PDA

View Full Version : ROG Spatha - All profiles delete every few days



Dicehunter
08-01-2018, 08:44 AM
Every few days I've noticed that suddenly the Spatha, Or the software called Armoury to be more precise, Will delete all profiles, The mouse pointer will only move maybe 1/4 of an inch no matter how much I move the mouse itself, Both left click and right click will be deleted, Which basically means I have to plug in my old Corsair mouse, Uninstall all ROG software, Delete all traces of it and start all over again, Also DPI options do nothing, Once I've reinstalled Armoury the mouse seems to be stuck at around 1500 DPI no matter which DPI setting I choose.

I run the mouse wirelessly but have also tried wired without the dock plugged in to be on the safe side.

This happens every few days, I've never seen this before in any product I've ever used.

Example video below, Some profiles buttons get completely erased and others have the DPI and various settings maxed out, No clue why.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WY9LIqmW1B4

Example of deleted buttons -

74923

shamandgg
08-01-2018, 08:25 PM
I am experiencing similar issue. Every day I see inside my profiles the bound keys and functions are vanishing! This is super annoying as when I switch the profile, I am in the middle of action and I notice this or that is not working... eh...

MasterC@ROG
08-02-2018, 02:44 AM
I use the Spatha daily, and I haven't seen the profile issue since it was fixed a few versions ago.
Are you guys on Windows 10?
Any other peripheral software also installed?

ShadowDragon
08-04-2018, 06:17 PM
I have the same issue. I am using wireless mode, with the received plugged into my Strix Flare keyboard. I can use DPI button + shoulder button to switch to a different profile, but as you say, the original gets stuck at a stupid DPI once it gets over the 1/4 inch box syndrome. A few days later it infects that profile too and I have to switch to the third. I did fix it by wiping out the current version and installing Armoury 1, resetting all the profiles and then reinstalling Armoury 2. I don't think I should have to do this every couple weeks when all 6 profiles get messed up.

Windows 10

Only other software is the Logitech software for my G533 headset.

Dicehunter
08-15-2018, 06:38 PM
Well it did it again, Had to plug my Corsair mouse in and reset all the profiles and the majority of the time it doesn't matter what I reset them to they don't change.

Also I've noticed when I do manage to set my DPI down to 800 after a while the mouse feels like it's back to around the 1500DPI mark and this happens when the mouse comes out of sleep mode, Also even setting the DPI to anything after a while does absolutely nothing once the mouse has come out of sleep mode, Even setting it to 50 does absolutely nothing.

@Asus, Maybe something to look into ?

Video example -


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cav2p9syyrA

ShadowDragon
08-16-2018, 10:52 PM
So I noticed it kills a profile when I had it on the dock the entire time the computer was booting. I've switched to wired and haven't lost a profile yet.

MasterC@ROG
08-17-2018, 04:09 AM
Losing profiles in the way you have explained, it's possible that:
1. The mouse and dock are/have both been connected at the same time (fix by reverting all profiles and settings to defaults in Armoury 1).
2. The version of Armoury II may not be the latest (2.06.04), check Live Update.
3. Firmware may need to flashed again (let me know if you would like the firmware for manual update).
4. A particular hardware config (test on another system if possible), or software (perhaps from other peripherals) is causing a conflict.
5. The corrupt profile wasn't fixed properly (fix by reverting all profiles and settings to defaults in Armoury 1).
6. A fresh Windows installation may be needed, or see if the latest update is the cause or needs to be installed.

I have personally tested waking up the system from sleep mode numerous times with the mouse docked, in wired and wireless modes, and with lighting synced to the Flare and Claymore. So far I still haven't lost any profiles. Please check the steps above.

ShadowDragon
08-18-2018, 05:51 PM
I would like the manual firmware update.

1) I do not plug the mouse and the dock in, one or the other. The same cable comes off of the Flare to connect to the dock or now the mouse that I've switched to wired mode.
2) It is 2.06.04, I just bought this mouse and keyboard a month ago.
3) Yes please
4) Only other non ROG peripheral is the Logi G533 headset mentioned earlier as I need metal construction and no tiny plastic swivels with my large head.
5) To fix the profiles both times, I did use the advice earlier to completely uninstall (using IObit) and use the old version, this does fix the profile but not what causes it to break in the first place.

MasterC@ROG
08-20-2018, 10:04 AM
I would like the manual firmware update.

1) I do not plug the mouse and the dock in, one or the other. The same cable comes off of the Flare to connect to the dock or now the mouse that I've switched to wired mode.
2) It is 2.06.04, I just bought this mouse and keyboard a month ago.
3) Yes please
4) Only other non ROG peripheral is the Logi G533 headset mentioned earlier as I need metal construction and no tiny plastic swivels with my large head.
5) To fix the profiles both times, I did use the advice earlier to completely uninstall (using IObit) and use the old version, this does fix the profile but not what causes it to break in the first place.

Please check your inbox, link to firmware sent.

ShadowDragon
08-20-2018, 10:20 PM
Please check your inbox, link to firmware sent.

Run Dock/Receiver update, got failure message.
Unlug dock, plug in mouse.
Update mouse, worked fine.
Unplug mouse, plug in dock.
Run Dock/Receiver update, gets 3/4 through then dock shuts off.
Power down pc from power button, power back on.
Dock and mouse still unresponsive. Mouse begins to flash repeatedly (Not breathing, on/off flashing) but cursor/clicks do nothing. Dock lights not on.
Power down pc from power button, power back on.
Press pair on dock, nothing happens. Hold pair on dock for ~5 seconds, dock light flashes on/off red
Turn off/on mouse and press pair, nothing happens. Hold pair, nothing happens.
Reboot, and plug mouse back in, works fine.
Research pair procedure and read that dock is supposed to flash green after button press, not need ~5 seconds and flash red.
Try other USB ports on dock, no change.
Uninstall Armoury 2 via iobit, reboot.
Install Armoury 1, reboot.
No change on dock
Uninstall Armoury 1, install Armoury 2 reboot
No change on dock
Reboot, and plug mouse back in, works fine.

Dock appears to be bricked and the dock update will no longer launch at all, likely because it cannot detect the dock.

Edit: I was able to get it flashing red again after plugging it into my Surface Pro and it installed as Dock Bootloader so I ran the firmware from there and brought the dock back to life. I will report back if it breaks profiles again as it seemed to happen every few days when wireless.

MasterC@ROG
08-21-2018, 01:26 AM
Run Dock/Receiver update, got failure message.
Unlug dock, plug in mouse.
Update mouse, worked fine.
Unplug mouse, plug in dock.
Run Dock/Receiver update, gets 3/4 through then dock shuts off.
Power down pc from power button, power back on.
Dock and mouse still unresponsive. Mouse begins to flash repeatedly (Not breathing, on/off flashing) but cursor/clicks do nothing. Dock lights not on.
Power down pc from power button, power back on.
Press pair on dock, nothing happens. Hold pair on dock for ~5 seconds, dock light flashes on/off red
Turn off/on mouse and press pair, nothing happens. Hold pair, nothing happens.
Reboot, and plug mouse back in, works fine.
Research pair procedure and read that dock is supposed to flash green after button press, not need ~5 seconds and flash red.
Try other USB ports on dock, no change.
Uninstall Armoury 2 via iobit, reboot.
Install Armoury 1, reboot.
No change on dock
Uninstall Armoury 1, install Armoury 2 reboot
No change on dock
Reboot, and plug mouse back in, works fine.

Dock appears to be bricked and the dock update will no longer launch at all, likely because it cannot detect the dock.

Edit: I was able to get it flashing red again after plugging it into my Surface Pro and it installed as Dock Bootloader so I ran the firmware from there and brought the dock back to life. I will report back if it breaks profiles again as it seemed to happen every few days when wireless.

It's good that you have fixed it. Is your main system overclocked?

ShadowDragon
08-22-2018, 07:41 PM
Yes, on a Maximus IX Hero board. I always drop back several steps from a 24h stability test passing OC for actual usage so I can keep it under 70*C on a full water loop under load.

MasterC@ROG
08-23-2018, 02:14 AM
Yes, on a Maximus IX Hero board. I always drop back several steps from a 24h stability test passing OC for actual usage so I can keep it under 70*C on a full water loop under load.

Please drop everything down to stock and test to see if that fixes your issues.

ShadowDragon
08-24-2018, 02:03 AM
If the issue comes back while wireless only I may try, but that must be one picky wireless receiver. Hardware is usually top notch with Asus, that's why I've been using it in all my builds since the 90's, but the software is quite often not the most bug free. I will note the battery life is much better after flashing both pieces of hardware, normally I'd be under half in just a few hours and here I am still at 80 after 6 hours of gaming, so now maybe I don't have to charge it every night.

MasterC@ROG
08-24-2018, 08:42 AM
I'm not sure how much you have overclocked, but what was deemed stable may not be the case after a few months. Not sure if that is the cause, but if the issue comes back, you'll have something to try.

ShadowDragon
09-01-2018, 03:44 AM
No problems since updating firmware directly instead of relying on Armoury being able to do it properly.

MasterC@ROG
09-03-2018, 09:08 AM
No problems since updating firmware directly instead of relying on Armoury being able to do it properly.

Great to hear your issue is finally resolved.

empl0de
09-05-2018, 09:49 AM
Hi

I have the same issue, would it be possible to also receive the firmware and insturctions?

Thanks

MasterC@ROG
09-07-2018, 07:01 AM
Hi

I have the same issue, would it be possible to also receive the firmware and insturctions?

Thanks

Please check your inbox. The link to the firmware has been sent.

Dimitrios1971
09-08-2018, 02:07 AM
Did this happen to you when the mouse has energy below 45%?

Dicehunter
09-21-2018, 07:10 AM
So I updated to the latest version, Was fine for a few days and then I open Armoury to change a setting on my Spatha and nothing worked, Not even changing DPI and then BOOM, All profiles wiped and it's now impossible to change them as when I click on them the mouse can only move horizontally and not vertically plus all the buttons have been wiped so left click and right click are now gone.

How Asus, How do software developers take 2 years since this product was released and still not have fully working software ? Seriously how ? Go ask Corsair for help as they do pretty well with their mice and keyboards.

This is beyond a joke now.


https://i.imgur.com/YnH7B4i.jpg

Dicehunter
09-25-2018, 11:37 PM
Uninstalled, Reinstalled, For a day or so it worked ok, Now whenever I open Armoury all profiles are gone AND doing something as basic as changing DPI or the colour of the LED's isn't possible.

75990

75991


Your software devs need to sit down and work this stuff out, Your mice and keyboards are not cheap, They should work right off the bat.

MasterC@ROG
09-26-2018, 05:56 AM
There is only a handful of people in this thread and by the looks of it - most people have this resolved. I cannot replicate what you are experiencing.
Please check for the following:
1. Reflash the firmware (let me know if you need it)
2. Drop your system back to default if overclocked.
3. Do not connect both the dock and mouse at the same time.
4. Reinstall Windows.

Dicehunter
10-26-2018, 08:33 PM
Well I narrowed it down to a startup bug, Out of curiosity I did a clean wipe of my SSD, Installed the latest Windows 10 build, Installed Armoury II and it seems upon startup that is where the bug appears i.e no settings saved at all, But if I set it to not start up with windows and start it myself, I remembers all my settings correctly BUT DPI can still not be changed, Very weird bug.

MasterC@ROG
10-29-2018, 06:30 AM
Did you try reverting to default speeds so your system isn't overclocked? I still can't replicate this issue.

Is anyone else experiencing this?

Dicehunter
10-29-2018, 02:05 PM
Did you try reverting to default speeds so your system isn't overclocked? I still can't replicate this issue.

Is anyone else experiencing this?

Yep everything is at stock speeds, I figured out how to change DPI speeds, First I change it in the performance tab, Then I switch to the default profile and then back to the prior profile.

Gushy
09-03-2019, 09:58 PM
Did you try reverting to default speeds so your system isn't overclocked? I still can't replicate this issue.

Is anyone else experiencing this?

MasterC@ASUS can you please gave me last ROG Spartha mouse and dock firmware ? After last Armory upgrade to 0.30 my dock does not respond and mouse do not work anymore. I did try everything - noting work.
It show me Dock Firmware version 1.00. Software version 3.00.30. I did try upgrade from Asus folder on C:/ also from armory directly - always get failure.
Also i check that i have no mouse profile saved.

Thank you in advanced