Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Best method for updating BIOS?

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    41

    Best method for updating BIOS?

    Hello,

    I am wondering what is the best method for updating BIOS?
    via OS
    via BIOS
    via DOS

    and is it better to restore optimize defaults before updating, or it does not make any difference?
    If the recommended method was via USB flash drive. Is there a specific file system type required? (i.e: FAT or NTFS).

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
    Reputation
    163
    Posts
    7,970

    The best method is to use a USB stick... you need a smaller (1-2GB max) stick formatted as FAT32...

    What's your mobo? You can search on stickies for guides in respective sections of this Forum...

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    30

    Via BIOS. Load Optimized Defaults AFTER flashing. I used NTFS 6.0, the same USB stick I have Windows 8 installation files on.
    CRO AIR SLI ROG RIG:
    PCMark 7: 6671 3DMark 11: P16718, X6969

    MBo: Asus Maximus V Formula CPU: Intel i7-3770k (@4.6GHz)
    RAM: Corsair Dominator GT (4x 4GB 2133MHz 9-11-10-27-1T)
    GPU: 2x Asus GTX 680 DirectCU II OC in SLI (@1200MHz)
    SSD: 2x Corsair Force GT 240 in RAID0
    PSU: Corsair AX1200 Cha: Lian Li X500FX
    Coo: Prolimatech Armageddon Fan: 5x Prolimatech Vortex Aluminium

    Mon: LG IPS235V Cam: Logitech C920 Spk: Logitech Z906
    Kbd: SteelSeries 6Gv2 Mou: Cyborg R.A.T. 7 Mat: Razer Sphex

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
    Reputation
    163
    Posts
    7,970

    Yeah, I use to do F5 both before and after...

    However, I would advise to have only the BIOS file on the FAT32 formatted USB stick... - I'm not saying that could not work otherwise, just there are some unnecessary risks...

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    41

    Thanks for the replies.

    I have ASUS Maximus V Extreme.

    What do you guys think about updating using DOS?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
    Reputation
    163
    Posts
    7,970

    May I ask why do you want to flash the BIOS? Is there something wrong with it?

    Also, why do you want to flash it through DOS?

    Here is a video showing how to do it - it's simple and easy: http://rog.asus.com/technology/repub...ios-flashback/

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    41

    Yeah, whenever I set Turbo ratio to lets say 46.. save setting and exit. Once I boot up, I load up CPU-Z I see core clock still 3.8ghz.

    I restart, enter bios and turbo ratio is still 46

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
    Reputation
    163
    Posts
    7,970

    What if you're loading your CPU? Leave the CPU-Z open at the CPU tab and start some stressing application - will still stay at 3.8GHz?

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    41

    Yes, exactly...

  10. #10

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •