Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Fixing TwinTurbo issues

  1. #1
    TeamROG ADMIN Array Brian@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA, Fremont
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    1,643

    Fixing TwinTurbo issues

    Some of you have reported that twinturbo does not work. Here is the fix:

    Opened Command Prompt with Administrator rights and enter this:



    You can undo by entering:



    From the benchmarks i tested off vantage, you can see the performance difference after this fix.

    Before fix, twinturbo function would get lower benchmark scores:
    false normal mode.jpg
    vs
    false turbo mode.jpg

    After fix, twinturbo is functioning properly:
    true normal mode.jpg
    vs
    true turbo mode.jpg

    This has been tested on the G73Jh and should work for other models that have the turbo option. please let me know if you have had success with this fix and post some screen shots with your model here to further validate the fix.

    Why does this occur? Windows 7 systems by default use the Time Stamp Counter (TSC), rather than the High Precision Event Timer (HPET) as the default timer during program execution. We are essentially enabling the HPET
    ASUS is pronounced "Ay-SOOS"
    ROG should be pronounced "R - O - G"

    Become a fan of our facebook: www.facebook.com/ASUS







  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array jorlanm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mssion Viejo
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    314

    I typed this on an G73sw-3DE it accepted it. Will it do anything to it?
    -ASUS ROG G73SW-3DE-
    -Intel Core i7-2630QM Mobile Quad Processor
    -Intel HM65 Express Chipset +ICH10
    -17.3" 1920x1080 120Hz Anti-Glare Matte Screen
    -nVidia GeForce GTX 460m 1.5GB GDDR5 VRAM
    -nVidia 3D Vision Active Shutter Glasses
    -Creative EAX Advanced HD 5.0
    -THX TruStudio
    -8GB DDR3 1333MHz RAM (Max 32GB)
    -2x500 Seagate Momentous XT Hybrid HDD
    -Blu-Ray 4x Burner
    -Logitech Performance MX Darkfield Laser Mice
    -Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate

    -XBOX360, PS3, Wii

  3. #3
    TeamROG ADMIN Array Brian@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA, Fremont
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    1,643

    you should do some benchmarks to compare before and after. turbo off and on. then compare it to turbo on and off after the platformclock is on.
    ASUS is pronounced "Ay-SOOS"
    ROG should be pronounced "R - O - G"

    Become a fan of our facebook: www.facebook.com/ASUS







  4. #4
    TeamROG Notebook Member Array Chastity@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    California
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    1,334

    This is primarily for 1st gen i7 people. No reason for 2nd Gen (SandyBridge) folks, but no harm doing this either. SW/SX folks don't have a TwinTurbo option. Too bad.
    Kicking Ass Since Today

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    i have g73jh-tz091v...i would love to now do i have turbo mode or not? Can anyone say something?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Josea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    77

    Bonus, if you have the ATK package installed and power4gear installed, press the middle of the 3 buttons decicated buttons, you should see it come on or off onscreen. As Brian noted, the only way to know for sure it is increasing performance is to benchmark before and after doing the fix. From what I read it only gives a modest clock boost, If you want more OC on CPU you will need other tools installed, http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/
    I am not advocating this (sefsb) BTW

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    yes after i loade this softwares everything is working working.Thank you....

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array TheOriginalTO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    136

    What settings do you use in 3dmark, all my numbers came up, but my score was 0 for some reason...
    You Heard It From - ']['he (())riginal - ']['.(()).

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Poland, Cracow
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by TheOriginalTO View Post
    What settings do you use in 3dmark, all my numbers came up, but my score was 0 for some reason...
    The Performance preset should work the best.


  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany / USA
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    My results seem to contradict yours.

    Test Machine:
    g73jh with i720, HD5870 and 8 gigs ddr3 1333
    Cat version 11.8 early preview
    Win 7 hp x64
    benchmark 3DMark 11 Basic


    test 1:
    Twinturbo off, timer = TSC (default), no overclocking
    RESULTS Click Me (3DMark Score P2233 - Physics Score 3781)

    test 2:
    Twinturbo on, timer = TSC (default), no overclocking
    RESULTS Click Me (3DMark Score P2242 - Physics Score 3936)

    test 3:
    Twinturbo off, timer = HPET (fix), no overclocking
    RESULTS Click Me (3DMark Score P2222 - Physics Score 3592)

    test 4:
    Twinturbo on, timer = HPET (fix), no overclocking
    RESULTS Click Me (3DMark Score P2229 - Physics Score 3724)

    test 5:
    Twinturbo on, timer = HPET (fix), GPU overclocked to 800/1100MHz & CPU overclocked by editing pll registries with setfsb (1755MHz on all 4 cores with full load)
    RESULTS Click Me (3DMark Score P2490 - Physics Score 3828)

    test 6:
    Twinturbo off, timer = TSC (default), GPU overclocked to 800/1100MHz & CPU overclocked by editing pll registries with setfsb (1755MHz on all 4 cores with full load)
    RESULTS Click Me (3DMark Score P2495 - Physics Score 3944)

    As seen here by my results the best performance is obtained by leaving TT off, the timers on the normal TSC, GPU @ 800/1100MHz and CPU overclocked via increased blck. Although it only gave a 5 point improvement in total score 2490 < 2495 it gave a 116 point increase in physics (cpu) score 3944 > 3828.

    I am aware that some people mainly setfsb users are experiencing timing issues and if that is the case changing to HPET timing might help. As for me and I will assume other people who have the same rig and are not experiencing sync issues IMO it is better to leave the timer alone and forget about Asus TT.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fixing driver issues after crash
    By talk2nate in forum Older G Series Notebooks
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-29-2014, 08:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •