 500 Barracuda plus 4 other data drives
    Video Card: EVGA GeForce GT 640 2048MB GDDR3 Dual DVI, mHDMI Graphics Card 02G-P4-2643-KR
    Case: Antec Sonata IV - ATX Mid Tower Case
    CPU Cooleer: Antec Kuhler H2O 620 Liquid CPU Cooler System
    Last edited by pixelman; 11-07-2012 at 08:31 PM. Reason: corrent spelling

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,218

    icmp.dll errors indicate a registry problem, a virus or malware issue or even a hardware failure. What were you trying to open or install when you got/get this error?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    icmp.dll errors indicate a registry problem, a virus or malware issue or even a hardware failure. What were you trying to open or install when you got/get this error?
    Thanks for responding. When it has occurred I have been working in some application. I started a log to keep track of the specific applications since my memory is hazy on which ones. I do know it has been a few. Not suring any software or hardware installs that I recall. Does the name of the error box "AsFTP" offer any insight at all into the origin? I did run my registry cleaner (CCleaner) and it did show some broken links to some DLLs but not the specific one.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,218

    Which AV system do you use? And it might be a good idea to run a malware scan of your system.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Colorado
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Which AV system do you use? And it might be a good idea to run a malware scan of your system.
    I am using the most up-to-date version of AVG. Do you recommend an additional malware program above this?

  6. #6
    ignorant Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ocala, Florida U.S.A.
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    712

    Run malware bytes and avast.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,218

    Not a big fan of AVG nor is that application a dedicated malware tool. Please do try malware bytes, it is a stand alone application that you can run to identify and remove those nasty things that your AVG might not even pick up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •