+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: A2 on new RIVE please help

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt tatmMRKIV +10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    227

    A2 on new RIVE please help

    so if you know the error codes front and back then you know what that means, but if not I am having a boot drive error. (also cpu cooler supposedly but i remember hearing this is an issue with the h100)

    anyways i thought it was disc drive because no matter how many times i hit the eject button it wouldnt work but i unplugged that and got the same s i kept unplugging devicesand plugging in new ones to no avail\

    so you see me hear lease help me i just want to use my fancy new RIVE

    I cant get passed the error screen and when i do it says insert boot media or select drive and the memorex 800b bluraydisc drivewont open up the tray

    i did everything i knew how to do so I came here


    PLEASE HELP

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Necrosan +30
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    655

    Did you plug the power cable for the Blu-Ray drive in?
    It should open regardless of whether the SATA cable is even plugged in as long as it has power.

    You should have no errors at all using your H100 with your RIVE.
    You did plug the power cable for the pump in (molex) along with the 3-pin cord to the CPU_FAN port in addition to plugging the fans for the H100 into the pump?
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Core i7 4930K (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt tatmMRKIV +10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    227

    yeah the light on the drive lights up says its DMA enabled if the board isnt it might not be compatible i literally bought the drive last night

    and i plugged it into the cpu opt next to the start reset buttons right?


    memorex MRX-800L bluray enabled DMA support
    here are components.. and what else would be making the cpu cooler fail
    3930k
    h100

    ASUS GTX680-DC2O-2GD5 GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
    COOLER MASTER HAF X RC-942-KKN1 Black Steel/ Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case
    Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM001 2TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Driv
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL
    Antec TPQ-1200 1200W Continuous Power with PowerCache Technology SLI Ready CrossFire Certified 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular ...
    SAMSUNG 840 Series MZ-7TD250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Necrosan +30
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    655

    So the drive won't open at all? Try unplugging the SATA cable and see if it does.
    If it won't open at all you may have a DOA drive - I'd exchange it if it will not open at all. (I also had a brand new Blu-Ray drive fail within a day, so not too out of the ordinary to get a DOA one.)

    You have the H100 plug in the wrong socket - it needs to be plugged into the one next to the 8-pin auxiliary power connector labeled "CPU_FAN"
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Core i7 4930K (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt tatmMRKIV +10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    227

    i have an AE error now with the cpu fan in the right spot

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt tatmMRKIV +10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    227

    thats a legacy boot event.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt tatmMRKIV +10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    227

    ok i put the disc drive on another power cable and it works but n0ow i get a message saying specify boot drive or insert boot media, now i put vista os disc in but that message still pops up

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt HalloweenWeed +75 HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Maine, USA
    Posts
    1,466

    Well where the H100 feedback wire is plugged in is not going to prevent the mobo from booting, and I think he said he tried unplugging the BR drive and got the same result? Anyway, tatmMRKIV you need to have SATA set to ACHI for them drives to work, and where is it plugged in? You want it plugged in to one of the Black Intel (3GB) SATA ports, the Red ones require the Asmedia drivers (in Windows) and must be enabled in BIOS to work (but this wouldn't prevent POST from finishing either).

    It's actually more likely that your prob is memory setting in the BIOS. Did you press the clear CMOS button before your 1st boot? No matter, do it now, with the computer off but PSU on. Hold it down for 5sec. When you get into BIOS set Ai overclock tuner to XMP, THEN set your memory speed to 1600. Also set your DRAM V (both) to your mfg. spec. Voltage.

    Legacy boot event: Could that be related to the Legacy USB setting in the BIOS? Leave USB legacy support enabled. Let us know how it goes.
    Last edited by HalloweenWeed; 11-27-2012 at 06:48 PM.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt HalloweenWeed +75 HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Maine, USA
    Posts
    1,466

    Also, what LEDs are on when the POST stops?
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt tatmMRKIV +10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    227

    thanks now with xmp its installing windows

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts