PDA

View Full Version : G73jh Graphics Driver Nightmare

Dannyth3man
02-02-2012, 05:07 AM
Hello ROG community, I've hit a brick wall when attempting to upgrade my G73jh from the factory drivers to the current v12.1 update for my ATI HD 5870 card. After 3 attempts and 3 BSODs, I went straight to the ASUS support page where I was directed to reinstall the factory settings and then apply the update. Didn't work, so now I'm running without the video card and I feel like I'm on a computer from '03.
I am desperate for assistance on this matter and would love to finally have an up to date driver
Now I must warn you, I have no idea what I'm doing. I am an absolute novice who is now terrified to try and fix my computer.

ColonelS
02-02-2012, 09:14 AM
PM sent to you.. hope it helps..

xeromist
02-02-2012, 05:39 PM
Dannyth3man, do you know if a video BIOS/firmware update has ever been done on your machine?

ColonelS
02-03-2012, 02:32 AM
fixed~ just got back his pm~

dstrakele
02-03-2012, 02:43 AM
+1 @ColonelS! How did you help him?

ColonelS
02-03-2012, 03:04 AM
well i did the most basic 1st

http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u246/colonelsoh/test.jpg

dstrakele
02-03-2012, 04:18 AM
A nice concise answer. @Danny - You can also congratulate yourself. For someone who wrote "Now I must warn you, I have no idea what I'm doing. I am an absolute novice who is now terrified to try and fix my computer. ", you did good...

neil5280
03-07-2012, 04:32 PM
I just joined the forum to say thank you for this thread.

I was having the same BSOD nightmare when trying to run the latest graphics driver.

I uninstalled all ATI software and drivers (as I was doing before) and downloaded the piriform ccleaner application.

I usedthe ccleaner application to remove temporary files (I unchecked all the other boxes that are defaulted to checked). I suspected that the issue was temporary files from previous installs.

I re-ran the driver installer from ATI website.

Everything went smoothly.