Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Crosshair V Formula: power connectors

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Crosshair V Formula: power connectors

    Hi.
    I have been using this mobo withouth problems, giving power using the 8 pin power connector (the one that 4 pin were covered by a plastic piece). But recently (lol) i discovered that there was another 4 pin power connector (the common ones and the ones that i have always seen).

    Should i give power to the other 4 pin connector ? :S i have a 700w coolermaster 80 plus with a 560gtx connected.

    please give me some advices thanks

    pd: sorry for my bad spelling

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Just use the 8pin.

    The 4pin is for sub zero overclocking.
    Gaming: FX-8150 @ 4.6 | Asus Crosshair V | Asus GTX580 DCII @ 885 | Corsair 800D | 8GB Dominator GT @ 1866 | 2 x Vertex 3 RAID 0
    HTPC: Intel i3 2100 | Asus P8H67-M-PRO | Gigabyte GT430 | Lian Li PC-V354 | 7 TB MDADM RAID

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array oldbrave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    240

    Go ahead and put power to that other 4 pin connector , ASUS put it there so the CPU will have the extra power if it needs it for OCing, especially the FX CPU and not just for sub-zero OCing.
    Electronic Smoke Signals From my TechnoTeepee
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
    AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5162Mhz [21x245] 1.546v
    Water Cooled - Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=52c
    32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4 , 9-9-9-24 @ 1.55v
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.5 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
    SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 1Tb SATA 6Gb x2
    Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Paradise
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    747

    I would not recommend connecting the extra 4-pin to the MB if you're using a PSU that has multiple +12v rails.
    Intel i7 4790K@ 4.7GHz
    Corsair H90 Hydro
    ASUS Maximus VI Formula
    16GB G.Skill TridentX@ 2400MHz, 10-12-12-31
    SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 780 SC@ 1202/1215MHz
    RAID 0: 2x Samsung 840 (256GB) SSD
    Storage: Seagate 1TB 7200 RPM HDD
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    CM HAF 932 Advanced
    Win 7 H.P. x64 & Win 8.1 x64

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Roadking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    I would not recommend connecting the extra 4-pin to the MB if you're using a PSU that has multiple +12v rails.
    Please elaborate.
    AMD FX-8350 4.615 GHZ @ 1.43v ( Stable ) * ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX
    4Gx4 GSKILL F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR 16GB @ 2133 @ 1.63v
    XSPC Raystorm RX240 Extreme Universal CPU Water Cooling Kit w/ 2 RX240 Radiator
    2 Sapphire HD 7950 3GB OC Edition 1100/1500 @ 1.258v Crossfire
    3 Crucial 128 GB in RAID 0 * 2 WD 1002FAEX 1TB SATA3 RAID 0 Data drive
    Cooler Master Cosmos II * Enermax Revolution 85+ 1020W * Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Paradise
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    747

    There have been a number of reports regarding failure to post with the extra 4-pin.
    Has to do with uneven distribution of amps, depending upon which +12v rail supplies the 4-pin connector.
    SIngle +12v rail PSU's are not a problem, I can verify this since I have the 4-pin connection with my Corsair HW850W.
    Intel i7 4790K@ 4.7GHz
    Corsair H90 Hydro
    ASUS Maximus VI Formula
    16GB G.Skill TridentX@ 2400MHz, 10-12-12-31
    SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 780 SC@ 1202/1215MHz
    RAID 0: 2x Samsung 840 (256GB) SSD
    Storage: Seagate 1TB 7200 RPM HDD
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    CM HAF 932 Advanced
    Win 7 H.P. x64 & Win 8.1 x64

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Roadking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    The PSU in my sig is a modular with a quad + 12v rail, Ive had no problems posting with the 4 pin. Can this be detrimental to the board over time?
    AMD FX-8350 4.615 GHZ @ 1.43v ( Stable ) * ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX
    4Gx4 GSKILL F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR 16GB @ 2133 @ 1.63v
    XSPC Raystorm RX240 Extreme Universal CPU Water Cooling Kit w/ 2 RX240 Radiator
    2 Sapphire HD 7950 3GB OC Edition 1100/1500 @ 1.258v Crossfire
    3 Crucial 128 GB in RAID 0 * 2 WD 1002FAEX 1TB SATA3 RAID 0 Data drive
    Cooler Master Cosmos II * Enermax Revolution 85+ 1020W * Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Paradise
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    747

    Quote Originally Posted by Roadking View Post
    The PSU in my sig is a modular with a quad + 12v rail, Ive had no problems posting with the 4 pin. Can this be detrimental to the board over time?
    I haven't looked at your PSU specs, but does each +12v rail have the same amperage?

    If you haven't encountered any problems so far, then you should be fine.
    Intel i7 4790K@ 4.7GHz
    Corsair H90 Hydro
    ASUS Maximus VI Formula
    16GB G.Skill TridentX@ 2400MHz, 10-12-12-31
    SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 780 SC@ 1202/1215MHz
    RAID 0: 2x Samsung 840 (256GB) SSD
    Storage: Seagate 1TB 7200 RPM HDD
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    CM HAF 932 Advanced
    Win 7 H.P. x64 & Win 8.1 x64

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Roadking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    I haven't looked at your PSU specs, but does each +12v rail have the same amperage?

    If you haven't encountered any problems so far, then you should be fine.
    They are 35 amp each, and from what I have been reading, they should be fine. Thanks for the info
    AMD FX-8350 4.615 GHZ @ 1.43v ( Stable ) * ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX
    4Gx4 GSKILL F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR 16GB @ 2133 @ 1.63v
    XSPC Raystorm RX240 Extreme Universal CPU Water Cooling Kit w/ 2 RX240 Radiator
    2 Sapphire HD 7950 3GB OC Edition 1100/1500 @ 1.258v Crossfire
    3 Crucial 128 GB in RAID 0 * 2 WD 1002FAEX 1TB SATA3 RAID 0 Data drive
    Cooler Master Cosmos II * Enermax Revolution 85+ 1020W * Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  10. #10
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Ohio, USA....
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    I don't know about the CHV but on older Motherboards this was required for Multi-GPU setups because the 4 pin AUX connector didn't carry enough power to drive the MoBo and two or more Video Cards even when they had external power plugs...when they went to the 8 pin Aux connector a lot of MoBo's did away with the 4 pin Molex connector...the other thing I've noticed is with the new FX Processors they require so much power OC'ing that people have been using the 4 pin Molex to keep from melting the 8 pin Aux connector from the power draw....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •