PDA

View Full Version : SSD Capacity?



rp33
02-23-2012, 11:36 AM
I'm looking at getting an SSD primarily for Windows 7 and my Adobe Production suite (Photoshop/AfterEffects/Premiere). Adobe says that about 16GB is required for their products, about how much does Windows need? I didn't know if I should try a 64GB or get a 128...

BrodyBoy
02-23-2012, 11:44 AM
I think 64Gb is probably sufficient for most users, so long as you save user data on the 2nd hard drive. But something in the 120Gb range will ensure that you'll always have plenty of room to spare.

(IIRC, a barebones Windows install takes up about 20-25 Gb.)

rp33
02-23-2012, 11:59 AM
Sounds good - what type of programs would you recommend installing on the SSD? I've only planned to put the OS and Adobe suite on there so far. Should I install the anti virus (MSE) there too? Or just put everything on the HDD?

(Oh, and NO defragging those SSD's, correct?

PILGRIM
02-23-2012, 12:07 PM
I think 64Gb is probably sufficient for most users, so long as you save user data on the 2nd hard drive. But something in the 120Gb range will ensure that you'll always have plenty of room to spare.

(IIRC, a barebones Windows install takes up about 20-25 Gb.)

True. But with all those Windows updates and stuff accumulating, disk data will soon balloon.
Case in point, my 128 GB disk already has about 50 GB data on it..

Area 66
02-23-2012, 12:20 PM
True. But with all those Windows updates and stuff accumulating, disk data will soon balloon.
Case in point, my 128 GB disk already has about 50 GB data on it..

Is your paging files still on the SSD ? , that may explain the why. RP3, I install all my software except the Games on the SSD, I take an average or 23 GB, with time it rise to around 30 gb, so a 64gb can do the job, but now than the "metal can man " make me try Steam Mover, and I can move the games I play most on the SSD, a 128 is a better option. So if you game 128gb if not 64gb is ok

* Metal can man" is our truly friendly Rog Police X .......... thanks again for this steams mover

Now I will like to say good word to my Dungeon man......( to fallow )

PILGRIM
02-23-2012, 12:29 PM
Sounds good - what type of programs would you recommend installing on the SSD? I've only planned to put the OS and Adobe suite on there so far. Should I install the anti virus (MSE) there too? Or just put everything on the HDD?

(Oh, and NO defragging those SSD's, correct?

Methinks Brody has signed off for now.. To answer some of your query,
I'd say you don't have much choice for the MSE (It's doesn't use much space, anyway).
It's a Windows component so it auto-installs into the OS drive.
No need to defrag an SSD (IMO, even Windows or any defrag software won't do it.)

As for the other programs, I think it's a matter of choice. For me, I put "big" programs
i.e. games, movies, music, etc. on the secondary bay drive (HDD).

PILGRIM
02-23-2012, 12:36 PM
Is your paging files still on the SSD ? , that may explain the why.

My paging file size ( on C: ) is "System managed". Is it the reason why?..

Area 66
02-23-2012, 01:01 PM
My paging file size ( on C: ) is "System managed". Is it the reason why?..

Yes, by default your paging files size = RAM size, you have to move the paging files to the mecanical drives, SSD cells have a limitation on the number of time you can write to them, it'S why we tweak them , here a guide on how to do it, I don't install the software link in thi wensite, but and I do only those step

Disable indexing
• Turn Off the Disk Defragmenter Schedule
• Disable defragmentation
• Disable Superfetch / Prefetch
• Disable the Page File
• Disable System Restore
• Disable Hibernate
• TRIM Commands


http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f128/ssd-tweak-guide-236563/

UltraNEO*
02-23-2012, 01:09 PM
True. But with all those Windows updates and stuff accumulating, disk data will soon balloon.
Case in point, my 128 GB disk already has about 50 GB data on it..

I have a 120Gb drive (106Gb free formatted) with Windows install, various updates, system drivers and CS5.5. Now it's telling me there's 30Gb free!!

PILGRIM
02-23-2012, 01:11 PM
Thanks for the info.
Quick Question: Will the used data size decrease dramatically if I disable the Page File?

PILGRIM
02-23-2012, 01:16 PM
I have a 120Gb drive (106Gb free formatted) with Windows install, various updates, system drivers and CS5.5. Now it's telling me there's 30Gb free!!

Then your boat is sinking much faster than mine!.. :p

UltraNEO*
02-23-2012, 01:25 PM
Then your boat is sinking much faster than mine!.. :p

Thanks for all the confidence.. I've recent moved the paging file to another drive and you know? I ain't notice much difference in speed.

PILGRIM
02-23-2012, 02:11 PM
Thanks for all the confidence.. I've recent moved the paging file to another drive and you know? I ain't notice much difference in speed.

Meaning your SSD is still speedy, right?
Well, even if my SSD is about 50 GB full, I'm still not complaining..
It is still fast!..

adm5893
02-23-2012, 02:24 PM
What SSD manufacturer did you use? I am also considering replacing my main with a SSD boot up drive to increase performance.

Cat
02-23-2012, 02:27 PM
Meaning your SSD is still speedy, right?
Well, even if my SSD is about 50 GB full, I'm still not complaining..
It is still fast!..
There's not gonna be any difference in speed no matter how full it is since it doesn't need a read arm to move to the correct sectors. It just accesses the data right away. By the way, there's no point worrying about the write sectors' limits unless you do something silly like use the SSD as artificial RAM or something. It'll take millions of writes to degrade performance, and the write algorithms basically ensure you write to sectors that have been written to the least number of times. Just use it as normal and only worry about the size limitations.

PILGRIM
02-23-2012, 02:35 PM
What SSD manufacturer did you use? I am also considering replacing my main with a SSD boot up drive to increase performance.

I have the Crucial M4 128 GB SSD.


There's not gonna be any difference in speed no matter how full it is since it doesn't need a read arm to move to the correct sectors. It just accesses the data right away. By the way, there's no point worrying about the write sectors' limits unless you do something silly like use the SSD as artificial RAM or something. It'll take millions of writes to degrade performance, and the write algorithms basically ensure you write to sectors that have been written to the least number of times. Just use it as normal and only worry about the size limitations.

Thanks for that confidence-booster on the SSD. :)

rp33
02-23-2012, 04:56 PM
I have a 120Gb drive (106Gb free formatted) with Windows install, various updates, system drivers and CS5.5. Now it's telling me there's 30Gb free!!

How does CS5.5 run on your machine? I just picked up Production Premium CS5.5 and am looking at getting a G74SX soon - should I install it on the HDD or the SSD? (I'll get an external for the video files).

BrodyBoy
02-23-2012, 06:33 PM
Sounds good - what type of programs would you recommend installing on the SSD? I've only planned to put the OS and Adobe suite on there so far. Should I install the anti virus (MSE) there too? Or just put everything on the HDD?

(Oh, and NO defragging those SSD's, correct?
(Hey again....I did indeed sign off for the night!) Some owners who install a lot of games (or big games) install those on the 2nd drive, but for most of us, it's fine to install all your programs on the SSD.

Basically, I let all programs install on the OS drive. But I have changed the default locations for all my libraries (Documents, Photos, Music, etc.) and frequently-used folders (Downloads, etc.) over to the 2nd drive. I'm using this approach on three different computers, and in each case, I have no concerns at all about running out of space on the SSD.

Right...no defragging. :)

How does CS5.5 run on your machine? I just picked up Production Premium CS5.5 and am looking at getting a G74SX soon - should I install it on the HDD or the SSD? (I'll get an external for the video files).
I'd put it on the SSD....that'll make it nice and speedy. But yes....set your save location to some other drive.

xeromist
02-24-2012, 12:18 AM
There's not gonna be any difference in speed no matter how full it is since it doesn't need a read arm to move to the correct sectors. It just accesses the data right away.

Well, that's not entirely true. While you don't have issues with seek time due to physical sector location, there are issues with drives near their capacity. It's documented that SSD's slow down as they fill up close to capacity so it is still a good idea to leave some free space. Trim can take care of your drive but since it is an idle task you can't reliably count on it.