Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: question on 1866 RAM

  1. #11
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jewie27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    106

    Quote Originally Posted by EVIL_CONSERVATIVE View Post
    Sick You can check out my settings (mainly voltages) timings may be slightly different with your GSKILL... Mine is running slightly over 1866 and very stable.
    As for chrsplmr - Ft. Bragg .. I went through initial jump school there in 1988 followed through with H.igh A.lditudue. L.ow O.pening Location Classified, Initial dive training and B.U.D.S. training Coranado Island Ca. in 89
    Semper Fi !
    HALO training is done in Arizona, it's no secret.
    New ROG PC built Nov 2011:
    Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
    Intel Core I5-2500K
    (2) EVGA GTX 580 Superclocked in SLI
    Corsair 600T
    Corsair H100 Liquid CPU Cooling
    Corsair AX1200 PSU
    Corsair Force 3 128GB SSD for boot drive
    8GB Red Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 Mhz 9-9-9-24
    1.5 TB Western Digital Caviar Black
    Asus 12x Blu-Ray Writer


    Built my first PC at age 12, Pentium III @ 450 Mhz.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    North of Montreal
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,277

    Quote Originally Posted by EVIL_CONSERVATIVE View Post
    S. went through initial jump school there in 1988 followed through with H.igh A.lditudue. L.ow O.pening Location Classified, Initial dive training and B.U.D.S. training Coranado Island Ca. in 89
    Semper Fi !
    If you have not survive the Z.O.N.E. it's means nothing

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Paradise
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    787

    Add another fan to that H50 for a push/pull config and watch your CPU temps go down.
    Intel i7 4790K@ 4.7GHz
    Corsair H90 Hydro
    ASUS Maximus VI Formula
    16GB G.Skill TridentX@ 2400MHz, 10-12-12-31
    SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 780 SC@ 1202/1215MHz
    RAID 0: 2x Samsung 840 (256GB) SSD
    Storage: Seagate 1TB 7200 RPM HDD
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    CM HAF 932 Advanced
    Win 7 H.P. x64 & Win 8.1 x64

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eugene
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    84

    it was my understanding that the x6 could not go past 1600mhz dram. i thought any thing past that would do nothing untill the bulldozer?

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Paradise
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    787

    Quote Originally Posted by mudkip View Post
    it was my understanding that the x6 could not go past 1600mhz dram. i thought any thing past that would do nothing untill the bulldozer?
    lol you're mis-informed, check out my sig.

    Just ordered 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-2133, will report back on how the Thuban X6 handles the set.
    Intel i7 4790K@ 4.7GHz
    Corsair H90 Hydro
    ASUS Maximus VI Formula
    16GB G.Skill TridentX@ 2400MHz, 10-12-12-31
    SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 780 SC@ 1202/1215MHz
    RAID 0: 2x Samsung 840 (256GB) SSD
    Storage: Seagate 1TB 7200 RPM HDD
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    CM HAF 932 Advanced
    Win 7 H.P. x64 & Win 8.1 x64

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array hax0rmort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Delaware
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    190

    OP, i have the same G.Skill RAM set as you, I'd be interested to know if you have been able to go above x234 on the FSB, or I'd welcome any tips on my current configuration from anyone. First post, thanks.
    -hax0rmort


    MOBO - ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula-Z // 2101
    CPU - AMD FX-9370 // 4813 MHz @ 1.512V
    RAM - 16GB G.Skill Sniper // 1866MHz 9-10-9-28 1.50V
    SSD1 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB // Boot
    SSD2 - OCZ Agility 3 120GB // Game
    GPUs - ASUS Radeon R9 290X x2 // Crossfire (8GB VRAM, wow!)
    COOLER - Corsair H100i CPU Water Cooling
    PSU - Corsair RM Series 1000W Gold PSU
    AUDIO - Creative Sound Blaster Z // SBX ProStudio
    CASE - NZXT H440 Red/Black

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Paradise
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    787

    Quote Originally Posted by hax0rmort View Post
    OP, i have the same G.Skill RAM set as you, I'd be interested to know if you have been able to go above x234 on the FSB, or I'd welcome any tips on my current configuration from anyone. First post, thanks.
    Just to be sure, exactly which set do you have?
    Intel i7 4790K@ 4.7GHz
    Corsair H90 Hydro
    ASUS Maximus VI Formula
    16GB G.Skill TridentX@ 2400MHz, 10-12-12-31
    SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 780 SC@ 1202/1215MHz
    RAID 0: 2x Samsung 840 (256GB) SSD
    Storage: Seagate 1TB 7200 RPM HDD
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    CM HAF 932 Advanced
    Win 7 H.P. x64 & Win 8.1 x64

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array hax0rmort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Delaware
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    190

    Nemesis, I have 4 each of G.Skill Sniper 1866 RAM F3-14900CL9-4GBSR, i was stable at 1866 with all 16GB, but want to overclock my cpu further and just removed 8GB since I went overboard with it anyway....
    -hax0rmort


    MOBO - ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula-Z // 2101
    CPU - AMD FX-9370 // 4813 MHz @ 1.512V
    RAM - 16GB G.Skill Sniper // 1866MHz 9-10-9-28 1.50V
    SSD1 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB // Boot
    SSD2 - OCZ Agility 3 120GB // Game
    GPUs - ASUS Radeon R9 290X x2 // Crossfire (8GB VRAM, wow!)
    COOLER - Corsair H100i CPU Water Cooling
    PSU - Corsair RM Series 1000W Gold PSU
    AUDIO - Creative Sound Blaster Z // SBX ProStudio
    CASE - NZXT H440 Red/Black

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Paradise
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    787

    ok, you'll get better overclocking results with only two dimms populated.
    I actually have the BXL set, which is the RipjawsX series.
    A good (slight) overclock and stepping platform with 1866 memory is setting the CPU clock to 235.
    You want the CPU/NB to sync with the memory speed, so set it to the 2800+ option, with CPU/NB voltage@ 1.30v.
    I'm assuming the kit you have are 1.50v modules, so you will probably need to set your DRAM voltage in the 1.565-1.575v range.
    Now just use your CPU multiplier to change the CPU frequency and adjust the CPU voltage accordingly.
    Intel i7 4790K@ 4.7GHz
    Corsair H90 Hydro
    ASUS Maximus VI Formula
    16GB G.Skill TridentX@ 2400MHz, 10-12-12-31
    SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 780 SC@ 1202/1215MHz
    RAID 0: 2x Samsung 840 (256GB) SSD
    Storage: Seagate 1TB 7200 RPM HDD
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    CM HAF 932 Advanced
    Win 7 H.P. x64 & Win 8.1 x64

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array ShadowTrench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Hi I was wondering what is a good set of DDR 3 RAM to get I've used Corsair and knew G. Skill to be good as well. Currently was using Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) cause it was free however since they are triple channel they ran single channel and caused much hicups. If you read my post that I have only had a single response to I got windows and most things stable with two of the sticks but I'm at the point where 1. I'd like more than just 4GB. 2. I would like better MHz (these are 1333 by default). 3. Don't want to mix and match RAM of different models and brands. So maybe a suggestion those G.Skill's look quite nice. I can relist my specs or my other post has quite of bit of details of my problems.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Kingston HyperX 1866 PnP SODIMM Memory
    By Chastity@ASUS in forum Older G Series Notebooks
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: 10-02-2012, 10:58 PM
  2. Sabertooth 990FX and Dominator GT 1866
    By PcEvo in forum TUF and ASUS Motherboards [AMD]
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2011, 07:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •