PDA

View Full Version : G74SX-AH71 vs G74SX-DH72

LottyDotty
02-19-2012, 07:18 PM
I am looking to get a new laptop and I am deciding between the G74SX-AH71 and the G74SX-DH72.

It appears to me that the only difference between the two is the 160GB SSD... the price difference is:

$1,991.99 - $1,384.99 = $607

So my question is: Can I add a SSD to the G74SX-AH71 without too much trouble?... and wouldn't that make more sense to do vs paying $607 more for the SSD already installed which is not the top of the line? .. for instance adding this one for $290?...

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004Z0S6S4/ref=cm_cr_asin_lnk

This is my first PC upgrade in several years so I am new to SSD...so I just wanted to make sure my logic was correct..

Thanks

BrodyBoy
02-19-2012, 07:27 PM
So my question is: Can I add a SSD to the G74SX-AH71 without too much trouble?... and wouldn't that make more sense to do vs paying $607 more for the SSD already installed which is not the top of the line? .. for instance adding this one for $290?...
Yes, it's very easy to upgrade to an SSD in the G74....many of us have done it. Is that really what they're charging for the SSD option??? Amazing.....

You don't need a big SSD as long as you save all your user data over on the other drive. Anything about 80Gb or more should be plenty, so you could probably save even more money and find a good one at $200 or less.

Nirneath
02-19-2012, 07:32 PM
I'm not sure that it's only the SSD that is the difference between the two, DH72 is way too expensive... I would guess that the AH-71 have a glossy screen, sadly Amazon doesn't want to reveal that :P
because with 600$, you could buy three 120g SSD's... that's an insane price difference, something seems fishy :-/

LottyDotty
02-19-2012, 07:40 PM
Any way to find?