PDA

View Full Version : Question about upcoming Asus ROG G703 GI-XS98K



alienbaby
05-26-2018, 12:59 AM
Greetings Asus ROG laptop enthusiasts and Asus corporate.

I have some questions about this new upcoming Asus ROG G703 GI-XS98K.

Will this $3,699 Asus laptop only ship with 32GB RAM? The official website shows this laptop with only 32GB RAM:

(https://store.asus.com/us/item/201804AM060000002/A47070-ASUS-ROG-G703GI-XS98K-Desktop-Replacement-Gaming-Laptop%2C-Unlocked-Intel-Core-i9-8950HK-processor%2C-Overclocked-GTX-1080-8GB%2C-17.3%E2%80%9D-144Hz-3ms-G-SYNC-Display%2C-512GB-PCIe-SSD-%2B-2TB-SSHD%2C-32GB-DDR4%2C-Windows-10-Pro)

Yet several reviewers describe this laptop as having 64GB RAM:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yQFF8Fci-KE

I ask this question because Asus has posted laptops with inaccurate specifications on their website before. I remember when I originally purchased my Asus ROG G752VY, The specifications showed that it only had 1 512GB NVMe SSD as the primary drive. I purchased it the week it released and it only had 2x256GB NVMe SSDs with no working RAID solution. So I called up Asus to inquire about the discrepancy on their website specs and they silently adjusted the specs.

Back to the Asus ROG G703 GI. I really hope that this laptop ships with 64GB DDR4 RAM. The Asus G752VY had 64GB DDR4 RAM and it came out about 2.5 years ago.

If the Asus ROG G703GI only ships with 32GB RAM, do you estimate that Asus would install this RAM on the inside of the laptop (below the keyboard) or on the externally accessible RAM slots that are easier to get to in the back? If they only ship it with 32GB RAM, I am going to want to purchase 2x16GB DDR4 RAM by the same vendor. It will certainly be much easier for me to install them on the bottom of the laptop at the expandable slots than to have to disassemble more of the laptop in order to get to the internal RAM slots, below the keyboard. I don't think I have the specialized screws to remove the entire case at this time.

Any feedback you have would be greatly appreciative. Thank you for your time!

Weirdoutworld
05-26-2018, 04:28 PM
My asus refurbished g703vi shipped with 32gb. 2x 16gb sticks on the INSIDE of the system. The 2 slots under the access panel are empty. So I would assume the same here.

Gustave
05-27-2018, 09:29 AM
Greetings Asus ROG laptop enthusiasts and Asus corporate.

I have some questions about this new upcoming Asus ROG G703 GI-XS98K.

Will this $3,699 Asus laptop only ship with 32GB RAM? The official website shows this laptop with only 32GB RAM: ...…………………...

The Asus ROG G703GI-XS98K, I ordered, ships with 32GB RAM, two 256GB PCIe SSDs and a 2TB SSHD storage drive. There is the possibility to add 32GB RAM and change the storage configuration to your liking as I did with my G752VY in the past.

At the top of the range is the G703GI-XS99K, which has the same specs as the XS98K but with 64GB of RAM and three 512GB PCIe NVMe SSDs at an additional cost of $1.300,- ($4.999,-).

Both of course have the Intel Core i9-8950HK CPU.

Regards.

alienbaby
05-29-2018, 04:36 AM
The Asus ROG G703GI-XS98K, I ordered, ships with 32GB RAM, two 256GB PCIe SSDs and a 2TB SSHD storage drive. There is the possibility to add 32GB RAM and change the storage configuration to your liking as I did with my G752VY in the past.

At the top of the range is the G703GI-XS99K, which has the same specs as the XS98K but with 64GB of RAM and three 512GB PCIe NVMe SSDs at an additional cost of $1.300,- ($4.999,-).

Both of course have the Intel Core i9-8950HK CPU.

Regards.


Gustave,

Thanks for your feedback. I like what you did by going with the XS98K instead of the 99K and I may do the same if the video card and CPU are identical because I'm going to put a 2TB NVMe into it instead of using the 3x512GB SSDs that come with the XS99K. If I go with the X98K, I'm still going to need to put an additional 32GB RAM in it so that it has 64GB because the kind of work I do is memory intensive. I have a couple more questions about this for you:

1. Did they put the 32GB RAM on the inside below the keyboard or did they install it in the expansion slot that you could easily get to from the back panel?

2. Is there any possibility that you could give me the make and model number of those 2 16GB DDR4 RAM sticks? I want to pre-order a couple that closely match the 32g. Is it the same RAM that is in my G752VY? I have 4 x 16GB of Samsung M471A2K43BB1-CPB DDR4 2133.

Gustave
05-29-2018, 04:17 PM
Gustave,

Thanks for your feedback. I like what you did by going with the XS98K instead of the 99K and I may do the same if the video card and CPU are identical because I'm going to put a 2TB NVMe into it instead of using the 3x512GB SSDs that come with the XS99K. If I go with the X98K, I'm still going to need to put an additional 32GB RAM in it so that it has 64GB because the kind of work I do is memory intensive. I have a couple more questions about this for you:

1. Did they put the 32GB RAM on the inside below the keyboard or did they install it in the expansion slot that you could easily get to from the back panel?

2. Is there any possibility that you could give me the make and model number of those 2 16GB DDR4 RAM sticks? I want to pre-order a couple that closely match the 32g. Is it the same RAM that is in my G752VY? I have 4 x 16GB of Samsung M471A2K43BB1-CPB DDR4 2133.

I cannot, yet, answer your questions regarding the upgrade of the G703GI-XS98K because I do not have the laptop in my possession yet. So I don't have the exact specs of the SO DIMMS being used. But I know, from reading about it, that you can easily add the 2 16GB SODIMMs from the bottom of the laptop. You can also use 3 NVMe M2 SSD's for a blazing fast RAID0 bootvolume and add a fourth 2TB SATA SSD for storage.

Me too I have 4 Samsung M471A2K43BB1-CPB DDR4-2133 SODIMM's in my G752VY but the G703GI-XS98K uses DDR4-2666 SODIMM's.

I hope to get my XS98K beginning of June (when I ordered it the release date was set at end of May) but the website now states end of June. So I don't know when I get my hands on the beast.

Regards.

Gustave
06-10-2018, 02:38 PM
To continue this conversation:

I expect my G703GI-XS98K to arrive tomorrow (June 11th, '18). In the mean time I learned that the 2 M.2 SSD's, which are directly connected to the CPU, have to be Intel SSD's to be able to create a RAID0. I got 3 Intel 760P P3X4 M.2 2280 1TB SSD's and I am very curious about how fast they will perform in the RAID0 setup. I will probably swap the 2TB Hybrid FireCuda drive for the the 2TB Samsung 850 Pro that's in my G752VY right now.

I got these RAM/SSD specs from Asus Support:

74187

If you like I wil share more of my experiences with the G703GI.

Regards!

Clintlgm
06-11-2018, 04:05 AM
To continue this conversation:

I expect my G703GI-XS98K to arrive tomorrow (June 11th, '18). In the mean time I learned that the 2 M.2 SSD's, which are directly connected to the CPU, have to be Intel SSD's to be able to create a RAID0. I got 3 Intel 760P P3X4 M.2 2280 1TB SSD's and I am very curious about how fast they will perform in the RAID0 setup. I will probably swap the 2TB Hybrid FireCuda drive for the the 2TB Samsung 850 Pro that's in my G752VY right now.

I got these RAM/SSD specs from Asus Support:

74187

If you like I wil share more of my experiences with the G703GI.

Regards!

I would be cautious with the Intel M.2 SSD it seems there is some issue with the latest upgrade of windows 10 to 1803, I'm not sure if that issue has been solved you should check it out and ensure that your SSD is not the ones having issues!! https://communities.intel.com/thread/125196

Gustave
06-11-2018, 03:47 PM
I would be cautious with the Intel M.2 SSD it seems there is some issue with the latest upgrade of windows 10 to 1803, I'm not sure if that issue has been solved you should check it out and ensure that your SSD is not the ones having issues!! https://communities.intel.com/thread/125196

Thanks for the warning Clintlgm. The Windows 10 version that came preinstalled was 1709. I upgraded to 1803 without a problem. There are 2 CPU attached Intel 760P 256GB SSD's on board in RAID0. All works fine. I am going to install the 3 1TB versions in the next days, when the extra RAM arrives.

Regards!

Clintlgm
06-11-2018, 07:02 PM
To continue this conversation:

I expect my G703GI-XS98K to arrive tomorrow (June 11th, '18). In the mean time I learned that the 2 M.2 SSD's, which are directly connected to the CPU, have to be Intel SSD's to be able to create a RAID0. I got 3 Intel 760P P3X4 M.2 2280 1TB SSD's and I am very curious about how fast they will perform in the RAID0 setup. I will probably swap the 2TB Hybrid FireCuda drive for the the 2TB Samsung 850 Pro that's in my G752VY right now.

I got these RAM/SSD specs from Asus Support:

74187

If you like I wil share more of my experiences with the G703GI.

Regards!

Yes this sounds like something different the PCIe otherwise the Buss is just about maxed out at NVME speeds. It seems that the Write speed does increase some but reading speed is about the same at least with the 960 Pro

MrRuckus
06-11-2018, 11:53 PM
2. Is there any possibility that you could give me the make and model number of those 2 16GB DDR4 RAM sticks? I want to pre-order a couple that closely match the 32g. Is it the same RAM that is in my G752VY? I have 4 x 16GB of Samsung M471A2K43BB1-CPB DDR4 2133.

I can tell you the sticks that are in my G703:
16GB Each
Apacer Technology
DDR4-2800 / PC4-22400 SO-DIMM
Model #: 76.D305G.D060B

SDRAM manufacturer according to HWiNFO shows Samsung.

Gustave
06-16-2018, 04:34 PM
Gustave,

Thanks for your feedback. I like what you did by going with the XS98K instead of the 99K and I may do the same if the video card and CPU are identical because I'm going to put a 2TB NVMe into it instead of using the 3x512GB SSDs that come with the XS99K. If I go with the X98K, I'm still going to need to put an additional 32GB RAM in it so that it has 64GB because the kind of work I do is memory intensive. I have a couple more questions about this for you:

1. Did they put the 32GB RAM on the inside below the keyboard or did they install it in the expansion slot that you could easily get to from the back panel?

2. Is there any possibility that you could give me the make and model number of those 2 16GB DDR4 RAM sticks? I want to pre-order a couple that closely match the 32g. Is it the same RAM that is in my G752VY? I have 4 x 16GB of Samsung M471A2K43BB1-CPB DDR4 2133.

Well,

My XS98K has arrived and I upgraded the hardware. But with some questions.

First of all, the spec as the G703GI arrived:


Core i9-8950HK
2x 256GB Intel 760P SSD's (INTEL SSDPEKKW256GB) in RAID0. Third M.2 slot empty
1x 2TB FireCuda ST2000LX001-1RG174
2x 16GB DDR4 SDRAM (Samsung M471A2K43CB1-CTD)

After the upgrade:


Core i9-8950HK
3x 1 TB Intel 760P SSD's (INTEL SSDPEKKW010T8) in RAID0
1x 2TB Samsung SSD 850 PRO 2TB
4x16GB DDR4 SDRAM (Samsung M471A2K43CB1-CTD)

​It was a bit of a hassle to get the Windows installation from the original bootdrive to the new one. I made a copy to a Samsung T3 USB drive with Macrium Reflect but I could not get into the new RAID0 I set up in the BIOS. So in the end I copied the boot drive to the one Intel SSD in the M.2 Sata slot. Booted from there and created the RAID0 from within the OS with the extra two NVMe SSD's (as I did with my G752VY back then). This worked.

I noticed that the Crystal benchmark scores for the drivespeed were not what I expected compared to the original setup

74280

Clintlgm
06-16-2018, 08:44 PM
Well,

My XS98K has arrived and I upgraded the hardware. But with some questions.

First of all, the spec as the G703GI arrived:


Core i9-8950HK
2x 256GB Intel 760P SSD's (INTEL SSDPEKKW256GB) in RAID0. Third M.2 slot empty
1x 2TB FireCuda ST2000LX001-1RG174
2x 16GB DDR4 SDRAM (Samsung M471A2K43CB1-CTD)

After the upgrade:


Core i9-8950HK
3x 1 TB Intel 760P SSD's (INTEL SSDPEKKW010T8) in RAID0
1x 2TB Samsung SSD 850 PRO 2TB
4x16GB DDR4 SDRAM (Samsung M471A2K43CB1-CTD)

It was a bit of a hassle to get the Windows installation from the original bootdrive to the new one. I made a copy to a Samsung T3 USB drive with Macrium Reflect but I could not get into the new RAID0 I set up in the BIOS. So in the end I copied the boot drive to the one Intel SSD in the M.2 Sata slot. Booted from there and created the RAID0 from within the OS with the extra two NVMe SSD's (as I did with my G752VY back then). This worked.

I noticed that the Crystal benchmark scores for the drivespeed were not what I expected compared to the original setup

74280



Yes, you doubled your seq write speed but lost a little on the read speed. But you got a 3TB OS drive to back up and keep images of. any kind of glitch on anyone of the 3 drive will cost you all your data. Now for some gaming results. I'll bet it would be a killer fast at rendering 3d Auto Cad files. AQnd Rendering large video files.

Gustave
06-16-2018, 08:58 PM
I wonder where the proclaimed 8700Mbps Hyperdrive Extreme speeds come from

74284

And you are right of course: lose one drive, lose all. Most of my data resides on a Synology NAS though. So I'll be careful.

Clintlgm
06-17-2018, 06:10 PM
I wonder where the proclaimed 8700Mbps Hyperdrive Extreme speeds come from

74284

And you are right of course: lose one drive, lose all. Most of my data reside on a Synology NAS though. So I'll be careful.

Hmmm, you're going to have to work on that one perhaps they were thinking of rapid mode? I don't think Intel has that which is nothing other than a RAM Drive anyway. I think I would push this up to the ROG Asus guys on here. May you be missing something in the set up? If you really can't do any better than you are your probably better off going back to AHCI NVME and 3 separate Volumes.

Gustave
06-18-2018, 01:14 PM
Whilst installing the RAID0 config from within Windows I got a warning that the G703 only supports RAID0 volumes up to 2TB. But it did install the 3TB volume without a problem (apart from the speed issue). :)

Clintlgm
06-18-2018, 02:59 PM
Whilst installing the RAID0 config from within Windows I got a warning that the G703 only supports RAID0 volumes up to 2TB. But it did install the 3TB volume without a problem (apart from the speed issue). :)


I'm wondering if the correct way isn't in the BIOS and pre-windows boot up similar to how a desktop board works? With the problem being that the RST set up screen is going by so fast that you don't see it set up your drives?

Seems to me that if they advertise 8700 MBS you should get somewhere near that. The one Raid set up I'm using is on a Z97 board and during boot up it hesitates for 10 seconds or so at the RST set up screen to allow you to press F10 or something don't remember right now which and I set up the raid on that screen then just restored my OS SSD Image to the RAID Volume? With my 830 256gb and 530 240gb, I doubled my read and write speeds with 400+ GB total size. I replaced that Volume with a 512gb 860 EVO since I didn't trust the raid for the long term.

Clintlgm
06-18-2018, 05:33 PM
Whilst installing the RAID0 config from within Windows I got a warning that the G703 only supports RAID0 volumes up to 2TB. But it did install the 3TB volume without a problem (apart from the speed issue). :)


You didn't accidentally install 32 bit or MBR did you? those are the only reasons I can think of that would limit you too 2TB?

Gustave
06-18-2018, 07:50 PM
No, 64bit all the way and GPT on all volumes.

stanininnn
06-18-2018, 09:15 PM
Hello guys,

I have already ordered the Unit here in Dubai and I am just waiting for it to arrive. I am wondering what will happen if I only use 1 charger?

What will be the mode of Power: Battery or Plugged-in mode?

The reason I am asking is that I am planning to use it in the office and do the Normal Office work activities with one plugged-in charger.

Apologies for asking this silly question.

Thanks in advance fellow gamers!

alienbaby
06-19-2018, 03:52 AM
Yes, you doubled your seq write speed but lost a little on the read speed. But you got a 3TB OS drive to back up and keep images of. any kind of glitch on anyone of the 3 drive will cost you all your data. Now for some gaming results. I'll bet it would be a killer fast at rendering 3d Auto Cad files. AQnd Rendering large video files.

Thanks for your feedback. My Asus ROG G703GI arrived this evening. Like yours, mine is starting out with 32GB (2x16GB) RAM and the model number matches--m471a2k43cb1-ctd. Where did you find 2 more Samsung RAM sticks to match this? I have been scouring Google to find more RAM to order for this laptop and so far, I've been coming up completely empty handed.

I'm starting to get nervous. How can Asus have Samsung RAM with the model number "m471a2k43cb1-ctd", yet it is available nowhere else online? I need my laptop to have 64GB RAM similar to yours.

Could you help me find a place to order the RAM? Thank you so much in advance.

Gustave
06-19-2018, 07:57 AM
The Samsung SDRAM I bought through a local webshop. I do not know where you live but I found this webshop: http://www.memory4less.com/samsung-16gb-sodimm-pc21300-m471a2k43cb1-ctd.

Good luck on your buy :)

Gustave
06-19-2018, 08:09 AM
Hello guys,

I have already ordered the Unit here in Dubai and I am just waiting for it to arrive. I am wondering what will happen if I only use 1 charger?

What will be the mode of Power: Battery or Plugged-in mode?

The reason I am asking is that I am planning to use it in the office and do the Normal Office work activities with one plugged-in charger.

Apologies for asking this silly question.

Thanks in advance fellow gamers!

74332 (https://www.techradar.com/reviews/asus-rog-g703gi)

Otherwise, just try to find out if the Chimera runs on only one poweradapter. Appreciate the feedback on this.

alienbaby
06-20-2018, 03:21 PM
The Samsung SDRAM I bought through a local webshop. I do not know where you live but I found this webshop: http://www.memory4less.com/samsung-16gb-sodimm-pc21300-m471a2k43cb1-ctd.

Good luck on your buy :)

Gustave,

I am learning that the particular Samsung 260 pin RAM "M471A2K43CB1-CTD" is incredibly difficult to locate online for some reason. I am not sure if there is an artificial shortage or what is going on.

As you suggested, I placed an order on memory4less.com, but once my order made it to their "order processing" department, now they are telling me that the RAM is not in stock and the head manager of the company is supposed to somehow be searching for it. He is supposed to follow up with me later today. I am skeptical they will locate it because memroy4less is the only website that I've seen that particular RAM retail and the more I'm talking to them, the clearer it is becoming that they are just a middle man company with minimal or no real inventory.

I am feeling a little discouraged by this RAM not being available anywhere. Why do you think that this RAM is so difficult to come by? Is it because it is so new and cutting edge RAM for how few pins there are? What do you recommend that I do at this point?

Gustave
06-20-2018, 04:39 PM
74347 (https://www.megekko.nl/product/2046/1740560/DDR4/Samsung-M471A2K43CB1-CTD-16GB-DDR4-2666MHz-geheugenmodule)

138 in stock. Dutch webshop (https://www.megekko.nl/product/2046/1740560/DDR4/Samsung-M471A2K43CB1-CTD-16GB-DDR4-2666MHz-geheugenmodule)though!

kaplog
09-16-2018, 06:32 PM
Well,

My XS98K has arrived and I upgraded the hardware. But with some questions.

First of all, the spec as the G703GI arrived:


Core i9-8950HK
2x 256GB Intel 760P SSD's (INTEL SSDPEKKW256GB) in RAID0. Third M.2 slot empty
1x 2TB FireCuda ST2000LX001-1RG174
2x 16GB DDR4 SDRAM (Samsung M471A2K43CB1-CTD)

After the upgrade:


Core i9-8950HK
3x 1 TB Intel 760P SSD's (INTEL SSDPEKKW010T8) in RAID0
1x 2TB Samsung SSD 850 PRO 2TB
4x16GB DDR4 SDRAM (Samsung M471A2K43CB1-CTD)

​It was a bit of a hassle to get the Windows installation from the original bootdrive to the new one. I made a copy to a Samsung T3 USB drive with Macrium Reflect but I could not get into the new RAID0 I set up in the BIOS. So in the end I copied the boot drive to the one Intel SSD in the M.2 Sata slot. Booted from there and created the RAID0 from within the OS with the extra two NVMe SSD's (as I did with my G752VY back then). This worked.

I noticed that the Crystal benchmark scores for the drivespeed were not what I expected compared to the original setup

74280





Am wondering if you found a fix for your drive speed with your upgraded setup?