+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: G75VW, How to boot from CD?

  1. #1
    New ROGer PhotoGuy +10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3

    G75VW, How to boot from CD?

    I managed to get into the BIOS but don't see any easy settings to allow boot from CD? Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    HARDCORE ROG TokoDude +10 TokoDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    215

    Bios-->Boot and you see it.

    Or read/look at this:

    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixthe...erchange_3.htm
    G75VW| Intel Core I7-3610QM|12GB RAM|GTX670M 3 GB|FULL HD|LED Keyboard|256GB SSD| 1TB 5400 RPM|


    --->HARDCORE GAMER<----

  3. #3
    New ROGer PhotoGuy +10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by TokoDude View Post
    Bios-->Boot and you see it.

    Or read/look at this:

    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixthe...erchange_3.htm
    That link looks alot like what I expected to find but my Bios->Boot menu loosk nothing like that

  4. #4
    Administrator Pitcher@asus +10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,441

    is your cd-rom able to recognize in BIOS? if yes, please see the Boot iteam, and press + to set boot option priorities to first.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt rewben +150 rewben +150
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,171

    for older models (those with stock w7), you can just hit the esc key many times during boot and access the dvd-rom from the popup.

    for those that come with stock w8, you might wanna disable fast boot, enable launch csm, and disable secure boot in your bios first. then, restart your laptop and then do the same as above.

  6. #6
    New ROGer PhotoGuy +10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    for older models (those with stock w7), you can just hit the esc key many times during boot and access the dvd-rom from the popup.
    Thanks Rewben, that's how I eventually got to it. Weird that its not an option in the BIOS.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt rewben +150 rewben +150
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,171

    hey good to know; i think the laptop has a 'smart' way to determine whether it can be chosen as bootable or not. try insert a bootable media into the dvd-rom first and check if it's detected in the bios.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts