cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Only the paranoid survive", -Andy Grove, Co-founder Intel Corp.

Retired
Not applicable
I was combing through the videos on YouTube.com, when I came across this masked "Preacher" who was yelling about how all of the new TV decoder boxes have recording microphones installed in them so the government can spy on you, and how soon all electronic devices will be "bugged" the same way! Now I still think this sounds crazy, and I tend not to buy into such things...

I just purchased an ASUS G73Jh-A1. I'm a Computer Tech, so fixing the GSOD and cooling issues was a breeze, but while I was searching through all the software and settings, I noticed that if I go to the "Control Panel" and open the "Sound" icon, under the "Recording" tab it shows the microphone, and a little graph next to it that jumps up and down every time a sound is made or a word is spoken! I don't know about you, but I've never seen a notebook computer that has an "always on" microphone, and always monitors your every word spoken!!!

It seems a bit creepy, so I went to Windows device manager to disable the thing. Unfortunately, you can't just disable the mic, you have to disable the whole Realtech sound system! After searching for awhile, I finally found a way to do it in the Realtech software, but I'm still a bit creeped out.

I just thout you should know.
6 REPLIES 6

xeromist