PDA

View Full Version : Crappy performance asus g74 sx



tyrspawn
01-27-2012, 12:16 AM
I have noticed that my new g74sx is apparently performing worse than what I am reading in posts.

I am only getting about 20-30 fps in arma2, and thats not even with everything maxed. I have seen some vids on youtube of people claiming 40-50 fps with everything maxed and with the maximum view distance possible.

I am wondering if I did something wrong when installing this build - is any of the bloatware that comes on the cd essential to performance? I only installed a select few drivers I thought i needed. For instance I did not install the intel boost widget as I thought it only was a cosmetic thing and did not effect performance, is this true? This is a fresh windows 7 install. I also recently bought a SSD so that's not the bottleneck.

fuzon1337
01-27-2012, 12:21 AM
Hi

Take a look at my thread about the bloatware New notebook? Look here! (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?9082-New-notebook-Look-here!) (there is a guide which bloatware you "need" and don't need)

Have you tried to use Throttlestop? (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?3322-Sandybridge-Throttle-Issue-and-Workaround) Many of the G-series notebooks got that issue :(

BrodyBoy
01-27-2012, 12:48 AM
I have noticed that my new g74sx is apparently performing worse than what I am reading in posts.

I am only getting about 20-30 fps in arma2, and thats not even with everything maxed. I have seen some vids on youtube of people claiming 40-50 fps with everything maxed and with the maximum view distance possible.

I am wondering if I did something wrong when installing this build - is any of the bloatware that comes on the cd essential to performance? I only installed a select few drivers I thought i needed. For instance I did not install the intel boost widget as I thought it only was a cosmetic thing and did not effect performance, is this true? This is a fresh windows 7 install. I also recently bought a SSD so that's not the bottleneck.
You're correct that the Intel TB monitor is just a widget. And by definition, bloatware is not essential. The basic drivers are:

Intel chipset
Intel RST
Intel MEI
nVidia graphics
Realtek audio
Realtek cardreader
Readtek LAN
Atheros or Intel WLAN (and BT, if resent and needed)
Fresco USB 3.0
ATK Package

Everything else is optional.

tyrspawn
01-27-2012, 01:26 AM
Here is my 3dmark:

http://3dmark.com/3dm11/2630067

And my cpuz:

http://www.krauselabs.net/dump/krause-laptop.html

And my asus driver installer, I am almost certain I am not missing anything:

http://www.krauselabs.net/dump/installer.png

dxdiag:

http://www.krauselabs.net/dump/laptopdxdiag.txt

I tried using throttlestop and did not see a performance difference. Saw a increase of 25 markpoints in 3dmark, but that barely seems outside the range of normal deviation. Although im not sure if I am using it correctly, there appears to be a debate as to what you need to click etc to get it to work as intended.

I tried just opening it, checking those boxes in the OP, clicking turn on, just having it run in monitor mode etc. Nothing seeemed to increase performance

ColonelS
01-27-2012, 01:28 AM
Even in lowest settings are you getting low framerates?

tyrspawn
01-27-2012, 01:37 AM
I can get up to like 120 fps if i put it on the lowest settings possible, but there would be no reason playing the game at those settings

I also was getting about 35 fps in one test, but in a forest environment i get 20-25 fps - seems about half of what it should be considering my settings

tyrspawn
01-27-2012, 01:41 AM
Here's a screenshot of TS doing a 32mb benchmark... are these numbers ok?

http://www.krauselabs.net/dump/ts.png

Doesn't it show all CPUs at 100%?

edit: While it appears to be maxing in TS benchmark, none of my cores ar egoing past 30% when im running arma2. So... I dunno if this is a limitation of the game (doubt it) or my PC. >_<

codename47
01-27-2012, 08:52 PM
I have also low fps from the beginning of usage. At all games I see 10fps less than people playing on YouTube and any review that I saw. Tried clean install on Win7 64bit Enterprise and Win7 Professional 32bit (just in case)- results are the same: 20fps in Withcher 2 - ultra setting without only ubersapmling, and 20pfs in BG2 ultra settings. Strange is that after clean install first I didn't install Intel drivers and the game runs the same like when I install them .
Even tried downgrade bios to 202 with no success. Will try clean install on Ultimate 64bit.
Here are some screens: http://imageshack.us/g/29/bf320120127193447273.jpg/ and .csv from nvidiainspector playing Withcer 2 and BF3:
NVIDIA_Inspector-MonitoringLog_2012-01-27_13_10_25-Withcer 2.csv - 22.1 KB (http://uploading.com/files/457243db/NVIDIA_Inspector-MonitoringLog_2012-01-27_13_10_25-Withcer%2B2.csv/)
NVIDIA_Inspector-MonitoringLog_2012-01-27_19_35_20-BF3.csv - 13.8 KB (http://uploading.com/files/m32cm8e1/NVIDIA_Inspector-MonitoringLog_2012-01-27_19_35_20-BF3.csv/)