Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: G75VW, How to boot from CD?

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    G75VW, How to boot from CD?

    I managed to get into the BIOS but don't see any easy settings to allow boot from CD? Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    HARDCORE ROG Array TokoDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Holland
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    228

    Bios-->Boot and you see it.

    Or read/look at this:

    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixthe...erchange_3.htm
    G75VW |Intel Core I7-3610QM |12GB RAM |GTX670M 3 GB |FULL HD | 526GB SSD | Samsung 840 EVO & 850 PRO


    STEAM ACCOUNT <------> TERA, Fate of Arun ---> TokoDude (KAIDUN)

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by TokoDude View Post
    Bios-->Boot and you see it.

    Or read/look at this:

    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixthe...erchange_3.htm
    That link looks alot like what I expected to find but my Bios->Boot menu loosk nothing like that

  4. #4
    Administrator Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    2,441

    is your cd-rom able to recognize in BIOS? if yes, please see the Boot iteam, and press + to set boot option priorities to first.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 8.1 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,226

    for older models (those with stock w7), you can just hit the esc key many times during boot and access the dvd-rom from the popup.

    for those that come with stock w8, you might wanna disable fast boot, enable launch csm, and disable secure boot in your bios first. then, restart your laptop and then do the same as above.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    for older models (those with stock w7), you can just hit the esc key many times during boot and access the dvd-rom from the popup.
    Thanks Rewben, that's how I eventually got to it. Weird that its not an option in the BIOS.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 8.1 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,226

    hey good to know; i think the laptop has a 'smart' way to determine whether it can be chosen as bootable or not. try insert a bootable media into the dvd-rom first and check if it's detected in the bios.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •