+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: CPUZ says Ram is only at 800mhz? but I got 1600mhz?

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt slaytus +10 slaytus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    122

    CPUZ says Ram is only at 800mhz? but I got 1600mhz?

    Hey ive set in my bios dram freq. to 1600 but theres another option set to auto is that why its only saying 800mhz?
    Thanks


    Btw bf3 in eyefinity is amazing
    -|[ Clear Case ]|-
    -|[ ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III Formula ]|-
    -|[ AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE 3.4GHZ (stock fan) ]|-
    -|[ Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4X4GB DDR3-1600 ]|-
    -|[ ASUS Radeon HD 6950 DirectCU II 2GB (o.c. 870MHZ) ]|-
    -|[ Corsair Pro Series HX1050 ]|-
    -|[ Eyefinity 3x ASUS 21.5" LED 1080P (running at 5982X1080) ]|- ...Building

    ^With a medium Budget^
    next in line:
    *SSD * EXT. BluerayRW * Corsair H100

  2. #2
    Platinum Guru ROG chrsplmr +200 chrsplmr +200 chrsplmr +200 chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5,946

    x2=1600 ..... dual-channel....800 is correct.

    5760...is enough to wrap alost around the whole face...ahhaha...cool.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    25,160

    Dual channel means something else, but none the less your ram is running at the correct frequency.

    Dual channel means two sticks of ram that are running in paired slots. Quad channel like on the X79 platform will be four sticks.

  4. #4
    Platinum Guru ROG chrsplmr +200 chrsplmr +200 chrsplmr +200 chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5,946

    sorry guys..... just parroting what was explained to me when i had
    the same question just after the CrossHairV release.............................by raja.

    i must have mis-remembered ... or mis-quoted.... but yea,,,800 is spot on.
    Maybe check on that for us HiViz....if ya get a second..thnx.c.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt slaytus +10 slaytus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    122

    K good thanks guys for all your responses everyone is always so helpful here
    Last edited by slaytus; 01-07-2012 at 06:55 AM.
    -|[ Clear Case ]|-
    -|[ ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III Formula ]|-
    -|[ AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE 3.4GHZ (stock fan) ]|-
    -|[ Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4X4GB DDR3-1600 ]|-
    -|[ ASUS Radeon HD 6950 DirectCU II 2GB (o.c. 870MHZ) ]|-
    -|[ Corsair Pro Series HX1050 ]|-
    -|[ Eyefinity 3x ASUS 21.5" LED 1080P (running at 5982X1080) ]|- ...Building

    ^With a medium Budget^
    next in line:
    *SSD * EXT. BluerayRW * Corsair H100

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator xeromist +100 xeromist +100 xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    5,128

    Quote Originally Posted by chrsplmr View Post
    sorry guys..... just parroting what was explained to me when i had
    the same question just after the CrossHairV release.............................by raja.

    i must have mis-remembered ... or mis-quoted.... but yea,,,800 is spot on.
    Maybe check on that for us HiViz....if ya get a second..thnx.c.
    You were close. It's because of Double Data Rate. It's operating on the rise AND fall of the clock so that's where the 2x multi comes in.

    ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z Intel 2600K DangerDen cooling 8GB G.Skill Trident
    ASUS GTX670 Patriot PyroSE SSD Antec Signature 650 PSU Antec Mini P180 [ ASUS G73JH ]


    Folding@Home - Join us!


  7. #7
    Super Moderator HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan +200 HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    25,160

    Correct - CPU-Z will give you the actual clock speed, not the DDR equivalent, or if you prefer the FSB (Front Side Bus) to DRAM ratio, and the actual memory timings that are currently set within the BIOS.

  8. #8
    Platinum Guru ROG chrsplmr +200 chrsplmr +200 chrsplmr +200 chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5,946

    thanks guyz...dont want to pass bad info...ever...what would be the point?
    and yes-- X was the other that answered in the original thread i spoke of with raja....
    as i recall----yep.....

    800 is right....hahahhahahhaa...and now you know the rest of the story...c..

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts