PDA

View Full Version : g74sx memory upgrade question



Chibby123
01-25-2012, 04:14 PM
ive seen how it says that the memory cap is 16gb ram so if i surpass that will it crash my system or will it just cap at 16gb and the rest will be ignored?

Holy
01-25-2012, 05:10 PM
It will just cap I beleave unless you use w7 pro or ultimate. In which case it will beable to use all the ram.

AQUASTEVAE
01-25-2012, 07:23 PM
another poster on this board did an experiment and put 32 gig's of ram in the machine, and it recognized all of it. so you can use 8 gb chips in each slot. search for that thread on this board, and you can read all about it. hope this helps.

fostert
01-26-2012, 01:59 AM
That would be in here:
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?6851-G74-and-8GB-Memory-DIMMs...

32 Gigs still going strong in my G74, and the price for 8GB sticks has come down alot ($76): http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=64472&vpn=CMSO8GX3M1A1333C9&manufacture=Corsair

Honestly the G74's ability to use this much RAM makes any newer laptop on the market pale, even if it has a faster clocked CPU. Very few notebooks can do this.

Chibby123
01-26-2012, 02:27 PM
am i able to use the ram already in my pc which is 8gb ram and im gonna add another 16gb ram is that possible?

or does it have to be all the exact same type and brand to make my laptop run?

fostert
01-27-2012, 12:55 AM
Yes, my tests included putting in 2x8GB Corsair sticks along with the 2x4GB Samsung sticks that my G74 came with, for a total of 24GB. G74 worked just fine with it; 24GB was seen in BIOS, and Linux had no trouble with addressing and filling the lot with my data. Beware though that while Windows 7 HP *saw* all 24GB, only 16GB was stated by it to be usable. Thats a limitation that obviously is associated with HP; it would presumably disappear if you paid Microshaft more $$ for a version ("ultimate") that would address what today's hardware can handle.