Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: Advise for FX-9590/9370 (Centurian) users on C5F-Z/Sabertooth 990FX R2.0

  1. #1
    Helium Chilled Array MarshallR@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ASUS HQ Taiwan
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    5,277

    Advise for FX-9590/9370 (Centurian) users on C5F-Z/Sabertooth 990FX R2.0

    AMD has validated the Crosshair V and Sabertooth 990FX as for use with its new FX 9590 and 9370 CPUs, however there is some advise we'd like to add for users upgrading (or even users running their FX-8350s at ~5GHz frequencies).

    1) You MUST plug in the 8pin and 4pin CPU 12V power plugs: they are there for this kind of usage! A 5GHz FX CPU will certainly draw over the 300W limit on the 8pin cable. If your PSU has good OCT it will simply cut out and your system will suffer hard-reboots. If not, it will likely melt poorly constructed PSUs with cheap wiring under extensive stress, unless your PSU is specifically fitted with heavy-gauge (lower AUG rating) wiring.

    2) Do not disable OCP if you're running 24/7, it will protect your CPU. If you're trying to run extreme voltage for benchmarking you will have to turn it off, but in that case we strongly recommend watercooling (or at least chilling) the VRMs.

    3) As you'd expect, when pulling close to 400W the VRMs run hot. At a minimum active cooling from direct case airflow is therefore a must (and watch those temps). Still, we strongly recommend watercooling the VRMs (EK does a good block) and do NOT loop CPU into VRMs: create two loops. When you consider your loops take into account the heat you're trying to shift: we advise looking at >1 large radiators and/or even a chiller system is maybe worth considering if you're running several high-power items together.

    Given the price of CPU and expected total system cost anyway, we don't feel it's unreasonable to match such a premium setup with the right hardware. After all, this is what extreme PCs are all about
    Last edited by MarshallR@ASUS; 07-16-2013 at 06:03 AM.


    Innovate. Never Imitate.
    When I get reeeally sad about missing someone far away, I just take a deep cleansing breath, then switch to the rifle with a scope.

  2. #2
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Victoria, Aus
    Reputation
    254
    Posts
    5,159

    Considering the 9590 is a higher binned 8350, I doubt we'll see too many systems here with one. I'd imagine the heat output as you already mentioned will be ridiculous. Good advice though about not looping VRM's with CPU
    MotherboardRampage IV Formula CPU3820 RAMCorsair XMS3 8GB 1600 VGAASUS 7970 Ref card SSD/OSCorsair Neutron 128GB HDD/DataSeagate 2TB CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha

    ROG Overclocking Education Center ||| ROG RealBench Tweaks & Tips

  3. #3
    Helium Chilled Array MarshallR@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ASUS HQ Taiwan
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    5,277

    5GHz FX8350 users should already know from experience to keep their VRMs cool, and I'm not sure how many run that frequency day-in-day-out


    Innovate. Never Imitate.
    When I get reeeally sad about missing someone far away, I just take a deep cleansing breath, then switch to the rifle with a scope.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array ganji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    worcester uk
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    901

    I don't plan on upgrading from my 8350 but have a question regarding the 4 pin for the cpu. On my Corsair Ax 850 it will either run multiple gpu's or use the 4pin for the cpu. So as i have a sli setup i can't connect the 4pin and wondered what peoples take on molex to 4pin adapters was?
    I've not had any experience with them and would usually avoid such a thing.
    Corsair Air 540 | Maximus VI Hero| i7 4770K| H100i push/pull | 8Gb HyperX Beast 2400 CL11|MSI GTX 780 Gaming OC x2 | Samsung 840 Evo 256Gb | OCZ Agility3 120Gb | Agility4 128Gb | Corsair AX 850,

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array ElectricKoolaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    i don't see an adapter being a problem. its only going to provide more available current, not voltage. but i'm not pro or anything.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Czech Rebuplic
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    362



    ...VRM is OK with some aircooler fan (of course watter could be better).

    But my FX-8350 is better than this FX-9590... 5GHz stable easy, there first ES Centurion not :-(
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, Intel i7-3930K. Coming to me on the way: Maximus V Formula (coming), AMD A10-5800K

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
    Reputation
    163
    Posts
    7,970

    Thank you Richard, that's a nice piece of info!

    I was just thinking to make a parallel loop and detach the CPU from the mobo loop... just a little bit concerned about the different restrictions/different flow... - but will see soon!

  8. #8
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Victoria, Aus
    Reputation
    254
    Posts
    5,159

    Here we go kids, the CPUs are available here for retail in Aus

    Click for 9370
    Click for 9590

    Rather amusing that AMD have followed in Intel's footsteps and provided the CPU's OEM style, with no cooler, not even with a CLC like they did for the 8150. You couldn't pay me enough to have one of those CPUs and the only way i'd ever have one, is if AMD gave me one...and we know this won't happen any time soon lol.
    MotherboardRampage IV Formula CPU3820 RAMCorsair XMS3 8GB 1600 VGAASUS 7970 Ref card SSD/OSCorsair Neutron 128GB HDD/DataSeagate 2TB CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha

    ROG Overclocking Education Center ||| ROG RealBench Tweaks & Tips

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
    Reputation
    163
    Posts
    7,970

    Myk, I thought that you switched to Intel...

  10. #10
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Victoria, Aus
    Reputation
    254
    Posts
    5,159

    Quote Originally Posted by Zka17 View Post
    Myk, I thought that you switched to Intel...
    I have a RIVF and a 3820(Engineering Sample) yes, this is true...but they are going on Shadow Bench when I finally manage to afford to get it built lol

    BTW, if anyone ever manages to find a Vector Image of this:


    PLEEEEEASE PM me at once. It's actually a really awesome Logo. i've already hit up AMD's Logo page, but the FX Logo only includes the little FX Unlocked bit...I want the whole thing
    Last edited by Myk SilentShadow; 07-16-2013 at 12:38 PM.
    MotherboardRampage IV Formula CPU3820 RAMCorsair XMS3 8GB 1600 VGAASUS 7970 Ref card SSD/OSCorsair Neutron 128GB HDD/DataSeagate 2TB CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha

    ROG Overclocking Education Center ||| ROG RealBench Tweaks & Tips

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •