Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Intel Rapid Storage Technology on Windows 8.1

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Intel Rapid Storage Technology on Windows 8.1

    Since my Windows 8.1 upgrade on this system, Intel RST will not run in the OS and when I try to upgrade RST to the latest version in the downloads section for this board listed as available for Windows 8.1 I get the following error:

    the setup program ended prematurely because of the following error:

    This platform is not supported

    --

    Please help as I am starting to get some disk i/o errors in the raid controller interface at post but the post interface is moronically simple and doesn't let me do anything but wipe the whole raid and make a new one. I just want to check and ack the dang error to see whats up.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array graphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    229

    I fixed it by un-installing it, all sorts of problems when I upgraded,I bought new
    ssd's as I was getting one drive failing in raid with my old ssd's, ended up re-formating I think allot of
    stuff is not compatible with windows 8.1

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array DooRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    303

    You guys are doing something wrong clearly.

    There is no conflict between irst and windows 8 or 8.1, never was. Be sure you are using either the irstE driver or the irst driver, whichever your mobo needs.
    4930k on RIVE BE
    2x EVGA 780 ti's
    2 x Sammy 840 Pro
    Thermaltake 1200W
    Dell 24' & 30'

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by DooRules View Post
    You guys are doing something wrong clearly.

    There is no conflict between irst and windows 8 or 8.1, never was. Be sure you are using either the irstE driver or the irst driver, whichever your mobo needs.
    That's just plain fiction. I am not implying everyone in the world is having this but I am. My Rampage IV Extreme has an intel Raid controller built in and Asus provides the drivers for it. It is possible that I am experiencing the issue because I upgraded from 8 to 8.1 instead of having a clean 8.1 install but that is just a guess. I was hoping that someone knew why the driver installation package is seeing my platform as incompatible.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Swindon, GB
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    162

    Quote Originally Posted by DanMan3395 View Post
    That's just plain fiction. I am not implying everyone in the world is having this but I am. My Rampage IV Extreme has an intel Raid controller built in and Asus provides the drivers for it. It is possible that I am experiencing the issue because I upgraded from 8 to 8.1 instead of having a clean 8.1 install but that is just a guess. I was hoping that someone knew why the driver installation package is seeing my platform as incompatible.
    Take a quick peek in the bios and check if its set to RSTe or iRST. Depending on what it is set to will determine which driver you need.

    RSTe - http://www.station-drivers.com/index...517-intel-rste

    iRST - http://www.station-drivers.com/index.../516-intel-rst

    Hope this helps.
    i7-4930k @ 4606 W/C with EK Supremacy 1.320v - 24/7
    Rampage IV Extreme w/ EK blocks ¦ 32GB G-Skill 2133 @ 2184
    EVGA GTX Titan 6GB w/ EK Original CSQ block @ 1215 boost / 6804 mem
    Intel 520 240GB x 2 RAID 0 (Windows 8.1) ¦ Seagate 2TB x 2 RAID 1 (Data)
    Corsair Force3 120GB (OSX Mavericks) ¦ EVGA NEX1500 Classified
    Cooling - Dual Loops with BlackICE360 / GT1850 / Laing D5 on each





  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by jezjohnson View Post
    Take a quick peek in the bios and check if its set to RSTe or iRST. Depending on what it is set to will determine which driver you need.

    RSTe - http://www.station-drivers.com/index...517-intel-rste

    iRST - http://www.station-drivers.com/index.../516-intel-rst

    Hope this helps.
    Do you happen to know the difference between those 2 settings? Like why use one over the other?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array graphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    229

    this might help you understand
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...-RST-Which-one

    I have it set at irst to support trim for my raid0 array

    yes DooRules, my bad I thought we were talking about some intel
    software progam for managing storage, that got installed, can't remember now what its called

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    52

    for speed, go for irst, otherwise, go for rste

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by graphic View Post
    this might help you understand
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...-RST-Which-one

    I have it set at irst to support trim for my raid0 array

    yes DooRules, my bad I thought we were talking about some intel
    software progam for managing storage, that got installed, can't remember now what its called
    The info on that thread is contrary to what I am finding to be the case. When I goto asus support for this board it has IRST software available ONLY and NO RSTe listed. The board when set to raid mode has the option to do either mode but RSTe is the default...

    The reason I had this problem is because the board is defaulted to RSTe and I was trying to install IRST per the asus website. Why does that thread imply heavily that IRST is not supported on X79?

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by jezjohnson View Post
    I was having the similar problems as the OP, uninstalling RSTe and then reinstalling with the version at the link fixed my W8.1 issue. (installing with the version on the intel site didn't solve the problem )
    TOMBSTONE
    RAMPAGE IV EXTREME i7 3820 @ 4.3GHz H100i G.skill DDR3-2400 32GB (8GBx4) 1x Sapphire + 2x XFX ATi 7970s
    Intel SSD 180GB 335 4x Seagate 3TB in RAID5 Cooler Master 1200W Silent Pro Fractal Design Define XL R2

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •