+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Rampage IV , can not wake up from sleeping

  1. #11
    Super Moderator Shamino +10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    tw
    Posts
    567

    I think after 4.8GHz no way to do S3 resume (on C1 CPUs, C0 ES was fine)
    For 4.7G though I couldnt replicate not coming back.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast GetMax +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    37

    Mine is OCd to 4.4 ghz with offset voltage. Most settings are on auto and resuming from sleep works bad. When ever it resumes the turbo boost function is not working. I have to restart. Before disabling hybrid mode in power management I also had the problem where the pc refused to power on when in sleep mode. The only way to get my pc to start again was to power down and (4 sec power button) and turning it on again.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Hagi +10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    28

    Hi Guys,

    I have the same problem with my RIVE. Almost every time I cannot enter S3 state and if I do it is even less likely to wake up out of S3. About 1 out of ~15 tries everything works fine (this is at Stock CPU/RAM/GPU too).

    I've seen two Debug Codes, 03 and 30 (there may be more, I don't always check):
    03 - System is entering S3 sleep state
    03 - System Agent initialization before microcode loading
    30 - Reserved for ASL (see ASL Status Codes section below)
    30 - System is waking up from the S3 sleep state
    (Debug code 03 and 30 can both mean two different things... is one hex and one decimal? 0-0xFF means you have 256 possible error codes... use them)

    I have tried optimized defaults, 20UF setting, setting a cold boot VCORE and cold boot VCCSA voltage, reverting back to Stock CPU and RAM (with and without XMP), turning off speed stepping and all C states...

    I am running 3930K @ 4.7GHz with offset VCORE and VCCSA (Stable IBT, Prime95, 3DMarks, etc.).
    Corsair Dominator 32GB RAM DDR1866 (8x4GB) (EZ PLUG 2 plugged in)

    I had this same problem on previous BIOS 0901 too. Currently running BIOS 1005... just noticed their is a new bios 1105 and 1005 is no longer on the website. Looks like there was a recall...

    Yippee! My first post
    Last edited by Hagi; 01-15-2012 at 12:28 AM.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    25,160

    Hagi mate please start your own support thread or your request for support is going to get lost mate. I nearly did not read this thread again, but did not recognise your user name.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Hagi +10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    28

    HIVizMan,

    I posted here so the S3 problems can all be in one spot. Do you still want me to start a new thread for my S3 problems?

    I tried BIOS 1101, and S3 seems to be stable at stock CPU and RAM (and XMP) now (previous 1005 BIOS didn't even work at stock).

    However, It still RARELY works for my 4.7 OC (which is no longer stable). It worked once out of 8 tries so far. Another thing I noticed is after about a minute of trying to wake up, it shuts down the computer and restarts. Debug code is 30 before the shutdown.

    I am trying to get this new BIOS stable at my old 4.7 OC. Unfortunately the same settings on BIOS 1005 don't yield the same voltage or stability. I may revert back to 1005 since 1101 didn't fix S3 for my overclocking anyway (though I don't have a stable OC yet even at .4V more VCORE!).

  6. #16
    Super Moderator HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    25,160

    No it is fine to leave it here for now.

    S3 will not work well with an over clocked system beyond a certain frequency range I have found. That is Intel issue I think. I have never been able to get S3 to work over 4.8 GHz ever. And intermittently when clocked over 4.4GHz.

    Cheers

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Crosshair V - Sleeping and sound issues
    By opmprime in forum Crossblade (A88X) & Crosshair (990FX) Motherboards
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 01-06-2012, 08:49 PM
  2. Very Interesting Sleeping Problem
    By Shane01638 in forum Older G Series Notebooks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 05:27 PM
  3. G73 Sleeping Probelem WIN7 GSOD
    By Mark Dano in forum Older G Series Notebooks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2010, 10:45 PM
  4. wake on lan on G73
    By jeprira in forum Older G Series Notebooks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-16-2010, 07:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts