Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 71

Thread: Kingston HyperX 1866 PnP SODIMM Memory

  1. #61
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array JRd1st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts, US
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    2,225

    I will tomorrow.
    Read the User's Manual for more info.



    G74SX-A1 BIOS 203
    Intel 6230 WiFi/BT
    LG E2350 LED LCD Monitor
    Intel Series 510 120 GB SSD

    Drivers, Apps and How To's
    Latest nVidia Drivers

    JRd1st on DeviantArt.com

  2. #62
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    I still wonder if 4x4GB=16GB of that 1600MHz DDR3 Kingston PnP HyperX would actually be recognized? The 2nd Gen core i7 2630QM is rated to 1333, but 1600MHz isn't that much of an overclock for the SB memory controllers, which are very tough.
    I would just love it if ASUS released an opened up BIOS for our machines....

  3. #63
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array JRd1st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts, US
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    2,225

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    I still wonder if 4x4GB=16GB of that 1600MHz DDR3 Kingston PnP HyperX would actually be recognized? The 2nd Gen core i7 2630QM is rated to 1333, but 1600MHz isn't that much of an overclock for the SB memory controllers, which are very tough.
    I would just love it if ASUS released an opened up BIOS for our machines....
    I already brought up the subject to gary_key through a pm and he says he's waiting for an answer from Engineering. Perhaps if enough people bother him he'll push harder.

    BTW, that RAM memtested ok. It's just the BIOS putting the kibash on 1866. Maybe 1600 works better but I wouldn't count on 4 working at that speed.
    Read the User's Manual for more info.



    G74SX-A1 BIOS 203
    Intel 6230 WiFi/BT
    LG E2350 LED LCD Monitor
    Intel Series 510 120 GB SSD

    Drivers, Apps and How To's
    Latest nVidia Drivers

    JRd1st on DeviantArt.com

  4. #64
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Well I hope they do something soon. I ordered 16GB of the Kingston, installed and found it not recognized. I'll lose my butt returning 8GB. I wanted all 16 to avoid any virtual memory on drive. If it can work in the G73 series there should be no reason not to work in the G74 series!! This is the ONLY issue I have with this laptop! I love it. SSD and a hybrid data drive all I needed to tweak it was the 16GB to operate at full speed.

    Next upgrade if the RAM issue is settled is the Seagate Momentus XT 750 GB 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s 32 MB Cache 2.5 Inch Solid State Hybrid Drive ST750LX003. The only item I am missing is the 3D 120mhz refresh screen.

  5. #65
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array JRd1st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts, US
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    2,225

    You shouldn't get rid of your page file no matter how much RAM you have. In fact more RAM requires more pagefile. According to MS the pagefile should be size of RAM + 300MB.

    I don't see any reason for MS to lie about this, I mean why would MS want us to use diskspace for no reason?
    Read the User's Manual for more info.



    G74SX-A1 BIOS 203
    Intel 6230 WiFi/BT
    LG E2350 LED LCD Monitor
    Intel Series 510 120 GB SSD

    Drivers, Apps and How To's
    Latest nVidia Drivers

    JRd1st on DeviantArt.com

  6. #66
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Haven't had a page file since I got my 16Gs. Windows has never BSODed, nor thrashed around, but granted I don't push it too hard either (Windows has a history of spinning itself out of control sometimes even with its own background processes, so I've learned never to rely on it too much for stability, even with alot of RAM).
    Last edited by fostert; 12-09-2011 at 04:37 AM.

  7. #67
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Alberta
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I apologize for opening an old topic but figured I'd post my findings here.

    I just received 2 sets of Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB). These are set to run at 1600MHz but my G74-SX only recognizes 1333MHz. Does anyone know if ASUS plans to release a new BIOS soon so we can take advantage of new hardware like this?

  8. #68
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Quote Originally Posted by bsawchuk View Post
    I apologize for opening an old topic but figured I'd post my findings here.

    I just received 2 sets of Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB). These are set to run at 1600MHz but my G74-SX only recognizes 1333MHz. Does anyone know if ASUS plans to release a new BIOS soon so we can take advantage of new hardware like this?
    This is has been discussed a lot, and many users are hoping for such a BIOS update. But unfortunately, Asus doesn't offer any guidance on what they're developing, if anything.

    I'd love to see a G74 BIOS update that addresses a few issues that come up frequently, but honestly, I'm not very hopeful. They don't have a great track record on model support, especially as they prepare to release new models. But we can keep our fingers crossed, I guess.

  9. #69
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    @bsawchuk: can you run memtest86+ please? I'd like to know what the SPD timing info is being read as by the BIOS.

    What are your normal specs on those sticks? (i.e. 9-9-9-24, or ...)

    I am suspicious that the BIOS is reading the timings wrong (i.e. CL6, instead of 9), and then compensating by downclocking the clock speeds on the sticks.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  10. #70
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Alberta
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Sorry for the delay, I will run the test and let you know the results.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Max memory G73JH
    By iPhone4xViRuS in forum Older G Series Notebooks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-11-2014, 04:12 PM
  2. G73Sw tested with Kingston's new Plug N Play Hyper X
    By Brian@ASUS in forum Older G Series Notebooks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-31-2011, 01:11 AM
  3. LF Laptop Memory
    By Cody_Irwin in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-08-2011, 11:55 PM
  4. Trying to get memory to speed up. how?!
    By LigerQ4 in forum Crossblade (A88X) & Crosshair (990FX) Motherboards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 02:48 AM
  5. Memory Help!
    By Coamex in forum Rampage IV and Older Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2010, 05:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •