PDA

View Full Version : Extra part came w/ G74SX-AH71. Help identify please?

Kerspoink
02-03-2012, 09:41 AM
Hello everyone,

This extra part came with my laptop, and I'm no techie, so I have no idea what this is. Can you please tell me what it is / what it is used for?

Thank you!

http://i.imgur.com/3aHvU.jpg

(I tried to add this image properly through the thread tools, but it kept saying invalid url D:)

BrodyBoy
02-03-2012, 09:49 AM
That's the accessory package for the 2nd HDD. If you want to add another hard drive, you attach it to that little PCB board, and the ribbon cable goes from that to the M/B connector. You would also need a drive caddy, but that's (hopefully) already in the drive bay.

Here's an idea of what it looks like installed (with the drive/caddy not seated in the drive bay yet):

http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk216/prog_photos/G74 Hardware/SATAcable8.jpg

PS: The four little screws are for attaching the drive to the caddy.

dogla
02-06-2012, 12:09 PM
Does that come standard? I just ordered a G74SX with a 2nd harddrive bracket and was planning to swap the 1st HDD with a 90GB SSD, so I would definitely need a HDD bracket. But is that accessory standard and comes with the laptop or will I need to order that separately?

AQUASTEVAE
02-06-2012, 05:03 PM
yes. it comes with every unit. if you order a g74 with two drives, then it is already in there. if you order one with only one drive, then they include this piece in your box, for when you want to add another drive. hope this helps.

Makaizen
02-06-2012, 06:00 PM
yes. it comes with every unit. if you order a g74 with two drives, then it is already in there. if you order one with only one drive, then they include this piece in your box, for when you want to add another drive. hope this helps.

A quick question, do you get 4 or 2 screws? The bag that came with the connectors had a hole and I only managed to recover 2 so far...

BrodyBoy
02-06-2012, 07:32 PM