+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: Very High Temps with 3770k on custom water loop

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast CRYOG3NIC +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    31

    Very High Temps with 3770k on custom water loop

    I am experiences extremely high temps 95c using a stock 3770k under a custom water cooled loop. Stress testing with prime 95. Max core at 95c others at 88 to 90.

    The loop flow is as follows:
    ek 240 res - ek 3.2 mcp 35x pump - hydro copper gtx 680 gpu - ek120 rad - mosfet - cpu - black ice stealth gt 360 rad - res

    Fans are the corsair AF120s in a push config.

    ek supremacy block

    All nicely tucked in a corsair 800d I do have pics if anyone needs to look at the setup.
    Last edited by CRYOG3NIC; 12-11-2012 at 03:53 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Bodhi: Orion's belt Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the gutter but looking at the stars
    Posts
    8,629

    Hey CRYOG3NIC.

    Nice one for the new thread

    A question also re. voltage. What voltage is the CPU getting at stock. Temps without voltage don't mean much

    A pic is always useful so we can see how much tubing/what sort of fittings etc. Those temps are high! But seeing your full loop I can't help but wonder if that is a lot of restriction for a smalish pump and so temps were never going to be great. Flow rate is important in that a good flow rate will mean you can pretty much forget order in your loop and still get good temps. Every item in the loop ads restriction and if you have any 90 degree fittings thise will add more which will mean your temperatures will rise across blocks much more. As the other guys have suggested your Blackice RAD will also need some fans that not only have a high CFM value but a high static pressure to go with it.

    Having said that those temps are high enough to make me wonder if you have good contact between CPU and block? the inlet and outlet on the block mixed up or some partial blockage in the loop. Do you have clear tubing can you see flow by way of bubbles etc in the loop?
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 12-11-2012 at 04:08 PM.

    Phobya Bench Table / Rampage IV Black Edition / i7 4930K Stock - 4.9GHz / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 CMD16GX3M4A2133C9
    ASUS GTX Titan Black or ASUS Matrix Platinum R9 290X / ASUS Xonar Essence STX
    1x OCZ Vector 150 240GB, 2x OCZ Vertex 3 240GB, 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB
    Custom loop: EK Supremacy Full EN /EK-FC BLOCK for TI/TITAN / 2x EK Coolstream XTX 360
    Dual D5 Varios with EK D5 X-Tops / EK- RES X3 400
    Dell U2711


  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast CRYOG3NIC +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    31

    Alright well I think I may have just solved it looking at a picture i had taken and referencing the user manual for the block and sure enough the inlet and outlets are reversed.... So rookie mistake I will be doing a tedious drain and swapping those and will post results when I have them... I appreciate it man. First build with water cooling and I'm learning a lot. Mostly what not to do, haha

  4. #4
    ROG Bodhi: Orion's belt Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the gutter but looking at the stars
    Posts
    8,629

    Quote Originally Posted by CRYOG3NIC View Post
    I'm learning a lot. Mostly what not to do, haha
    Hahaha.....none of us are strangers to that way of learning! let us know how much difference it makes...

    Phobya Bench Table / Rampage IV Black Edition / i7 4930K Stock - 4.9GHz / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 CMD16GX3M4A2133C9
    ASUS GTX Titan Black or ASUS Matrix Platinum R9 290X / ASUS Xonar Essence STX
    1x OCZ Vector 150 240GB, 2x OCZ Vertex 3 240GB, 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB
    Custom loop: EK Supremacy Full EN /EK-FC BLOCK for TI/TITAN / 2x EK Coolstream XTX 360
    Dual D5 Varios with EK D5 X-Tops / EK- RES X3 400
    Dell U2711


  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast CRYOG3NIC +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    31

    IMAG0013.jpgIMAG0014.jpg

    two quick pictures for reference

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast CRYOG3NIC +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    31

    Attachment 14820Attachment 14821

    two quick pictures for reference

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast CRYOG3NIC +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    31

    Alright good news, drained it, redid the loop to have the 360 rad in front of the cpu, switch in port with out port, ran my 5 hour leak test, booted up, went into bios, the vcore was set to 1.45 even though i had reset to optimized defaults "could also have been the problem" cleared cmos, booted back up and ran prime, hottest core was 51c.... Thanks Arne

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast DerStig +10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    45

    The pump is incredibly important in these loops. I have my loop in this order - Pump -> GPU -> MOBO -> CPU -> Rad -> Res. As you can see, my CPU is the last thing and it gets all the warm water. But because I use a EK-D5 dual pump, it doesn't matter which order I put my components in (before it was completely opposite and CPU was first), the temps don't change. I think the most important investment to make when building a water cooled PC is to get a good pump.

  9. #9
    ROG Bodhi: Orion's belt Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm +300 Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    In the gutter but looking at the stars
    Posts
    8,629

    Quote Originally Posted by CRYOG3NIC View Post
    "could also have been the problem" cleared cmos, booted back up and ran prime, hottest core was 51c...
    Yeah! that's more like it! Good stuff! That's a nice looking (and now working) rig you have there!

    Phobya Bench Table / Rampage IV Black Edition / i7 4930K Stock - 4.9GHz / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 CMD16GX3M4A2133C9
    ASUS GTX Titan Black or ASUS Matrix Platinum R9 290X / ASUS Xonar Essence STX
    1x OCZ Vector 150 240GB, 2x OCZ Vertex 3 240GB, 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB
    Custom loop: EK Supremacy Full EN /EK-FC BLOCK for TI/TITAN / 2x EK Coolstream XTX 360
    Dual D5 Varios with EK D5 X-Tops / EK- RES X3 400
    Dell U2711


  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast CRYOG3NIC +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    31

    DerStig I totally understand the D5's are nice pumps, i figured with my setup and only having one GPU in the loop that the mcp 35x would do the trick, now Arne I did some overclocking last night and reached a stable 4.8ghz on the 3770k with a 1.375 vcore and a 1.7 PLL, might try to lower vcore and raise PLL slightly tonight after work, but so far so good, ran prime for 3 hours, hottest core was 77c. I will note the fans with a higher static pressure could lower the temps even more which would allow me to hit 5ghz keeping the temps below 80c. I won't know till I recieve them in the mail. But for now all seems good.

    A couple more quick questions - as you can see from my picture the fluid levels in the res are slightly low, does the hurt or not effect temp or flow?
    - Also with this particular motherboard, i updated the bios to the latest and ever since I did that when i restart the computer or boot up from being powered off it will automatically load into the bios everytime, even when I set the first boot priority to my ssd windows drive. So I don't know if there is a setting or if I have a faulty bios?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts