+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 57

Thread: Some help with a new build...P9X79 Pro Q Code AF???

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt KenTanker0us +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    88

    Some help with a new build...P9X79 Pro Q Code AF???

    Hello friends, I'm having problems (again!!) with a P9X79 Pro build.

    The machine won't post. I'm getting a Q Code 'AF' which the manual tells me is an 'exit boot services event'. What the hell does that mean??

    Here's what I'm using:

    OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 128GB SATA III 6 Gbps for my system drive (NEW)

    P9X79 Pro just received from ASUS (RMA)

    Intel i7 3820 CPU (NEW)

    CoolerMaster Hyper 212 CPU Cooler (NEW)

    Corsair AX 750 PSU

    ASUS DVD ROM


    1 stick of Corsair Vengeance ram (I tried swapping in a Gskill Ripjawz that I know is good (it's in this machine I'm typing on) but it didn't change anything.)

    GeForce 8800 GTX



    Does anybody know what this Q Code represents? I've been very careful with this build and I can't imagine what's wrong.

    Thanks very much for any help you can give!!
    Last edited by KenTanker0us; 01-30-2013 at 08:10 PM.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt KenTanker0us +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    88

    Thanks for responding. Yes, the DRAM LED is constantly lit.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Chino +200 Chino +200 Chino +200
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6,044

    Ok. I need you to check 2 things for me.

    1. Look on the long sticker that's on your motherboard. Post the last 4 digits that you see.

    and

    2. Look on the box that your i7 3820 came in. See if it's the M0 or M1 stepping.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt KenTanker0us +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    88

    The last 4 digits of the serial number are 000E. (I think they are zeros). I've gone over every inch of the box the CPU came in and I can find no evidence of M0 or M1 anyplace. Might this info be listed someplace else?

    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt KenTanker0us +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    88

    Perhaps I should point out that this is a mobo that I just received from ASUS via RMA. Is this info relevant?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Chino +200 Chino +200 Chino +200
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6,044

    Did you get those 4 digits from the thin white sticker with a bar code that's usually located along the edge and normally above the 24pin connector?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt KenTanker0us +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    88

    There is a thin sticker with barcode located on the 24pin conncector. Its last 4 digits are FDE3. Does this help?

    I was assuming you wanted the last 4 digits of the serial number. I should point out that, perhaps because this is an RMA mobo, there aren't the same stickers on the underside of the board I've seen on other P9X79 Pro boards. On this one there is only one sticker listing the place of manufacture and the serial number.


    Thanks for your help.
    Last edited by KenTanker0us; 01-31-2013 at 01:30 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt KenTanker0us +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    88

    Regarding stepping, I've been googling the model number of this CPU and I found this link

    http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-review-2.html

    that includes this text:

    "...that the i7-3820 is based on the different M1 stepping instead of C1 or C2..."
    ..so if this is accurate (?), it seems to be M1 stepping.

    I admit I don't know a whole lot about stepping; can I assume that all i7-3280 chips will be M1 stepping?

    (on edit) I also found this link:

    http://ark.intel.com/search?q=BX80619I73820

    which also indicates M1 stepping.
    Last edited by KenTanker0us; 01-31-2013 at 01:29 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Chino +200 Chino +200 Chino +200
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6,044

    Ok. Don't worry about it, mate. Try the following.

    1. Remove everything and disconnect everything from your motherboard.
    2. Take out the battery.
    3. Wait for 5 minutes.
    4. Put the battery back into place.
    5. Insert your CPU and the stock heatsink.
    6. Insert one stick of RAM (The Gskill preferably) into the DIMM_D1 slot.
    7. Insert your GPU.
    8. Connect only the power cables to your motherboard (24pin and 8 pin) and to your GPU.
    9. Power on the motherboard using the Power on switch.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts