+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 48

Thread: "Can't connect to this Network"

  1. #1
    New ROGer deeptg +10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20

    Unhappy "Can't connect to this Network"

    Hi,
    I bought an Asus G75vw couple days back with windows 8. Everything was working fine except that i couldn't connect to my wireless router. It had a WEP encryption. After I entered the Network Security key, I Kept on getting "Can't connect to this network", troubleshooting didnt help either. Then I updated all drivers from Asus support website and it connected after a restart. I was quite delighted but the next day again i got the "cant connect to this network" message. So I changed my encryption to WPA2-PSK (AES) and even updated the firmware of my router. Still no luck. I have googled around a lot but couldnt find any proper solution.
    Please please please help me out with this, Im getting really frustrated

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt SUKARA@ASUS +20
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    878

    Could you plesae help to use another device connect this WL router?(EX: Tablet pc& Mobile.....) have any probelm?

  3. #3
    New ROGer deeptg +10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20

    Unhappy

    Im pretty sure the router works fine. My Android phone and my bros Iphone connect to it properly. Even my dads dell inspiron and bros vaio. Those laptops are windows 7 though.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt dstrakele +75 dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,437

    What version WiFi driver is reported in use by Device Manager? Most folks reporting WiFi connection issues have resolved them with a more recent Atheros driver than available on the ASUS website.

    Deleting your current WiFi network settings in Windows and recreating them by connecting to your Router is something else you can try.
    Last edited by dstrakele; 11-26-2012 at 12:31 PM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt rewben +150 rewben +150
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,171

    or, is it a case of insufficient ip address assignment via dhcp?

  6. #6
    New ROGer deeptg +10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20

    I think its a problem with Qualcomm Atheros AR9485WB-EG Wireless Network Adapter (This is what device manager shows i have) . I try updating and it says I already have the latest version. I dunno how long i'll have to wait for an official update that corrects this flaw.
    Funny thing is, I go to Device Manager-> Network Adapters -> right click on Qualcomm Atheros AR9485WB-EG Wireless Network Adapter and select uninstall, it asks me if i want to delete driver files, i click yes. and a red X mark comes on my network icon saying no device found, I restart my system and the stupid Qualcomm Atheros AR9485WB-EG Wireless Network Adapter is still there!!! I just uninstalled it and it still shows its there! This thing is driving me crazy !

    i have already tried deleting the wifi settings etc, no luck

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt rewben +150 rewben +150
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,171

    can you try this one? it's working for me. there is an option that allows you to uninstall the previous version. use it to remove it first, reboot, and then restart the installation.

    good luck.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt dstrakele +75 dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,437

    When you attempt the installation of the Atheros driver, choose to follow @rewben's advice rather than attempting to install the driver through Device Manager. I also recommend booting into Windows Safe Mode for the installation to disable other running drivers (such as Antivirus) that may interfere with your WiFi driver installation.

    When you uninstall the driver and restart Windows, it detects the WiFi card and installs its Plug-N-Play driver.
    Last edited by dstrakele; 11-26-2012 at 02:57 PM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Black Belt rewben +150 rewben +150
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,171

    this is what i got after the installation:

    atheros_wifi_209.jpg

    for me it's working; using WPA2-Personal/AES; power management turned off.

    edit: for you it should be 216 (windows 8), instead of 209 (windows 7). if this is not working for you, there is another newer version; but that version i haven't test yet.
    Last edited by rewben; 11-26-2012 at 03:25 PM.

  10. #10
    Recognized Troll Quasimodem +20 Quasimodem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    310

    Windows 8 does not support old WEP encryption... Change your router to WPA2-PSK, and forgot the old network before connecting... Windows 8 doesn't have a 'Manage Wireless Networks' like 7 did, it may be difficult to forget, with the built-in WiFi manager you can only forget a network you're connected to, or possibly all networks like in 7... Click the WiFi icon by the clock, right click your network, and look for 'Forget this network'... If it's not possible to forget it, try changing to a unique SSID, and connecting to that, making Windows 8 have fresh settings for the newly created network...
    Last edited by Quasimodem; 11-26-2012 at 03:33 PM.

    G75VW-DS73-3D | 670m 3GB | 32GB RAM | 1TB RAID-0 2 x 830 512GB SSD DualBoot | Killer-N 1103 WiFi


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts