PDA

View Full Version : G752VS - Blue screens on reboot after latest firmware update (310) - solved?



evildoer
02-20-2018, 05:00 PM
Recovery
Your PC/Device needs to be repaired
A required device isn't connected or can't be accessed

This is the message I get when I reboot or start the computer after the latest firmware update.

Hitting esc to go into the setup utility and simply choosing quit without saving seems to do a full restart which allows Windows to then load without issue.

And before anyone asks, the SATA mode is set to AHCI like it was before the update. If I change that to RAID the computer wont boot at all.

Any ideas?

Clintlgm
02-20-2018, 05:40 PM
Yes, use Macrium Reflect Boot Sector repair feature to repair your boot sector. Another way would be to download the latest windows Image using MCT (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10), once you get back into windows run an in-place upgrade with the USB created with MCT be sure to keep your files. Should fix your boot sector.

Clintlgm
02-20-2018, 07:52 PM
[QUOTE=evildoer;706758]Recovery
Your PC/Device needs to be repaired
A required device isn't connected or can't be accessed

This is the message I get when I reboot or start the computer after the latest firmware update.

Hitting esc to go into the setup utility and simply choosing quit without saving seems to do a full restart which allows Windows to then load without issue.
This tells me you still have fast boot activated in windows go to your power options Advanced and turn off Hybrid shut down. Turn off quick boot in your BIOS

evildoer
02-20-2018, 08:50 PM
That didn't fix it so I did more digging.

It turns out that it was trying to boot to the wrong drive.

I had bought an NVMe SSD and was using that as my boot device, and I suppose the firmware update erased that data. I didn't even have the option to boot to that drive at all. I had to create an entry for it, and somehow managed to do it, and its working now.

bazzarooney
02-20-2018, 09:49 PM
That didn't fix it so I did more digging.

It turns out that it was trying to boot to the wrong drive.

I had bought an NVMe SSD and was using that as my boot device, and I suppose the firmware update erased that data. I didn't even have the option to boot to that drive at all. I had to create an entry for it, and somehow managed to do it, and its working now.

Enter BIOS and change SATA configuration mode to AHCI, the update defaults it back to RAID

evildoer
02-21-2018, 03:43 AM
Enter BIOS and change SATA configuration mode to AHCI, the update defaults it back to RAID

This is mentioned in the first post. Plus in the last post I mentioned its fixed.