PDA

View Full Version : STRIX SCAR 2 - OPENL GL Programs NOT OPENING



strixstrix
06-17-2019, 10:18 AM
STRIX SCAR 2 - OPENL GL Programs NOT OPENING
Rog Strix Scar 2
gtx 1060 & intel uhd630

I have an issue with opening a cad program (archicad) on external montiors
it simply won't open, on the external displays, using DP aand HDMi

it will load on the main laptop screen though.

any help would be appreciated.

jdfrench3
06-17-2019, 01:50 PM
Identify your model (GL704GW-PS71) by running dxdiag.exe and list your system model and bios version.

Your external monitor must work with your output ports. DP++ or HDMI 2.0. Listing the monitors you are using would sure help as well.

Awaiting further information.....

strixstrix
06-18-2019, 12:42 PM
Thanks guys, Had no luck with the archicad info,
its a gl704gm
external displays are
benq3200pt
&
benq zowie RL2755
bios is 305

jdfrench3
06-18-2019, 04:42 PM
Have you tried the obvious, in Windows 10, settings, display, multiple displays, detect? What results are you getting?

strixstrix
06-18-2019, 11:02 PM
yes it detects the external displays
all drivers are up to date,
I don't get it

jdfrench3
06-18-2019, 11:21 PM
Have you tried in NVIDIA Control Panel, Set-Up G-Sync, disable G-Sync (uncheck option). While in there, is NVIDIA detecting the external monitors (select the display you wish to change)?

strixstrix
06-19-2019, 12:45 AM
I don't believe my laptop has g-sync, the option isn't available anyway.

I just received an email from Cad support

"We noticed multiples issues with a certain external monitor, not only Nvidia but also with some Mac monitors, in general, those monitors modify the Open GL capacity of the Graphic card"

?

jdfrench3
06-19-2019, 12:53 AM
Is the NVIDIA Control Panel even installed?

strixstrix
06-19-2019, 12:57 AM
yes

jdfrench3
06-19-2019, 01:03 AM
Do other Not Open GL programs work across to the external monitors?

Is only Open GL programs being affected?

strixstrix
06-19-2019, 01:04 AM
see screen shot

strixstrix
06-19-2019, 01:04 AM
Do other Not Open GL programs work across to the external monitors?

Is only Open GL programs being affected?

just open gl

jdfrench3
06-21-2019, 09:14 AM
Sorry for the delay. I have tried answering to your post several times in the last 48 hours but a problem with the forum site has prevented communication.

I think your problem is not hardware related but is a limitation of the ArchiCad program. Are you using a registered version? I would suggest consulting with Graphisoft about this problem.

Good Luck

strixstrix
06-22-2019, 12:08 PM
I agree, it's somewhat software related.
However the fact that asus doesn't declare that the rog strix scar is a hybrid GPU system running intel uhd 630, on their specifications page, is slightly misleading.
This system is the biggest heap of dog **** I have ever touched. Will NEVER buy another ASUS system EVER.