Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Shut down for no reason?

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Shut down for no reason?

    Hi, I bought a new system this winter, and it have worked just perfect until 3 days ago... Now it completely shuts down the whole pc and reboots for no reason what i can find... I have monitored all temperatures and voltages and that wokrs just fine.

    It's driving me nuts, one second i can use the pc at maximum and it can run just fine, but then i can open word, write a few letters and it shuts down again... I'm guessing there is a component, cause it have run on the same settings for 4 months and it's not until now it have begun to crash....
    How can i figure out what's causing the problem?

    Spec.
    asus rampage 4 formula
    i7 3930k
    geforce 680 oc
    G.skill 1800mhz
    watercooled...

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    MontherboardASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z
    ProcessorIntel 2600K
    Memory (part number)8GB G.Skill Trident
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX670
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Patriot PyroSE SSD
    CPU CoolerCustom WC loop
    CaseAntec Mini P180
    Power SupplyAntec Signature 650
    Keyboard Corsair K60
    Mouse Maurus X
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    5,205

    I would check the Windows event log for anything useful and try running everything at stock for a few days or however long the average occurrence interval is. Over time chips get old so even if it's not overheating it might require more voltage to achieve the same stable clock you had last year. Also you might run memtest86 to see if one or more of your modules has gone bad.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,208

    Do you have a AV application running and please do look at the even viewer to see what is causing this to happen.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    I would check the Windows event log for anything useful and try running everything at stock for a few days or however long the average occurrence interval is. Over time chips get old so even if it's not overheating it might require more voltage to achieve the same stable clock you had last year. Also you might run memtest86 to see if one or more of your modules has gone bad.
    The windows log event gets a few reports... First i get: kernel-power ID-41 for not shutting down the pc right and then I get: Event-log 6008 that tells me the pc shut down unexpected the minute of restarting... So i guess that isnt something to bother...
    I have run memtest like 1 week ago it was just fine...

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Do you have a AV application running and please do look at the even viewer to see what is causing this to happen.
    I do have av running in background, but it doesnt give me any error when it shuts down...

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,208

    Which AV do you have, and I might suggest that you run an stand alone scan. What you are describing sounds very much like a system that was brought to me recently and the shut down was causes by a virus. Worth doing as no AV is perfect they just make it harder....

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Which AV do you have, and I might suggest that you run an stand alone scan. What you are describing sounds very much like a system that was brought to me recently and the shut down was causes by a virus. Worth doing as no AV is perfect they just make it harder....
    You have a point there... I currently have Avg Internet Security pro (bought version) Running a scan now and will soon see if there is something..
    But wouldnt there be a more exact time between the shutdowns if it was a virus ?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Reputation
    256
    Posts
    25,208

    With a virus you never know do you...

  8. #8
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    MontherboardRampage IV Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 680 (Reference)
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 680 (Reference)
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Reputation
    250
    Posts
    4,302

    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamtool View Post
    But wouldnt there be a more exact time between the shutdowns if it was a virus ?
    That would only happen if the virus was scheduling a shutdown. There are so many ways (both intended and not) to trigger a shutdown programmatically.

    That said if it's not a virus it could a failing PSU or RAM related.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hmm, this is wierd... After the Scan of my pc for viruses, i found some tracking cookies but nothing to worry about... The pc continued to shut down for a few days, and now everything have just worked properly for several weeks... Rly strange that it just disappeared...

    (Sorry for the spelling, but i'm tired)^^

  10. #10
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    MontherboardRampage IV Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 680 (Reference)
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 680 (Reference)
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Reputation
    250
    Posts
    4,302

    You know this can also be caused by simple instability in the power network that feeds your home/office..sometimes voltage spikes happen in a power network..if it's a voltage drop it can shutdown devices..or you can see room lights flicker for a glimpse of a second.. If your system is fine now, then let it be..if it starts happening again, check your PSU!

    Don't worry about the spelling
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •