PDA

View Full Version : Multiple problems with G74S



PEagle
02-18-2012, 04:44 PM
Hi everybody,
First of all I'm french so please forgive the mistakes in my englsih!

I recently bought a G74S, and I'm going through a lot of issues with it.
First (but solved) the numeric pad wasn't working, solved it with bios update...
Now here are the several issues I have:
#1 : Can't stop the touchpad, watever I do, and due to its poor location, typing is really hard because of random clicking !
#2 : Can't install audio drivers, otherwise I do not have optical output.
#3 : While typing, sometimes letters are not written (maybe hardware or poor quality keyboard, the question is do you feel the same?)
#4 : (windows related), when I go to "battery saving" mode, the taskbar (not sure of the name, btw the bar at the botom with the windows sign) goes to "hide automatically", is there a way for it not to happen and to go back to "always visible" when back to "performance mode"....

So if you have any solution I'll be thankful !

Thanks, bye !

Edit :
Most of the problems were solved going to factory configuration.
Problem #4 remains, but i'll do with that...

PILGRIM
02-18-2012, 05:28 PM
Hi, PEagle.

For the Forum members to better understand your issues, it might be good if you
post the drivers you currently use..

#1 and #3: Do you use Synaptics or Sentelic (or any other)? What driver version, if any?
What version of the ATK Package you currently have?..

#2: Do you mean even the Realtek Audio driver can't be installed?
"No optical output" means no visuals if you connect an external monitor?

#4: I'm puzzled on why the taskbar is affected by changing any of the Power Options.
Anyway, the obvious way of making the taskbar to be always visible is to right-click it,
and to un-tick the "Auto-hide the taskbar" if its ticked.

EDIT: For Driver updates for your #1-3 issues, download from here:
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?5224-Drivers-Apps-and-How-to-s

BrodyBoy
02-18-2012, 07:34 PM
If you are using a Sentelic touchpad, the driver has options to accommodate inadvertent touching while typing. The approach varies depending on what driver you're using, so open the configuration utility and find those settings. IF it's a reactivation time method, increase the time.....if it's the reactivation area on the TP, change that to better suit your typing style. I'm sure the Synaptics driver has a similar function, though I'm not familiar with the method it uses.
------
You need to clarify which audio drivers you mean. There are two....the nVidia audio drivers (included in the nVidia graphics driver package) are needed for HDMI out, whiie the Reatek driver is used (but not usually "needed") for other audio output.
------
Yes...it's a poor quality keyboard. If updating the BIOS and ATK package (v1.0.0014) don't resolve it, it's likely a hardware issue. Unfortunately, this is all too common with these models. :(
-----
I've never noticed it in advanced settings, but it sounds like battery saving mode is engaging certain visual performance settings. I would think PILGRIM's suggestion should resolved it. But if not, go into the advanced system settings and try setting it to "adjust best appearance".

PEagle
02-19-2012, 12:03 PM
The touchpad has a synaptic drivers, however it is the keybord shorcut that does not work (fn+F9), i'll try to seek in the options to find another way to do that!

For the audio driver, I talk about the Realtek to use the "red light" output to use a 5.1 Tritton headset...

For the keybord, I have updated it, and it does not solve my problem, so I guess it is hardware (I'm kind of disapointed about that)!

About the taskbar, everytime I go to battery saving, I untick the "auto-hide" box... It really changes the appearance of my computer, I wanted to change the one that is loaded everytime I go to battery saving !


Tanks for the help anyway !

Symho
02-19-2012, 07:24 PM
The touchpad has a synaptic drivers, however it is the keybord shorcut that does not work (fn+F9), i'll try to seek in the options to find another way to do that!

For the audio driver, I talk about the Realtek to use the "red light" output to use a 5.1 Tritton headset...

For the keybord, I have updated it, and it does not solve my problem, so I guess it is hardware (I'm kind of disapointed about that)!

About the taskbar, everytime I go to battery saving, I untick the "auto-hide" box... It really changes the appearance of my computer, I wanted to change the one that is loaded everytime I go to battery saving !


Tanks for the help anyway !

Hi PEagle,

I bought my g74 last november 2011, and i have the same problems, also i heard a popping sound to the speakers, so i have changed my TZ056V with a TZ206V, but sometime the key "canc" don't responde but with use improves, when i work with g74 i advice this. The very problem is the update of the drivers Asus certified, Asus not support the customers in this and for me is unacceptable also the software cineplayer, creative and others are very poor. For 1.200,00 € the product is balanced but it is not magnificent.

P.s. sorry for my poor english! :)

greeblesnort
02-20-2012, 03:55 PM
While I greatly enjoy my G74SX, it certainly does have some "personality". Specifically, some of the issues you are having are very common ones. How I deal with mine:
1. touchpad - I did completely disable it at one point, and then promptly forgot my G700 mouse at work one day. If you check the box for disabling the touchpad while USB mouse attached, but it is still enabling the touchpad, I simply unplug/plug-in my USB mouse (the wireless receiver in my case) and the touchpad disables again. You might try the keyboard touchpad disable with that box checked, although I've only ad that work sporadically.
2. I have not had any problems installing the correct drivers. Some of the hardware is slightly different, so make sure you know precisely what hardware is in the machine. Something like Belarc Advisor can be invaluable for this.
3. My first thought would be that this issue is from having the "disable touchpad while typing" box checkd. Perhaps adjusting the timing for re-enabling the touchpad (or disabling the touchpad entirely). Asus, please, for the love of all that's good in the world, give us a reliable method for disabling the touchpad!
4. I believe this to be a Windows theme issue in your profile. I've not done workstation support outside of my own for many years, so am totally not the person when it comes to adjusting Windows 7, but right-clicking the desktop and going to "Personalize" should put you in the right area to adjust this.

PEagle
04-22-2012, 08:30 AM
Thanks for all your advices and sorry for this long time away...

I've tried the Belarc advisor, and in the audio (multimedia) it gives me that :
NVIDIA High Definition Audio (4x)
Realtek High Definition Audio

Which is exactly what I have in windows' stuff

The Realtek driver that I have is the one from Asus support, it gives me a digital output but my Tritton does only recognize it as a "Pro logic" device and not a "Dolby digital" as it should be...

For the moment I am focusing on that problem, the other are not a big of a deal...

If you have any other advice, I'll be waiting and checking for answers somewhere here !

Symho
04-22-2012, 08:47 AM
Thanks for all your advices and sorry for this long time away...

I've tried the Belarc advisor, and in the audio (multimedia) it gives me that :
NVIDIA High Definition Audio (4x)
Realtek High Definition Audio

Which is exactly what I have in windows' stuff

The Realtek driver that I have is the one from Asus support, it gives me a digital output but my Tritton does only recognize it as a "Pro logic" device and not a "Dolby digital" as it should be...

For the moment I am focusing on that problem, the other are not a big of a deal...

If you have any other advice, I'll be waiting and checking for answers somewhere here !

The audio output of my G74Sx is THX certified, it is impossible you can output with a dolby signal...

However ASUS has update some drivers and software, GOOD, here (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?12263-Nvidia-GeForce-driver-update-296.16) the last driver video! Good gaming!

PEagle
04-22-2012, 08:57 AM
I do not understand what you are saying... on my "converter box" that goes from digital audio output to the headset are 2 dots :
Digital -> true surround with all effects
Pro logic -> the "box" calculates how to make it sound like a surround...

With a 5.1 audio output I shall have the digital one and not the Pro logic (which was the case until I tried to install the latest Realtek drivers, now I have none)...

Symho
04-22-2012, 09:36 AM
I do not understand what you are saying... on my "converter box" that goes from digital audio output to the headset are 2 dots :
Digital -> true surround with all effects
Pro logic -> the "box" calculates how to make it sound like a surround...

With a 5.1 audio output I shall have the digital one and not the Pro logic (which was the case until I tried to install the latest Realtek drivers, now I have none)...

The audio output from G74Sx is not Dolby native signal, your converter convert the signal in Pro Logic Sound.

PEagle
04-22-2012, 10:08 AM
Ok... I'll check again, bu I do not have the sensation of a surround sound :/
Can you tell me what are the audio drivers you have? I've got like 4 Nvidia + the realtek one...

Symho
04-22-2012, 10:21 AM
Ok... I'll check again, bu I do not have the sensation of a surround sound :/
Can you tell me what are the audio drivers you have? I've got like 4 Nvidia + the realtek one...

The Nvidia drivers are connected to the HDMI output! My drivers are the same drivers on ASUS web! The sensation is probably because i don't think the output is in 5.1, however you must remember that you have active the THX software when you use your Note!

I suggest you to don't use any simulation or conversion of your audio but set your hardware converter to simple aux input.

Sorry for my poor english!

PEagle
04-22-2012, 01:13 PM
I've gone back to factory settings... What I can tell right now is:
No more digital output with these drivers...
Touchpad seems to be working fine and can be enabled/disable with the keyboard shortcut (fn+F9)


Any suggestion so I can get back my digital output ?

Symho
04-22-2012, 01:23 PM
I've gone back to factory settings... What I can tell right now is:
No more digital output with these drivers...
Touchpad seems to be working fine and can be enabled/disable with the keyboard shortcut (fn+F9)


Any suggestion so I can get back my digital output ?

In the driver software, the digital output is on?

PEagle
04-22-2012, 01:26 PM
Yes it is...

PEagle
04-22-2012, 01:37 PM
8016
Here is what I have on both windows and driver software... note that none offers setup...

Symho
04-22-2012, 01:48 PM
8016
Here is what I have on both windows and driver software... note that none offers setup...

Your digital output is on! Have you configure in configuration tab the audio format?

PEagle
04-22-2012, 01:58 PM
There is no configuration to be found... I checked in the drivers and everything but my sound appears to be 2.1!

Symho
04-22-2012, 02:06 PM
There is no configuration to be found... I checked in the drivers and everything but my sound appears to be 2.1!

It's probably correct, your THX hardware has two channel, it is put into a notebook, it is not a home theater or a sound card desktop! For that reason your converter amplifier the signal in a Prologic format! Do you hear sound? Well, the format is corret. IMHO! :)

PEagle
04-22-2012, 02:23 PM
Ok I've been able to go through Dolby digital using a Blu Ray disc
I'll stay like that for the moment, I'll juste upgrade my graphic card drivers. Thanks to all for your most valuable Help.

Symho
04-22-2012, 02:33 PM
Ok I've been able to go through Dolby digital using a Blu Ray disc
I'll stay like that for the moment, I'll juste upgrade my graphic card drivers. Thanks to all for your most valuable Help.

Please, ;)

BrodyBoy
04-22-2012, 04:41 PM
Ok... I'll check again, bu I do not have the sensation of a surround sound :/
Can you tell me what are the audio drivers you have? I've got like 4 Nvidia + the realtek one...
These are the correct drivers....though I thought there were usually five nVidia devices listed.... If you aren't using HDMI output, the nVidia HD audio drivers don't really matter.

Unless you are having a problem with your video driver, I would leave it alone for now. If you are having issues with audio, don't invite new problems by changing something else that has nothing to do with it. Troublseshoot one issue at a time. ;)

Anyway, the nVidia HD audio driver is the one used for HDMI output, while the Realtek driver sends an digital signal out of the headphone (mini-Toslink) jack.

Let's just clarify the terminology a bit...these are ALL digital signals. The term "digital" does not indicate anything about how many channels are involved, whether it's "surround," or what kind of compression encoding has been applied. It simply means it's a digital audio signal, as opposed to an analog signal. The term "Pro Logic" indicates that the digital signal has Dolby encoding.

PEagle
03-17-2013, 03:59 PM
Ok everyone,
I'm back after a while witout major trouble.... I now have BIG trouble with my keybord again: Keys are breaking or falling :mad:
First it was left control that broke in 2 parts and fell of, then left capital did the same. And now it's tabulation!

I'm having more and more difficulties using my computer, would it be for internet/ work or video games !

Anyone knows if we can replace keys or the keyboard? and where to find it ?


Thanks again for the help to come.

indianacarnie
03-18-2013, 12:47 AM
Geez, how hard are you pounding that keyboard? Have you tried contacting Asus for the replacement keys? Or maybe E-Bay? ( I don't buy anything from them, but theres everything in the world there. Asus would be my first, second and third choice however.

PEagle
03-20-2013, 05:29 PM
Geez, how hard are you pounding that keyboard? Have you tried contacting Asus for the replacement keys? Or maybe E-Bay? ( I don't buy anything from them, but theres everything in the world there. Asus would be my first, second and third choice however.

I've seen they have keyboards, however I do not know how to change it.

And no, I don't pound hard on my keys, however I travel a lot and I guess it didn't like it, but I'm truly surprised it broke that fast, my former Alienware endured harder treatments for 3 years :/

Thanks for the tip anyway

Symho
03-28-2013, 10:21 PM
Hi guys! I have new problem with my G74Sx. I have some small vibrations on screen when the brightness is low, it's visible the refresh! I had tried to change driver but the problem it is not solved! HELP!!!