Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: WIndows 8 Dynamic Ticks Freezing issue

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    19

    WIndows 8 Dynamic Ticks Freezing issue

    Hello,

    A lot of people have been reporting windows 8 will freeze up randomly.

    Its been happening to me especially when using a web browser or when my computer idles a few hours. Ill come back its frozen and Ill have to hit the reset button.

    All my drivers are up to date etc etc

    I read up and was told it was an issue with Windows 8 Dynamic Ticks and the processor.

    http://www.withinwindows.com/2012/06...eezing-issues/

    I was told to input the following command to disable dynamick ticks. I am going to try that as well tonight and see if it fixes it.

    bcdedit /set disabledynamictick yes

    have to enter it in command prompt with admin privlidges (gotta right click cmd.exe and run as admin)


    Some people have said that it was fixed for them when they upgraded their Mobo's BIOS. Ive got the last version of the Rampage IV BIOS but not the very latest. I plan to upgrade tomorrow.

    I have a 3930K and the Rampage IV. Win 8 PRO

    Has anyone else heard about this issue with Windows 8. Its been around since Developer preview and Im running the retail release of 8 professional.

    Im surprised Microsoft has not fixed it yet.

    Thanks

    Anyone know if the latest BIOS will fix it?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Reputation
    250
    Posts
    4,295

    No the latest UEFI won't fix it because it's not related. The issue is on Microsoft's side and a bad implementation of a bad idea. I've been recommending anyone on Win8 to disable dynamic tick for a few months now (just search for dynamic tick on this forum alone ).

    The feature in itself is useless. It is supposed to "stop" the clock while the PC is idlying, in order to save power. The power you can actually save by doing so is laughable which makes this feature a joke for desktop computers (now for mobile devices it's another story and mobile applications will probably be built with dynamic tick in mind) . The reason why it's not working properly is because of what it is supposed to do. A great many deal of applications and drivers actualy depend on an accurate clock and "stopping" the clock kind of breaks that accuracy causing a gazzilion of problems. Forget fixing the damn thing and just disable it.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Juanlo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Spain
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    169

    If the metro interface wasn't enough, now we get this. Why doesn't Microsoft simply disable these features by default on desktop computers, and leave them only for mobile devices?
    Intel i7 3930K C2 / Phanteks TC14 Premium
    Asus Rampage IV Formula (3204 BIOS) / 32 GB G.Skill RipjawsZ DDR3 2133 Quad Channel
    Corsair Force GT 60 GB SATA3 / WD Caviar Black 2 TB
    3 x Radeon 7970 on 3 x Benq XL2420T (EyeFinity 5760x1080 @ 120Hz)
    Onkyo TX-NR709 Receiver / KEF KHT 2005.3 Speakers / Westone 3 EarPhones

  4. #4
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Reputation
    250
    Posts
    4,295

    Quote Originally Posted by Juanlo View Post
    If the metro interface wasn't enough, now we get this. Why doesn't Microsoft simply disable these features by default on desktop computers, and leave them only for mobile devices?
    Amen to that!
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    784

    What do you mean by stopping the clock? I run windows 8 pro and leave my system on over night come back and shes good to go.
    Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.3Ghz
    ASUS Rampage V Extreme
    EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360/PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
    3x Cooler Master: Excalibur, 2x Corsair SP120 High Performance
    G.skill 16GB (4GBx4) DDR4-3000 F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    SLI EVGA GeForce GTX 780 TI SC With EK Full Cover VGA Block / BackPlate
    RAID0 Samsung 840 pro 256 SSD, Samsung 840 evo 512 SSD
    Asus ROG Xonar Phoebus
    Corsair Carbide Air 540
    Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Asus ROG Swift G-Sync

  6. #6
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Reputation
    250
    Posts
    4,295

    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    had lot of problems with my plextor M3P ssd (been freezing every few seonds), took forever to install win8 (it worked like a scharm with win7)
    Replaced it with a samsung830 and everything was fine
    Went back to win7 because of some other issues i had (software related)

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    I thought this issue was fixed for RTM. I saw the problem in most of the pre-release builds, but it stopped happening for me when RTM came out, and I haven't touched that setting on any of my machines and it't been fine. The release preview would freeze almost daily until I disabled it though.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Reputation
    250
    Posts
    4,295

    They probably have fixed some issues pertaining to interal OS mechanics. They can't fix 3rd party drivers and software that can't work properly with it. Even if you are not actively "seeing" a problem, there could be one under the hood. On my development rig, I can see the effect of the "feature" in WDK metrics...
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    19

    Bah Humbug...

    Read the dump files. Seems to always point to the hal.dll and an NT dll file (its late don't remember the other name)
    Multiple crashes and freezes on a clean install with all Windows 8 supported drivers and updates.

    It was nice to try it out but I am now typing this from a beautiful stable Win 7 Pro system once again.

    Ill give win 8 a year or two to get its act together and see what happens.

    Thanks for the help guys/gals
    Last edited by jpsgaming; 11-22-2012 at 08:41 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •